We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting”
Review of Neptune's Net

Neptune's Net
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
El Segundo, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Perfect little seaside joint. I really like the "old" cafe feel...getting your drinks out of the cooler, etc.

My fiancé and I stopped in after a hike. We both had a cup of clam chowder which was really good. We also both had the crab cake basket with fries. The crab cakes were decent, slightly over seasoned and the consistency was so soft that they fell apart. If you like french fries theirs are great!

My only con (big con) is the restrooms are port-a-potties! Not cool in my book. Just make sure to use the restroom and wash your hands before you go here and you will enjoy.

The view is AMAZING!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashbeck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    174
    105
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needles
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

It was packed but we were lucky enough to find a seat quickly. The Fish n Chips were great. Te cheeseburgers are awesome too.

Helpful?
Thank Dylan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED and AWFUL”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you DO go here, for the scenery, grab a beer or some wine and sit out front and watch the ocean and the crowd. DO NOT EAT. The food is seriously terrrible and extremely expensive. Worst fish tacos I've ever had and the chowder is full of potatoes, not a clam in sight. This place used to be great, years ago it was a shack that sold decent food to bikers and surfers, now it's a tourist trap and priced accordingly. If you want to spend 20 bucks for some boiled shrimp on a paper plate and eat surrounded by flies go for it. Otherwise, grab a beer and just enjoy the scenery.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome sight seeing!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a bar and restaurant in front of the Beach at Malibu. You can have a beer and appetizers (most of the seafood) while you see the beautiful Pacific ocean. If you have some lucky you can see some whales playing in front of the bar, so, don't forget you camera!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wellingtoncunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Tear up the canyons then come for a bite”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I was introduced to this place by fellow riders when I moved to Los Angeles and have been coming ever since. Please don't let all the bikes out front scare you away. The staff is warm and pleasant and they handle their business very seriously. Security is always focused and the police very close. I bring my wife here without a second thought. Choose your favorite the fish side is amazing and the line shorter. So on the weekends maybe opt for some peel and eat shrimp or some clams. Or the main food side. Fried shrimp or fish to die for. This place is the best

Helpful?
Thank Mixedbyfabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune's Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing