We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sunset”

El Matador State Beach
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sunset”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was the last beach we stopped at in Malbu. It is very pretty with the rock formations. There were two photoshoots going on while we were there. There is a lot of seaweek on the beach and sandflies so it can be a little annoying laying out. Also, they are very serious about the no alcohol policy. We saw a ranger give out tickets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    130
    23
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“B R E A T H T A K I N G!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

So gorgeous its worth the drive and the hike. This is without a doubt one of California's most beautiful beaches, small and scenic. Its situated on an angle so that you get a breeze and not gale force winds, super nice. Take a picnic and blanket and prepare to relax, sort of. The Downsides, in anticipation of getting there you may think you're lost or you missed it, you didn't keep driving. *THE HILL* in order to get to the beach you have to walk down a serious flight of stairs, but before you reach that you have to walk down a steep and treacherous hill that this not for the faint of heart and difficult to do in flip flops! Its very scenic and the day we were there, there were a lot of photographers trying to shoot engagement shots and bikini models, they may ACT like they own the place, they don't! IGNORE THEM enjoy yourself and let your kids play and explore. You can tell by the pics this beach is a tourist spot, so don't expect to be alone, you won't be. Its more like "guest towels" look at them, like decoration, but don't expect to really be able to use it.You will be leaving shortly. There is parking, its unpaved and there are porta potties at the THE TOP of the hill. Bring your camera, wear a cute outfit, sit in front of the rocks, take a picture of the sunset, leave. All good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FonnyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-TN
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Beach I've Ever Seen!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I Love Beaches. I've been to many along both California and Florida coasts, as well as some Atlantic and Mediterranean. El Matador is my all-time favorite because it combines amazing rock formations and gorgeous purple-blue waters. Before the descent, most of which is staired, we even enjoyed a picnic at provided tables. If the parking lot is full, there is street-side parking. Los Angelenos are so lucky to have such natural gems in their backyard!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank visuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Over-Crowded”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just drove down to the parking lot to find it full. It is very small and not paved. I would think that if you are going to have to pay to park you would get paved parking and real toilets. We left without seeing the beach to many people. They need a sign out on the road indicating they are full.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Another great beach in SCal”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went there in July on a day when the surf was quite high and the seaweeds swamped the tiny little beach, attracting tons of flies. Still we enjoyed the beach for its beautiful rock formations and nice scenery. Just bear in mind it gets really crowded on weekends. We went in the early morning and left by 11am when the crowds started to build up. The small parking lot gets full pretty much by 11am on weekends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador State Beach also viewed

 

Been to El Matador State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing