We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malibu Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malibu Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Malibu B&B and Inns
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our second stay within 8 months. One reason for our return visit was the location (short drive to a beautiful beach) and the friendly staff. We booked one of the more affordable rooms (accommodations in Malibu are on the expensive side) with flatscreen TV & fridge. The king size bed was comfortable, but the sheets are scratchy (and our duvet cover was dirty). Cleaning could be improved, the wifi was weak and there is no breakfast offered. That said, it is a good place to spend one night in Malibu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    18
    11
    35
See reviews for
25
87
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here with my family on the first night of my family's visit to the US. We travelled straight from LAX after our flight got in during the evening. We had a nightmare trying to find it, and we ended up driving all over LA trying to get the correct direction. 11 hour flight = one very tired family + driving on the wrong side of the road (for me) somehow led to 4 hours from LAX to here when it should have taken 30 minutes. That was all my own fault however, but anyway. We phoned them on several occasions during our travel that evening and and they tried their best to give me directions but my brain couldn't quite transfer that to a successful drive. We eventually arrived at 02:30hrs and they had left us the key under the mat and we had been put into a nicer room than we had booked with no extra charge. The room was lovely. Big comfy bed, fire left on for us, just what I needed after my self inflicted ordeal! The following morning we woke to a great view of the beach and the sun shining. The bill was settled up with front desk without any issues at all and we then ate at the sort of attached restaurant Kirsty's, which was ok. Very good service but not much of the all American breakfast I was looking for.
Overall the staff at this location were great, the beds comfy and proximity to the beach was a definite plus. We only wished we stayed longer.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It would have been perfect if breakfast was included in the price, but apart from that a very good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JH3351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

These hotel is located in a very beautiful area of Malibu.

The rooms are quite big and in my case a terrace was available, too. The bed was a large one and the service at the reception very nice.

However, it seems to be a common place for couples, sometime very noisy !

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tapatio1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have to say the service at the Malibu Country Inn is better than many 5 star hotels, they truly care about your experience. The GM Ivy goes above and beyond! Very convenient to Zuma beach and Malibu in general.

Thank-you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Malibu. Our room was very clean and quaint. The service was excellent. We stopped in to the main office to request some extra conditioner and some waters, and the person at the front desk offered to deliver it all to our room while we were out to dinner. The room had a beautiful view, and we took full advantage of the hot tub on the patio. The location is great - it's an easy walk to the beach, there are several good restaurants around, and it's an easy drive to Pepperdine, which is why we were staying there. We ate at the restaurant that is right next door, Kristy's, and had an excellent meal there. All in all, this was a wonderful little place to stay. Also to note: follow the signs to Kristy's. We never did see a sign for the hotel from the street, so we drove right past it the first time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

we stayed in the suite above the front desk, very quiet and the patio was very large, had a lovely view of the sunset and was relatively quiet for being so close to the PCH. staff was helpful and room was very clean.

Room Tip: choose the ocean view room. the others don't look as nice like the garden view rooms, they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARROLL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This charming property was a referral. I wanted to pass along the favor. I traveled last minute to Malibu from Iowa and I must say that our experience was worth sharing. More than the quaint rooms it was Ivy and the staff that I want to rave about. They anticipated and provided for our every need. They went above and beyond and exceeded my expectations. We will be seeing you again! Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 6 in Malibu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Country Inn

Property: Malibu Country Inn
Address: 6506 Westward Beach Rd, Malibu, CA 90265-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely country inn tucked atop a beachside bluff in beautiful Malibu! This antique inn has antique values - great customer service. We offer ocean, mountain and garden view rooms, private patios and a heated pool for those who don't want to go in the cold ocean a block away... Our median price and exceptional customer service make staying here an unsurpassable value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Malibu Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Country Hotel Malibu
Country Inn Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing