We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malibu + Organic = Special!”
Review of Malibu Farm

Malibu Farm
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Malibu
Westlake Village, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Malibu + Organic = Special!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband & I celebrated a milestone anniversary at Malibu Farm. We were fortunate to have reservations so we sat upstairs in the dining room, linen table cloths and views of the ocean. I ordered the black cod (one of my favs) and my husband ordered the lamp chop. We paired this with the roasted veggies, absolutely amazing! The food exceptionally fresh & delicious. Extremely refreshing to experience organic & sustainable, a rarity in dining. Highly recommend this restaurant, it is definitely something special!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    155
    56
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Movie Star View for Lunch”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Malibu Farm Cafe has opened at the end of Malibu Pier and if you get your timing (and luck!) just right you can end up eating a delicious lunch or breakfast over looking the iconic surfing beach, the historic Adamson House,Malibu Lagoon and just a glimpse of serious movie star beach homes..........and did I say this was in Malibu! This is a very big deal to Brits like me who just thrive on sunshine, ocean, pale sand and the Malibu vibe!
You can avoid parking charges nearer the pier by visiting the Cross Creek shopping Center just across the bridge over the Malibu Lagoon to leave the car and walking for maybe 7 minutes to the pier. We actually went back to the car and had dessert at a great ice cream place called Grom at Cross Creek. If you are coming out of Santa Monica this is a right turn shortly after you pass the pier at Malibu ( look for the Shell petrol sign).
We chose sandwiches which were fresh, well made and not distressingly huge....just right. Our timing was great too because we had a table outside with a view to die for. An umbrella was put up for us and this was done with a smile too. The menu is not huge but the ingredients were fresh and I would say there was plenty of choice for all. Soft drinks (home made) are served in jam (jelly if you are American!) jars and altogether it's a relaxed and delightful way to have a meal in Malibu. You can eat inside or out here. Thoroughly recommend this place if you are looking to catch a snack in Malibu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Intrepidtraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“A True California Experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you want an authentic California experience, the Malibu Farm is the place to go. The restaurant sits at the end of the Malibu Pier in the heart of Malibu. The restaurant has a real beach feel overlooking the beautiful Pacific. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner so no matter when you are in the area, chances are they will be serving food.

You order your food inside from a somewhat limited menu, pay the cashier and then find a table inside, outside or on the roof. The outside seating has great views of the beach, coastline and the water. Beware that eating outside you will have to contend with some pretty tough gulls. They are not above swooping down and helping themselves to your food. And if your lucky, they won't leave a calling card on your table or chair or worse. Sitting inside is not a bad option but yowl miss the sun & the view.

The food is good but a little expensive for what you get. But you are in a devine location that was just made for the movies. Also most of the ingredient are suppose to be from the owner's local farm. The help was friendly but do not perform much of a service other than delivering your food to your table of choice. You have to fetch napkins and utensils from boxes that are set out in many locations.

It was fun and I am glad we had the experience but I don't think we will be going back anytime soon.

The little gift shop next door has some really interesting gifts you may want to purchase for your friends and family back home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A treasure”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great honest food in a happy funky beach atmosphere after a walk on the beach. We love sharing the crab cakes and Swedish pancakes. The owner is on site, along with her son and they really care about what they are providing . So far have only had lunch there- are looking forward to returning for dinner now they have their liquor license and are open for dinner. Only downside is their new found - and well earned - popularity that makes for long lines and waits to order.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrentwoodHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,144 reviews
606 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Farm fresh & tasty but pricey with unorganized service...”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've been here several times and MF stays consistent. It's fresh & tasty but pricey with slow & unorganized service. It kinda deserves three stars but the food is good & local so it gets four.

Positives:
Really tasty breakfast and lunch items. (We haven't tried dinner yet.).
Farm fresh and local
Great view and casual atmosphere
Best on weekdays without the tourist hordes-long wait-expensive parking
Blankets to keep warm

Negatives:
Staff have a blah-bordering on negative vibe
Pricey, but not too bad as you place your order at the counter and then go find a table
Wait, wait & wait to be served your (partial) order
Eventually, the rest of your order will arrive
Tourist hordes & expensive summer parking on weekends

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malibu Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing