We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”

Malibu Cafe at Calamigos Ranch
Ranked #13 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kanan Rd and Mulholland
Description: Cafe M is the most exciting and wildly romantic dining destination in the Malibu Hills. Located at the Crest of Malibu, off Kanan Rd. and Mulholland Dr. lies a unique restaurant and lounge with a Nouveau Barbeque menu that made Calamigos Ranch famous 4 generations ago, and keeps it breathtaking today. Join them Thursday through Sunday from noon to midnight with an amazing al fresco lunch by their private lake, or join them for dinner on a candlelit patio overlooking the property, and stay for farm fresh cocktails under the stars with romantic lounge music, live jazz and blues under the stars!! As the only dining destination on the Malibu Wine trail, come see what Malibu Vines can offer with the finest wine selections, and even tastings right at the restaurant. Bring a special someone, family, or just some friends and lounge on private cabanas, fluffy day beds, or get a private raft to sail the lake on. There truly is nothing quite like an evening at M Cafe.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The M(Malibu) Café is an oasis in the middle of the Santa Monica Mountains...You eat outside in a beautiful, natural setting...old trees, a lake+++The food is good and the service is excellent.
They never rush you and kids are always welcome to share the beauty. This is a DO NOT MISS
place. Enjoy...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAYCE000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    56
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great setting, food is just OK”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love M Cafe and come here as often as possible on the weekends when the weather gets warmer. The menu seems to change often - not to keep it fresh but I think to try and figure out what works. the food is just OK, but you don't really come here for the food. You come for the awesome outside ambiance - huge lawn, live music, nice lounge spots, paddleboat rides, pool and shuffleboard. Plus they added a 2nd outdoor bar area (called the Treehouse??) that looks pretty cool as well. This place is dog and kid friendly, but it's also great for couples and friends. I even had a birthday brunch here (bottomless mimosas!!) and I've seen a few baby and wedding showers.
Would definitely recommend coming here for the great scenery and good wine and cocktails, just don't come really hungry or you may be a little disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bruingirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“American Country Pub!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visiting LA for a few days our friend took us up into the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains and after a good hike we needed food and beer! So glad we came here - one of the highlights of our trip.
A rustic setting with touches of glam, friendly bar dogs and table tennis tables!
We enjoyed sitting in the sun on the grass with a great band providing the soundtrack.
Food was good pub style - the pulled pork sandwich was delicious and LARGE! Refreshed with a great range of drinks.
Service was a little slow, they were busy, but very friendly and efficient staff and in a laid back beautiful setting like this, who's in a rush?!
There's even a lake with paddle boats to keep the kids amused!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Lush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brigadoon in Malibu”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I had read about Malibu Cafe @ Calamingos Ranch a while ago; a hidden little eatery in the Western part of the Santa Monica Mtns. Figured I'd never really get there but passed the sign by on the way to Leo Carrillo Beach with my Lab pup and a pal.
We stopped off for lunch on the way home and what a surprise! We were expecting some sort of sandwich shack in a pretty setting, but got a casual, upscale, outdoor restaurant in a beautiful setting with lovely food. And they treated my little pup like the princess she most certainly is - bowlfuls of ice water!
Full bar, the patio setting is rustic and looks over a pond and lawn. Come here at the right time our waiter tells us, as they've been discovered it gets mobbed on nice weekends ( watch out summertime) Our Friday afternoon lunch was easy going ... Very nice service. A find!

Helpful?
Thank ringdiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Day after Christmas”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Loved being outdoors. Very rustic. Burger was flavorful n juicy. Monica was our server. She's professional and friendly. Gerardo checked on us to see how we were doing. Great day. Great weather. Great time! Great atmosphere for a party; bridal shower; etc. just a fun place to be with great food. Can't wait to go back with my hubby n friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malibu Cafe at Calamigos Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Cafe at Calamigos Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing