We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs better service”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“needs better service”
Reviewed August 6, 2005

i totally agree with the comments made about the front desk staff. they were not very helpful, for the price you pay, you should get a little better service. they really should also provide better parking, someone to help you with your luggage and not charge for seating on the beach. the hotel is very noisy because you are right on the pch. the positives are that you are right on the beach, the breakfast was good. we stayed at the beach house in hermosa beach. i would go back there again over the malibu inn.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    129
    38
    27
    18
See reviews for
95
244
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 30, 2005

Let me start by saying that the Malibu Beach Inn is a really good hotel (it is a hotel and not really a B&B as listed on this site).

We have stayed there on several occassions in the last three years.

It is, however, a slightly acquired taste and to really enjoy it, you have to know what you are getting.

Firstly, other reviewers have commented on the noise between rooms. The hotel is constructed traditionally and the thin walls are not good at keeping out the noise from other guests. However, this has only really been a problem on one night of around 12 we have stayed in this hotel.

Secondly, the service is more family than corporate. I don't know for sure but I think that this is an owner managed hotel and the front desk is managed by either the owner or his friends or family. The consequence is that they can appear to be a little stand offish and sometimes, even slightly rude. I really don't think they mean to be though and if you want people fawning all over you, this is not the place.

However, the maids and beach staff are excellent and very charming and polite.

Rooms are clean and nicely appointed with Aveda products in the bathrooms. Towels/robes are plentiful and beds are excellent.

The ocean views are well documented. Balconies are first rate.

The hotel struggles a little with parking and on a busy night (Friday/Saturday) you may find it hard to park your H2 or F250. There is also no bellman so you are on your own with your bags. Given the average LA bellman probably could get by on tips alone, I don't know why the hotel doesn't provide one.

The complimentary breakfast is very pleasant and freshly prepared and generous.

The location is one of the best in Malibu, within walking distance of the pier and Malibu Colony stores.

If you have never been to Malibu before however, do not expect a quiet paradise. The PCH is a busy road and Malibu is a long town, stretched out over 10 miles of highway. The beach is narrow and swimming is limited to the few areas patrolled by Baywatch.

But if you are an LA local and you want to get away from the city, MBI is perfect.

Prices are a little high (but remember this is probably a $20m property). Stay mid week if you want a better deal. The pier rooms are a good deal as they still have a view of the ocean but have slightly larger balconies and get the evening sun. They are actually cheaper than direct ocean view rooms but in my view are much better.

All in all, I encourage you to try this hotel. It is refreshingly not corporate, has awesome proximity to the ocean and you can't help but leave feeling relaxed. Just don't expect too much from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

Just got back from a four night stay at the Malibu Beach Inn. Since there were four of us (two adults, two children) we stayed in a Pier Room.

First, the pros... very pretty, very odd little hotel. Really different, with a feeling of going back in time to the glamorous days of Malibu. Nice room amenities, including the gas fireplace, down comforter, toiletries. Pretty nice continental breakfast.

Now, the cons... do not stay in a Pier Room. These are located on the side of the hotel and although you can see the ocean from the balcony, you mainly see the public parking lot next to the hotel and you see and hear the Pacific Coast Highway constantly. It renders the balcony totally useless, unless you like the sound of speeding, heavy traffic. When I mentioned this to the front desk, they just said to keep the balcony door closed. The noise comes through from the exterior hallway door too. Also, they charge to have someone put out beach chaise lounges for you! For the price, that should be complimentary.

I think the rooms for two or three people which totally face the ocean would be fine. There is a strong sound of the surf, but that should be one of the reasons you are there, and it would mask the traffic sounds. Do not stay in a Pier room, unless you like the sounds of the Indianapolis 500.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mbtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2005

Excellent place to stay. Right on the beach. Sat on are balcony at night, and watch the tide come right up th the Inn. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Great location with nice and cozy restaurants. Continental breakfest from the Inn was great. Close to Santa Monica, Venice Beach,Sunset Blvd, Topanga Canyon, but still in secluded Malibu. Great price also, would go back anytime in L.A.

Helpful?
7 Thank CHE1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2005

Best location in Malibu. Complimentary California continental breakfast was great. The rooms were very nice and falling asleep to the sound of breaking waves can't be beat. Sitting in front of the outdoor fireplace on the terrace in the evening and playing cards, was so relaxing. The full ocean view rooms lived up to our anticipation; sitting on the balcony seeing the water and waves was beautiful. DVD rental at the main desk was very convenient and reasonably priced. Overall opinion was that this hotel was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank BookLover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2004

I recently stayed in the Malibu Beach Inn and sadly a couple of problems ruined what otherwise would have been a superb stay: the loud noise level between rooms and the lack of courteousness from the staff at the front reception desk. My first suggestion to maintain a good reputation for what really is a gorgeous motel would be to send the entire staff to a Customer Etiquette seminar, as some of the staff were outright discourteous to me, to the point where I'm sure my blood pressure was up quite a few notches. As you can imagine, this is not at all what one wants during a getaway from the stress of everyday life and work. The 2nd problem I encountered is a more difficult one to deal with: there seems to be a severe lack of sound proofing in the walls between rooms. During my stay I received little sleep: each night I was kept awake well into the late hours (2 to 3 in the a.m.) by loud televisions and partying/loud talking from people in adjoining rooms. I must say that the recent addition of DVD player devices to each room of this hotel was a horrid mistake, and for the life of me, I cannot fathom why this was done. With the fabulous ocean view each room has, including private beach and smashingly great rooms, one is left to wonder why there are television sets at all: my advice would be to remove all television and DVD devices, and then perhaps the motel could use their money in a more advantageous way: perhaps they could make each guest's stay more relaxing and pleasurable by adding comfortable padded loungers on every balcony, rather than just plastic chairs. I must say that what was very annoying to me was that even keeping my balcony doors wide open all night didn't help dampen the irritating noise of my neighbors (and this demonstrates how very loud the other guests were, because the the ocean is very loud, but in a pleasurable way: a fantastic feature of this hotel is how it is practically on top of the ocean, and I for one happen to LOVE the sound of the ocean and it was one of the main features that attracted me to this motel). Yet despite leaving my balcony doors open, I was consistently annoyed by the loud noise from either side of my room. My stay took it's biggest downturn when the partying guests in a room next to me became so loud one night that I had to snag a member of the cleaning staff for assistance, and thankfully the gentleman was quite courteous to me and he took the trouble to advise my irritating neighbors to pipe down. I wish I had taken this gentleman's name to send him a formal thank you, because he was the most polite person I encountered during my stay. The next day the hotel management was not at all interested in hearing of their noise problems and I basically received a brush off, much to my dismay. So although this is a beautiful motel, be prepared to wear ear plugs and to also deal with disinterested hotel staff/management.

Helpful?
10 Thank TPBrbj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing