We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with one exception”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We wound up staying her for 2 nights. They have done a great job in redoing this place. It is first rate inside. Very comfortable bed, some of the best towels anywhere, great chocolates at turndown. We had brunch on the patio our first day there and the food was very good.Not great, but very good. Service very good. They have fresh chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. Everyone there was incredibly nice and helpful. My one complaint was that the walls were somewhat thin and we had very obnoxious neighbors next door who were very loud.No chance of a romantic evening. Admittedly, we had an AAA rate and had a side room, but we had to call down to the front desk the first night as we could hear everything they said....even after 10. If it were not for this, our stay would have been absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, make sure to get a room facing the beach as PCH is right outside. It d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property, the food and the service, but we're also sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as peaceful as you'd hoped. We appreciate your feedback, and should you have the chance to return, we would invite you to connect with one of our reservation specialists in advance to ensure that your room placement better meets your needs. We very much hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back for a romantic getaway in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 563 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is exactly the kind of hotel I usually love - it's small but luxurious with amazing views. My stay at the Malibu Beach Inn left me slightly disappointed though. While you cannot beat going to bed to the sound of the ocean, the rooms are small. I suppose that they need to be narrow to offer more rooms an ocean view but for a junior suite ours was smaller than a standard room at most hotels.

The restaurant also had amazing views but we were disappointed to find ourselves tucked into a crowded corner table in spite of having made the reservation weeks in advance when we booked the room. They refused to give us an open premium table along the edge of the patio with a great ocean view because it had already been reserved. So do not assume because you booked early and are in a suite that you will get good restaurant reservations. Make sure you call and specify that you want a table along the ocean wall as you will have a totally different experience at an exterior table.

Spa services were the highlight of the trip. The spa room was cozy and the therapists were excellent. I only wish they had a legit spa with other amenities but it is a boutique hotel after all.

We would consider trying out Malibu Beach Inn again. All in all it's a fine hotel but for the price, I was expecting more. They seem to run specials often in the off-seasons so I would hold out for one of those.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view! Also request a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djrhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We’re glad that you enjoyed our proximity to the ocean and your time at the spa treatment room, but we're sorry to hear that the size of our property left you feeling disappointed. We appreciate you sharing this, as your honest and constructive feedback provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can. We are grateful to hear that you would consider returning, and if you would like to dine with us in the future, we would invite you to reach out to our F&B Director so that he can personally handle your reservation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

1 night stay at Malibu Beach Inn booked on location, in between flights from Hawaiian islands to France through southern California ;
location : branded as of which Hollywood dreams are made of, in fact between coastal highway traffic, and eroded beach to which billionaires as hotel owner failed to block access for all ;
room : no insulation, no sleep, entry on parking next to highway, outside visible between door and frame, road traffic noise instead of the sound of waves ; cold, kitsch fake fireplace not heating enough ; not functioning toilet ; stained carpet ;
selling methods : taxes not shown at booking, checkout stay rate increased ; bottles in bathroom, as free, rates concealed behind, extra debit 1 day later ;
Had I stayed in Santa Monica, I would have spent twice as less, avoiding these flaws ; notwithstanding, had more than enough money on MasterCard account to stay at Malibu Beach Inn, then fly to southern France ; yet, after checkout billing, unusable card, taxi from Malibu to LAX returned to hotel ; it took half an hour of arguing, warning that I would miss the flight, and be left in LA without money in hazardous conditions, for management to fund ride reluctantly, after trying to avoid it, albeit at a cost near excess hotel billing, with offer to refund it later ; in this kind of situation, smiles turn in hostility, consideration linked to cash machine status.
It seemed as untold foreign limit on card ; yet, on arrival in northern France, card unusable for taxes on a flight from northern France to southern France ; left in the cold, medical accident ; the day after, money on card account, incredible.
The bank revealed that before checkout Malibu Beach Inn asked for extra debit authorization on card, not shown on an invoice, added to checkin authorization, accounting for a guarantee 2/3 in excess of displayed rate, with 15% MasterCard allowance on total authorized amount ; which blocked card, triggered wrecked tourist situation, 2/3 ratio ruling out improvident tourist behaviour.
It took a semester to receive invoice with false extra debit date on the same day as checkout, whereas MasterCard statement shows Malibu Beach Inn tried to bill in room few extras directly on card, 1 day after checkout, rejected by blocked card, before using extra debit authorization, which then was not for extra billing, with no access to locked minibar, bar, restaurant ; which shows that management, aware of card unusability and of related hazardous wrecked tourist situation, did not check whether there had been excessive hotel transactions, it only wanted wrecked tourist leaving the hall, not caring of wrecked tourist situation ; as a result, date of releasing abusive authorization hold on account, in excess of transaction amount, occured 1 day too late ; without Malibu Beach Inn abusive authorization, funded ride from Malibu to LAX, or had management done its job checking hotel transactions, would have shown as available money on card account 3 times as much as needed for taxes on flight to southern France.
Malibu Beach Inn management tried to avoid its responsibility with false data on modified invoice, instead of answering questions on abusive authorization.
Malibu Beach Inn dealings to minimize its financial risk brought about intolerable risk to guest.
Indeed it is the hotel from hell.
It seems there is no solution other than a mediatized lawsuit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vivien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Malibu Beach Inn us is a hidden gem, it's worth the extra ride from Santa Monica. Located right next to the Santa Monica pier right on the ocean I can Not only hear the waves as I write this I can Almost touch them as the sun is glimmering on the beautiful Pacific Ocean. It us an Incredible winter deal imand a reasonable summer one. But Well worth it, it is a guaranteed top notch beach experience. I can't get enough of the Malibu Beach in. As a desert dweller it makes fir a perfect balance In our life!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for three nights while on a college visit to Pepperdine. My daughter and I truly enjoyed everything about our stay. The room was very nice...lighting, decor, amenities, etc. Loved sitting watching the Pacific while enjoying the fireplace. We took advantage of the restaurant as well as room service and found both to be very good. I can't say enough about the employees, especially the valets. They were great with info or directions and always courteous. We took many short trips during our Thursday to Sunday stay, so we kept them busy!
I would definitely stay here again and hope that I can get back to the area in the future.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank LD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to Pepperdine. We're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the waves and the view from your room and Carbon Beach Club too! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent one night at the Malibu Beach Inn on a drive from San Diego to Big Sur. This was the only booking which we left until a day or so before our arrival and wow, what a lovely surprise! The website doesn't do the views justice.

This is a small and extremely friendly hotel. It looks like an old fashioned motel from the outside but as soon as you step outside, you realise it is modern and stylish.

The manager on reception was fab upon our arrival. Friendly yet professional.

Our room was absolutely lovely and I am one hell of a room snob! I particularly liked the couch area and the fireplace. I can't fault the room at all, especially for the price and considering the ocean views.

My husband and I ate on the deck which is kept lovely and warm by a firepit and heaters. It was absolutely perfect. Waiting staff were courteous and professional yet not over the top as is so common in the LA area. The terrace restaurant just had such a lovely vibe that if I had stayed an extra night, I'd have eaten there again! The food was all delicious and I thought it was an excellent price given the great quality ingredients used. The chicken wings were my favourite on my entire trip and I try them everywhere I go! Breakfast was well worth the money too and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the food to anyone I know.

I will definitely be back to stay at this fabulous little gem. Seriously, the views are to die for - much better than Shutters in Santa Monica and a much better price!

And the sunset is gorgeous...

I can find no criticism at all. If you are a light sleeper, maybe request a room away from the terrace and definitely go for an ocean view.

I particularly loved the girl from the UK working at the hotel - such a great addition to the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuriousliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thanks so much for taking a chance on us during your recent trip through Malibu! We are so grateful for your kind and generous feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had such a nice time and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have been here half a dozen times. Nothing compares with this hotel. Private beach, great healthy gourmet food, great service, good bar choices, just ask and you shall receive. Bedding just like home providing you like Frette. Worth the money. Treat yourself !

Room Tip: Their Queen rooms are great, suites better. Listen to the ocean 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are so grateful for your ongoing support and we truly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back again and again. We're delighted to hear that you enjoy so many aspects of the hotel! We look forward to hosting you again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,713 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,998 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: $375 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing