We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Paradise Cove Beach Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Paradise Cove Beach Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Malibu
Cross street: Paradise Cove Rd.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stumbled across this place on a summer sunday afternoon while trying to kill time on a business trip. It probably is a LOT nicer when it's not stiflingly hot and uber-crowded as it was when I went.
The menu is expensive, but then you are eating on the beach in Malibu. I only got a shrimp cocktail at the bar because I didn't want to wait - but I looked at the menu and it looked good - would definitely try the paella if I went back. Bartender was really friendly and nice despite it being extremely hot and busy. It is pretty cool that you can get a table and service on the beach outside or inside in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. I should also mention that parking is steep - but it says it is only $6/hour if you eat at the cafe, however they don't tell you that you have to spend at least $30 at the cafe AND have your meal receipt validated - otherwise you pay $40 for parking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rikster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    387
    194
    72
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Great paella seafood- drinks good -  cost us close too $100.00 for two of us to dine on beach front. --And the beach was wonderful - however. .. •••Parking lot price was a rip off. •••This place makes big bucks there as ya leave this " paradise". We prepaid the total price of $6.00 for parking in this "strange- operating" machine on sidewalk-- which the cafe punched for us -  accidentally lost this ticket stub -  and we were charged an additional --- $ 40.00 for parking as we left. This " paradise" anticipates people losing their ticket parking stubs- I guess !!  Plus we showed our cafe receipt to the attendant proving we did eat at their cafe . ..  Attendant told us we must pay the additional $40.00 anyway --beware !!---  Rip- off !!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sand in your toes”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We drove here one day while visiting Los Angeles. The drive is beautiful. When you arrive, there is valet parking and it's really easy & accessible. we had to wait for about 10 minutes for an outside seat. The outside tables are in sand, so you'll get some sand between your toes! The portion sizes are HUGE so it's worth the price. I was a little disappointed that I was charged full price for a coconut water cocktail when I just ordered coconut water in a coconut (?) But I didn't make a big deal out of it. They offer complimentary postcards and will provide postage if you want to mail it. The beach is pretty. There are beds you can rent or free chairs to sit on (first come first serve). It was a great day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nosamtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The food sucks, but can't beat the view of Pacific...”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for haute cuisine this ain't the place. Here is my recommendation: go to the stunning Getty Villa Museum in Malibu, which closed at 5 pm. Then head up the coast to Malibu Cove. Order the calamari appetizer and a bottle of wine at the bar and take these out to the big wooden chairs in front of the restaurant, right on the beach. It's divine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

There was a very long wait to sit inside the restaurant, so we opted to order take-away and eat at the nearby tables. The location of this place is great, but it is overpriced and not worth the money. The parking is a bit ridiculous too, so be prepared for that when you arrive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balletrfs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Cove Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Cove Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing