We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food.”
Review of Charlie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Charlie's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food is lovely. Unique fusions and creative. Unfortunately, it is just over-priced for the average person. Great wait staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant with an attention to service and great food!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Charlie's is a restaurant that both my husband and I want to go again and again. It is a higher end restaurant with a very intimate feel. The chair upholstery are designed by an upscale designer-If I can remember Versace! All of the flatware and dishes have also been hand picked with an artistic touch and attention to fine detail. Get an ocean window table for a very romantic meal. Their attention to detail is wonderful and most importantly, the food is 5 stars!!!!!! Worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Aspiring”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Unfortunately, they aspire to mediocrity. Ambitious and extensive menu but average execution. Closed for renovation as of this writing due to a recent ceiling water line break, one can only hope that they will use the opportunity to refresh everything.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,135 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid & avoid”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We arrived at Charlie's and waited for valet...Eventually parked ourselves. The restaurant decor is quite attractive.

Hostess continued a personal conversation with bartender while we stood and waited. Restaurant was near empty (2 other tables and 3 middle aged drunks at the bar. She finally seated us.

We had to flag down bus help and another food server to discover that we in fact did have a food server. She finally arrived to take our drink orders, mumble about specials and then promptly disappeared for 15 minutes before returning with drinks. She tried to leave again but we were terrified that she would not return again to take our food orders. We asked several questions about the specials (she had to check on our questions--10 minutes).
Salad was limp, fish was overcooked and dry as was the lamb. We skipped dessert and coffee
Restaurant was near empty---I checked the other rooms.
No excuse for poor service combined with almost inedible food.
Avoid, avoid avoid

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good choice for a romantic evening”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have read some of the reviews here and i am somewhat mystified. I have eaten here a few times and have always had only excellent service. Local Malibuiets know that many of the wait staff in any restaurant in Malibu is bound to have some Pepperdine students who are working and going to school. They are here today and gone tomorrow. So we understand if service is less than perfect- but all these kids do try their best.
Now for the food. Generally it is excellent, the stakes are the best in Malibu. I have had a couple of times fish dishes and both times they were very good. Food is not innovative- but all in all very good. The Jillian at the bar will mix pretty much anything you want.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing