We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fare and value in a spectacular setting,”

Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
malibu
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic fare and value in a spectacular setting,”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have sought out fish and chips the world over, because they tend to be served up in eateries that offer a view and taste of the local scene. London, Brussels are of course among my favorites. But the best, amazingly, is just five miles or so from my home. And so it is with local pride seasoned with many gourmand experiences of the last 20 years that with some hesitation -- I dont want the place to become too popular -- I give Malibu Seafood the highest rating. Mostly for the superb fish, always moist in a light batter, the fries when doused in vinegar a delight, the crunchy cole slaw and the relatively reasonable prices. But also for its setting across from an accessible beach and a singular view of the ocean, and yes, if you are lucky, a passing pod of whales.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam&Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    260
    48
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
976 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Fun place for fresh fish”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Having heard about this place we made the long drive from Beverly Hills in LA's horrendous traffic and atrocious roads on a recent trip to LA but it was worth it. Arriving at the restaurant, actually it's more of a roadhouse, we were confronted with a very long line-up which while disconcerting is also a good sign of good food. We lined up at about 2PM only to learn that they do not sell alcohol but do allow you to bring your own. Since we really wanted a bottle of wine we left and drove to a nearby supermarket to buy a bottle. On our return the lineup was actually even longer but it moved quickly. Don't be misled as we were into thinking this is a fancy restaurant as it's just a roadside house where you enter, place your order, find a table in one of several areas that climb up the hillside, and then wait until your buzzer alerts you that your order is ready for pickup. The menu has 8-10 different grilled fishes, several fried, some sides and even chicken for those who hate fish. We ordered grilled halibut ($24), grilled swordfish ($22) and sides included of fries, cole slaw and rice and a loaf of warm sourdough. We managed to share a table t the top level with a nice view of the beach and surf. Both fish were very good and decent sized portions and all the sides were very good as was the warm sourdough. It's probably a bit overpriced given the circumstances but it's such a fun experience that it's worth it occasionally. We'll probably try it again on our next trip but this time I'll order the fried fish which really looked fantastic and was a huge portion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, Ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Malibu seafood rocks!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

By far, great food and even better fresh fish to buy, take home and prepare! We love mark!the outdoor seating is great! Bring your own table decor, wine, candles! It's do it yourself chic!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debilovesparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks nicer than what it turned out to be.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Decided to try it because of the long lines out side ...since we are visiting LA we thought that was a good sign....not so much...cashier didn't smile, pick up window people were rushing, and the food was mediocre..not worth the wait or lines

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ilpz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply delicious ”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location and delicious salad. I had the dungenous crab on lettuce. Really good. Outside seating and a beautiful view of the Pacific.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing