We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, understaffed”
Review of Chart House - CLOSED

Chart House
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Topanga Cyn / Sunset Blvd.
Transit: RTD
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, understaffed”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We waited almost and hour for our reservation. We sat at the bar to wait and no one came to get a drink order. We finally went to the bartender to get drinks. After 45 minutes we spoke with the manager. He didn't' acknowledge we even had a reservation but we were shortly seated. The server quickly took our order- we'd had an hour to look over the menu, so we were ready to go. Food was good. View of the ocean is terrific. They seemed to be understaffed and the hostess lost her cool with the back up. The long wait blew the night for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    16
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine food, gorgeous setting”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Chart House always has delicious food and good service. What set this restaurant apart beyond the always tasty cuisine, was one of the best views I have seen. I had the fish special, which was wonderful. The tomato and fresh cheese salad was also wonderful. It was topped with a few fried onion rings. We had a hummus trio that was served with pita bread and plantain chips. Very nice! The molten chocolate cake for dessert was sooooo good! Yum! Can't wait to go back and see the lovely ocean lapping up so close to our table. Bonus was fireworks in the distance. Truly a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You're paying for the view... Not the food.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing right on the water. The ambiance is relaxing. The food is mediocre and very expensive. The service is not very good because there are no bus boys busing the tables. The waiters do it.

Helpful?
Thank Chicago1450
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sometimes the view isn't enough”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We dined at the Chart House on July 9th despite the mixed reviews on this site due to the anticipated exceptional views of the ocean.
Location is great and it was fun to watch people on the beach but the food indeed was another story. I started with the watermelon salad, which was completely soggy and not fresh and crisp as a salad should be. The mixed seafood grill was equally disappointing. The salmon was charred and the dish was simply not as flavourful as it could have been. My husband had the prime rib and didn't find it impressive either.

I am hard pressed to not enjoy a meal or worse, to rate something negatively but this place just didn't measure up. The service was ok, despite having to ask 4 times for the wifi password.
Our server took a horrible spill on some stairs while taking dishes back to the kitchen. This delayed our meal but I don't fault them for this, it was an accident and she was hurt and embarrassed by it.

The best part of the meal was the wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scenic view, great service and food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We love their appetizers and the fact that they will accommodate changes to the menu. Great view of the ocean and the access to the beach is nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing