We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Great Get Away”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We are local Los Angelenos and all it took was a quick drive up the PCH to feel like we were totally out of the big city! The view just walking into the hotel was amazing, you are ON the beach! We enjoyed a fab lunch in lounge chairs as the water splashed up against the shore. Staff was terrific, taking care of our every need. Rooms were tastefully furnished with a cozy fireplace. We went to bed with our balcony door open, enjoying the sound of the ocean as we slept so nicely in the luxurious beds. As we drove home to Los Angeles the next day, we felt totally rested and thrilled to know that there is such a great getaway so close to us!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkydasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 544 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is a romantic hotel located on the Malibu beach with a first class service and an outstanding view. The rooms, even if not so big, are very well organized and provided with everything you can desire (play station included). The restaurant has a beautiful terrace over the ocean where you can enjoy your breakfast while dolphins jump in the water in front of your table! Last but not least the managers succeed in being flexible with clients: we booked a room with continental breakfast included in the rate but I didn’t take care of reading carefully the confirmation mail I get and we had a different (more expensive) breakfast that we (of course) had to pay separately. Definitely it was my fault (I should have read the confirmation letter) but they were very nice in discharging the price of the continental breakfast from the room rate so we didn’t had to pay for breakfast twice: we appreciated it. Unluckily we stayed only one night but we will absolutely remember this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiccioSkeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Fantastic location right on the beach - the full ocean view rooms are feet from the ocean! The hotel is motel - style (ie.you enter your room from the open air) but right behind the hotel is the Pacific Coast Highway which is noisy during the day. The room was well appointed with a gas fire and a private patio directly facing the ocean. The public areas were very limited...if you want a drink outside of the restaurant you have to sit in the small lobby/reception area as there is no bar as such. The restaurant has a lovely open air patio with a firepit and the food was good even if the menu was limited.There is no access to a computer for checking emails apart from a complicated handheld device which wasn't always available. The hotel has not made enough of the beach setting. You can get a sunbed and food/drinks served but there isn't even anywhere to wash sand off your feet ....they could make much more of a feature of this area. There are shops and restaurants within walking distance. I think this hotel is best for couples or groups as opposed to solo travellers unless you are seeking solitude. This has to be the best hotel in Malibu and is overpriced for that reason.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

My fiance and I are not new to Malibu, but this was our first experience at the Malibu Beach Inn. Fist of many more, I can say now. With the unbeatable location right above the Ocean, beachside dining, and the most delicious Seafood Salad I've ever tasted, I am not sure how strategic of me is to share this "hidden getaway" with all of my friends. May be I will just selfishly keep this gem is our secret....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAgirlInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Beautifully refurbished by the new owners. The hotel is VERY comfortable and the beds are luxurious. The staff needs better training but the environment is very enjoyable. Sitting out on the porch while dining is a sublime experience. If you book "off peak" you can get a good rate, otherwise it's overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewYorkRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I had an awful experience with this hotel. My fiancé and I are long time Malibu residents and alumni of Pepperdine. University. We are getting married and decided to get a block of rooms at Malibu Beach Inn. The first rate they gave us for the block of rooms was the SAME rate as their AAA rate. When we came back and let them know that by sending our entire wedding party to the Hotel (in February) it was not much of a savings to offer them a rate that any guest who has AAA membership could obtain. We then continued to go back and forth with Jill Jennings who promised one thing on the phone and then completely switched the contract via all emails. Malibu Beach Inn will charge your credit card for any hotel rooms that are part of your room block if they are not booked by a certain date (30-60 days before the wedding). The two individuals we worked with (Jill Jennings and Scott Margot) were unprofessional and lacked any kind of professionalism or hospitality. We had an exceptional experience sending all of our guests to the 4 Seasons in Westlake Village. They honor a huge discount to all guests and do not charge you for any rooms that are not booked. The restaurant and spa options are far superior to Malibu Beach Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank parishilton020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Having stayed at the hotel 'on spec', whilst driving up US1, we didn't have the option of checking Tripadvisor prior to our stay. I am surprised by the negative reviews. This hotel is not cheap, but it does provide a great little romantic bolthole, right on the beach, with excellent service. It is small and cosy and has a small bar area and great restaurant, with the option of dining outside on the balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

Rooms are double bedded, with mood lighting, sofas, log fires (gas), safe, robes, slippers, plasma TV's, IPod doc, mini bar and fabulous ocean views. They have an ITouch style concierge system which is a little gimmicky, it's easier to phone.

Bathroom had a walk-in shower, no bath, but lots of fresh towels and toiletries.

Valet parking was expensive, service was very friendly and breakfast was pricey but fabulous, especially on the terrace.

I would certainly recommend it for a one night romantic break, despite having read the other reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,910 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: $466 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast
Beach Inn Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing