We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paridise”
Review of Nikita Malibu - CLOSED

Nikita Malibu
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Malibu
Description: Nikita Malibu invites locals and travelers alike to appreciate the marriage of food and wine in a cozy, yet refined seaside architectural gem reminiscent of Saint-Tropez's private beaches.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Paridise”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Adjacent to the ever popular Nobu in Malibu, this is another Larry Ellison treasure. Highest quality across the board - food, service, wine and beverages, and the best location on the water in Malibu. Open for over a year now, Nikita seems to be over the growing pains and has a new world class chef to go with their already world class staff and location. And they think of everything - not only abundant heaters for a cool evening, but also warm, cozy blankets on request. World class wine list and wine goddess RNK is simply the best. Don't miss this one!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey C, Public Relations Manager at Nikita Malibu, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Ted,

Thank you for your truly kind words! We are thrilled that you loved our food, service, wine and cocktails, and oceanside location. Since opening last year, we have been working very hard to create an exceptional dining experience honoring the marriage of food and wine. I'll pass on your compliments to our lovely Wine Director, Renee-Nicole Kubin. We do hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Audrey C.
Nikita Malibu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great view and outdoor seating in the heart of Malibu beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We visit the L.A. area every couple of years and I am always looking for the latest restaurants in the Malibu area. We spotted this place going down Pacific Coast Hwy. and immediately made reservations for the following day. We arrived at 6 P.M. and requested outdoor seating (the only way to go here) our table was great with a beautiful view of the ocean and the sunset. Some of the tables like ours have a rock fire pit in the center which added to the overall experience. The food was pricey but worth the money. I ordered the Burrata Pomodoro for starters which was great. For the main course I ordered the Scallops which were perfectly cooked over and salad and yogurt. My wife ordered the Sea Bass which was fresh and perfectly cooked.The desserts are out there with a small, well, more like a sliver of some kind of chocolate cake for $17 - probably the most expensive dessert menu I have ever seen in a restaurant anywhere, but then again look at where you are sitting. There is ample parking, the front of the restaurant parking area is always full of Ferraris, Porches and other exotic cars. Reservations is a most and make them early if you want to sit outside. Overall, one of the best meals in one of the best locations we'v ever visited. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Op4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey C, Public Relations Manager at Nikita Malibu, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for kindly taking the time to share your visit! We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and our ambiance and invite to you to view our videos, including "Appreciating Culinary Artistry" at NikitaMalibu.com to learn more about our restaurant and culinary and sommelier teams at Nikita Malibu.

Best,
Audrey C.
Nikita Malibu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

High prices, poor service and mediocre food. We will not be back. Only go for the view. This restaurant looks great from the outside but be wary.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevem1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey C, Public Relations Manager at Nikita Malibu, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for your helpful feedback.

We would like to apologize if you felt that our service and food did not meet your expectations. We are currently restructuring management and service and continually working on our menu to ensure that diners have the best experience possible.

Regarding our portion sizes, our Executive Chef Salvatore Sodano uses the freshest ingredients for our dishes, some of which require intensive preparation, and thus is reflected in the portions. We invite you to watch our video "Appreciating Culinary Artistry" (the title video on our restaurant homepage at nikitamalibu.com) to learn more about our plates and the process behind creating them.

We hope you'll visit us again in the future.

Thank you,
Audrey C.
Nikita Malibu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something happened!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Maybe the chef left, but 2 months ago we had the best meal at Nikita, though I had to wonder why so few were dining there (maybe the prices had something to do with that); however, yesterday we took guests there after raving about the food and it was a total disaster, to the point the restaurant refunded our check - that's not good Larry Ellison, you have a ton of money and it's not sufficient to build a pretty restaurant, you need superb service and exceptional food at those prices, and something has definitely changed in the kitchen, for the worse, which is a pity because we thought we had found a great new restaurant in an exceptional location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DouglasCharlesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
470 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“It goes down each time ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what's happening here but the service gets worse each time we come here. After this last time I'm sad to say we won't be back. Great view and some interesting menu items but with bad service you won't last.

Helpful?
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey C, Public Relations Manager at Nikita Malibu, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi Tommy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that you had a negative experience with our service. We are currently placing our focus on improving our service. I see that you live here in Los Angeles, and I invite you to experience these refinements made in the future.

Thank you,
Audrey C.
Nikita Malibu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing