We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish, very reasonable, unpretentious, great view.BYOB”

Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, very reasonable, unpretentious, great view.BYOB”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Happened to see this place w lots of cars & decided to give it a try. We were very pleasantly surprised. You order inside & eat outside at big wooden picnic tables. It is only across the street from the beach so the view is the best! Food was really great. Only thing that would have made it better would have been a cocktail before dinner. They do not sell alcohol. A customer told us that everyone brings their own beer or a bottle of wine. Doesn't get much better than that!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SC3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    263
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Terrific, Well-Priced Food on the Pacific Highway in Malibu”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Malibu Seafood has fresh fish and seafood to take home or eat-in. We were among the eater-ins, which consists of extreme casual dining on picnic benches in a semi-enclosed area to help drown out the sound of the busy highway. It is right across from the beach. One of the big advantages is that you can BYOB, bring your own bottle of wine, etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great stop, Great place!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had read about Malibu Seafood before we left for our trip and I'm so glad we stopped as we were passing through Malibu! Prepare for a long line but it moves fast enough. We had clams, fish tacos and an ahi tuna burger. They were all delicious! Wish we had the fish and chips, I saw the table next to us really enjoying...next time for sure. It's a great side of the road, fun stop and it's right across the road from the beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Not Disappointed.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Based on TA forum's recommendations, I just had to visit and try it myself. Four of us stopped by for lunch today, because today's weather is just perfect at 80 degrees with a light onshore breeze. We sampled their famous fish & chips, fried oysters, clams, scallops, charbroiled squid steak and charbroiled Alaskan sea bass. All were good, but the sea bass was just so perfectly cooked, and the fish & chips are so delicious, we ended up buying some fish to go too. Good food, affordable, with ocean view. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in the World!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Being a fish and chips afficionado, they have the best I have ever had (although a small place up in Kootenay Canada comes in a close second)! The fish is cooked in a light battet so that it is crispy on the outside and still flaky and moist inside.

This is not a full service restraunt. Stand in line, order and pay. Then find a picnic table and wait for your number to be called.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 128Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing