We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low cost parking, great park”

Adamson House and Malibu Lagoon Museum
Ranked #9 of 52 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic home of Merritt Huntley Adamson, a local rancher, is set along the beautiful Malibu coastline and is home to a museum that explores the history of Malibu.
Tucson
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Low cost parking, great park”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was looking for a reasonable place to park and take some pictures. This place was all I needed and more. A lovely old beach house with beautifully cared for gardens and spectacular lagoon and LA view. A credit to the state park system.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful place and history very interesting”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved learning the history of Malibu! Beautiful place....definitely worth the visit!
We never knew so much about Malibu. The entrance fee was only $7/person.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wedding location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We attended a wedding here this past weekend - beautiful outdoor location, many nice locations for pictures. Right on the beach, but no actual beach access from the Adamson house property (fenced in). Our only issue was it was difficult having food/drinks with our kids b/c there is nowhere to sit - everywhere on the property is historic tiles, so you can't sit on anything or set anything down! Otherwise a beautiful facility with a very interesting history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank otcarla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the short drivefrom LA”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

On a beautiful day in August we toured the gardens and Adamson house in Malibu. It was only my wife and I on the garden tour with a very knowledgeable guide and then 3 of us for the house tour. It was a wonderful way to spend the morning, the guides were great, the house very interesting and the views excellent. The furnishings, clothes still out, and tiles were worth the visit.

It was all made better by visualizing the place when it was built and nothing else was in sight.

Go early, we had a tour bus come at the end of our visit and it's a small place so early is better

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LS_52_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Stunning views and impressive architecture.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A friend recommended that we take advantage of this beautiful home tour in Malibu. Because of this strained economy, my husband and I expected a modest Spanish stucco house with deferred maintenance. We couldn't have been more surprised and impressed by the grandeur and beauty of the grounds and the Spanish Colonial Revival mansion. Our docent was very enthusiastic about the property and its history and was able to give human interest to the story of the families, who have owned this beautiful part of Malibu, California. We learned alot of California history in the Museum, and admired the Malibu tile and other stylistic details which remain in the home. The views from each window are spectacular and the house, though elegant, remains cozy and inviting. It is a wonderful outing on a beautiful sun shiny day. If you're a birder, be certain to bring your binoculars, as there is a sanctuary very close by.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adamson House and Malibu Lagoon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Adamson House and Malibu Lagoon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing