We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing beats it!”
Review of Nobu Malibu

Nobu Malibu
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Malibu
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing beats it!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Far and away the best food in Malibu. Expensive but worth every penny. Raw and cooked food. Sushi and sashimi delicious as are the cooked entrees. You can go crazy or order normally and the check will be high but not crazy. Always have well prepared specials that are tasty and fun. Save up and go. Reservations are a must. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    199
    71
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful views...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

When I am on vacation, I sometimes don't like planning too much... and just don't want to be tied to a schedule. Went to Malibu on a Sunday afternoon and around 4pm, we decided to pop in to Nobu for an early dinner. Another place to see and be seen... the line up at the valet ranging from Lambos to Range Rovers to Bentleys and so on... The restaurant was between dinner and lunch seatings, so unfortunately, only the outdoor and bar areas were available for seating. We thought we might be able to have drinks and appetizers outside. (Note: check their hours before deciding just to stop in). We stayed for a bit, had some delicious sushi rolls, but were not willing to wait an hour for the main dining room to open (or 2 1/2 hours) for a table outdoors in the lounge area. I had the opportunity to speak to a few of the hostesses - one was very nice - while the other was not as pleasant. Would I go back? On a nice day, with a reservation - probably. The sushi rolls were fresh, and were about $10 per roll. They were tasty but nothing outrageous or special... and I can go to Nobu at home in NYC any time. I was really there for the ambiance. I have to say that the restaurant really should have opened the main dining room open for customers when they saw the need arise (plenty of guests were coming in asking to be seated without reservations, and all were being turned away if they were not lucky enough to find a seat at the bar or were unwilling to wait 2 1/2 hours to be seated outside --- in the 60 degree, very chilly temperatures). Don't forget to dress to impress.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular beach - and exceptional food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved every minute at Nobu in Malibu. Since this was our first visit to one of the famous chain's restaurants, we were curious. If the service was very busy and meant we were overlooked on a couple of occasions, it didn't detract from an overall great, great experience. Let yourselves be guided by the waiters who recommend and advise on the various menu items perfectly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ameps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible service- not worth the nice view!!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Pretty setting, but abysmal service. After receiving our appetizers and the main courses for only one of our party, we waited 45 minutes for the main courses for the other two diners to arrive. They never did and the waiter was too busy to focus on our delayed food despite our complaints. Finally after and hour and a half of waiting, we left without eating. The manager was very apologetic and did not charge us for the appetizers and one main course, but that did not make up for the bad experience. I expect a much higher level of service when going to a restaurant of this caliber. Total disappointment.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Expensive, but worth it. Beautiful setting with great food and good service. What more could you want? It doesn't get any better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Malibu also viewed

 

Been to Nobu Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing