We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Takeout Spot with A View”

Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Takeout Spot with A View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great little spot heading north on the PCH just past Malibu. There is always a line on the weekdays folks but it is worth it. This is both an excellent seafood market and a take out restaurant. You order your food and grab a table with a view of the pacific ocean. Picnic tables, covered area, wind protected when its cold. Mind you this is no simple fried clams place. The grilled fish plates will stop you in your tracks. Halibut, yellow tail, trout, all excellent with sold side and fresh veggies. Garlic smoked oysters cold on crackers or sour dough bread. Ceviche the is wonderful. Yes they have great fried combos. The fish and chips is fresh cod and very good. They have cols drinks for sale and always serve with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    249
    47
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good seafood with scenic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had to check out after all the good reviews and wasn't disappointed. Had to wait 30 minutes in line to order and another 15-20 to get food but it was Fathers Day so I expected a longer wait. Great menu selection, food quality was excellent and perfect location. We were fortunate to get a picnic table and enjoyed the meal. All the tables around us broke out table clothes and bottles of wines so I assume these were the locals. Definitely glad we stopped for a late lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simbadusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood, great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, this place doesn't look like much, but the fish is excellent. I had the grilled salmon, which came with a tasty garlic cilantro sauce; my traveling companion had the halibut. Both were very, very good, as were the sides (cole slaw and fries in our case) and the scenery. The restaurant is on PCH, just across the road from the beach, and the view of the Pacific is fantastic.

Although they aren't made there, I would also recommend one of the gourmet ice cream sandwiches they sell.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AERobNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gem by the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

In August of 2012 my wife and I were on a rather loosely planned vacation to southern California. We wanted some seafood so I went online at the hotel and found this gem. The food, the sea breeze and the ocean view were so wonderful that this morning (nearly a year later)we left our home in Las Vegas at 9:00 A.M. and drove five and a half hours to Malibu for lunch. It’s not posted, but if you ask, you may get a 10% senior discount. The only problem is parking. But, if you are patient eventually someone will leave and you’ll be able to park. It's well worth the wait. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seaside Gem - Incredibly Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This little unassuming roadside place is by far THE BEST MEAL of the weekend! We decided to take a drive up the coast, didn't have a lunch plan, and weren't interested in the big touristy looking places. This looked cute and a quick search on the iPad showed lots of people thought well of it, so we decided to give Malibu Seafood a try. There is the restaurant side and the fish market side - lots of local folks were buying fresh fish to cook at home, a good sign. There was a line but it moved quickly - a casual place, menu is on the wall, you order and pay, and then pick up the food when it's ready at the side window. There are picnic tables on two patios next to the building, quite comfortable actually, and the view of the ocean is spectacular, a (multi) million dollar view. But let's talk about the food - it was delicious, scrumptious, incredible. We started with the shrimp cocktail. It was a good portion of super fresh, plump, sweet prawns, with seafood cocktail sauce in a little container on the side. The shrimp were so good we ignored the sauce. Then, I had the squid sandwich. It was amazing - a thick slab of super fresh soft squid, grilled (not fried) on toasted sourdough bread with simple slices of fresh summery tomatoes, lettuce, and red onion. It usually comes with tartar sauce but I skipped that, trust me, no additions needed to this wonderful treat! I can't remember last time I enjoyed a sandwich so much. My husband had the Ahi burger with fries and loved it - a thick slab of Ahi with tartar sauce, lettuce, tomatoes, and onion piled on a soft bun, served with a big portion of thick cut fries, he had a great meal. Sitting together watching the ocean in the sunshine on this beautiful day and enjoying a great simple meal - well, life just can't get much better!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing