We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swallowed a bone”
Review of Neptune's Net

Neptune's Net
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Swallowed a bone”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Trying not to have fried food, I ordered a salmon filet salad. I am usually careful, but somehow missed that bone in the first bite. I eventually ate the salad greens and they were very good. Abstaining from the port-a-potties made for a long drive back to Malibu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredBabyBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    171
    104
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restrooms :-(”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have lived in Ventura County for 38 years and had never eaten at Neptune's Net. So last month I met a friend there that I hadn't seen for 40 years. It was a fun place to meet and the food was good but the restrooms are one of the grossest things I've ever experienced. They're outhouses (and I have used a lot of outhouses on my travels and these were by far the worst.) and used by anyone and everyone. Beach goers from across the highway, ect..... They were filthy....overloaded. Not sure if I'm going to go back just for that reason. So if you're planning on going make sure you go to the restroom before you arrive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank slganser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Different lunch experience - worth the stop”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a cool place to stop for lunch. It was packed but the line moves really fast. Definitely a cool place to stop on the PCH. Ocean across the street with surfers hitting the waves. Downside is the bathrooms consist of port-a-potties out back. Everything else was great. Even the fact that they had no tables and we ate in our car was okay. Good find!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun Stop on the PCH”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stopped here for lunch, and we must have timed our visit perfectly. Found a parking space and place to sit right away. Orders are placed at the counter, and a number is called for food pickup. The sampler platter was very good (all fried), and the tuna sandwich was excellent. Atmosphere is fun--Pacific Ocean right across the street. Only issue is restrooms outside were port-a-potties. Non-potable water was available for hand washing, but would definitely suggest taking hand sanitizer along.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go for the motorcycles, not for the food.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not exactly a culinary delight. A destination for motorcyclists riding thru Malibu, this place serves the most basic fare and manages to do it poorly. The restaurant itself is just plain funky. Another in a long list of restaurants that lives on its location alone.... Maybe someday someone will buy it and turn it into a decent place with at least edible food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichardGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune's Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing