We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular”
Review of Neptune's Net

Neptune's Net
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very popular”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Neptune's Net is the only restaurant on the PCH in that area, but I don't think that's the reason for it's popularity. It's a casual place across the street from the ocean with plenty of parking. It draws bikers to tourists to celebrities. There's generally a line. You order your food (fried fish, burgers, salads), pay, and then wait at one of the picnic tables until they call your number. The food is good to very good. The fish is fresh, they have a good grilled chicken sandwich. There is beer and wine available. There is a separate line for steamed seafood and another for frozen custard, so don't wait on the long regular food line if that's what you are looking for. They are open 7 days a week. The pricing is fair. After eating, be sure to walk off some of those calories by taking a walk on the beach across the street.

One major gripe: The restaurant does not have a bathroom, they use several outhouses - all of which were filthy when we were there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    168
    102
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
418 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lots of good things on the menu, including shrimp, fish, burgers, etc. Busy on the weekends, bikers love the place. Bikers shine their bikes and go there to hang out and have a beer. Good place to socialize and meet folks. The beach is right across the street. Fun place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Crowd, Great Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I came here with a couple friends after just cruising down the PCH, it was so lively, everyone was friendly and we shared a table with an AWESOME couple and had a great conversation. I did the fried side of seafood and i was utterly impressed, usually in restaurants around the shrimp have stong tastes of iodine, but not here, everything tastes fresh, well as fresh as fried can get XD i left stuffed, and will definitely go back as soon as i'm over in that direction again

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7Ashley7Boo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Quaint seaside dive where you can get fresh fish, have a beer on their patio and gaze out into the Pacific Ocean. Been going here for years ... 20+ actually and it is always a treat to revisit them when we are on the coast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfitzgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing ....”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Read some good reviews and decided to take the drive up from Santa Monica..what a disappointment..probably the worst meal we had on our holiday..so wanted it to be good, and the staff were very friendly, but the fish and chips were overcooked and cold when served..maybe we were just unlucky..but I wouldn't recommend it based on our visit...sorry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune's Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing