We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only great beach Hotel in LA county”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Northridge
1 review
“Only great beach Hotel in LA county”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have been here half a dozen times. Nothing compares with this hotel. Private beach, great healthy gourmet food, great service, good bar choices, just ask and you shall receive. Bedding just like home providing you like Frette. Worth the money. Treat yourself !

Room Tip: Their Queen rooms are great, suites better. Listen to the ocean 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are so grateful for your ongoing support and we truly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back again and again. We're delighted to hear that you enjoy so many aspects of the hotel! We look forward to hosting you again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    130
    38
    28
    18
See reviews for
97
251
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepin, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great room with an even better view and balcony. Thankful that Scott, the reservations manager, was able to modify the package I used to book my room to allow for 2 adults and one child even tho the package clearly stated two adults only.

Room was very clean, housekeeping was interesting, they set up the pull out sofa for us at turn down but didn't put it back during the day, made for a very small room. I would have put it back myself but they add a foam topper to make it more comfortable and it wouldn't fit with the topper and there was no place to store it if you took it off the bed. Also they never replenished the toiletries or coffee, had to ask for extras.

Even with the odd housekeeping it was a great stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eaglesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We appreciate your constructive feedback and suggestions, as it allows us to learn from your first-hand experience and correct any issues going forward. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving while visiting family. Absolutely lovely! Right on the beach where we were able to eat out on the deck and watch dolphins play. The grandchildren loved building sand castles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your Thanksgiving holiday with us at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beach, the ocean, the food...and of course, experience a great night's sleep after it all! We wish you the best for a lovely new year and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-by-the-Sea
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having been invited by a local friend after a busy week at the American Film Market on my way back to Carmel, I had the pleasure of outside dining on your wonderful terrace. The staff was not only as good as you ´d expect from a 5 star, but also very friendly, courteous, professional and personal in a very good way, ( Thank you!)

The food was outstanding, as were the wine recommendations. BUT the desert deserves a special mention. I do have a chef in house for the Cannes Festival every year, and in 2012 she also brought a well known pastry chef, who prepared some of the best deserts I have ever had, This is the first and only time that I had a desert to match. Your white lava cake is one of the best 2 deserts I have ever had in my life! So good that I even wrote my first review.....

Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFilmPortal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for joining us for a meal on the Carbon Beach Club terrace and taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and Chef Oscar will be thrilled to receive such glowing feedback for his delicious white lava cake! :)
We really appreciate your kindness and your support, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Very nice room, beautiful seaview. More than friendly staff and they think with you. Breakfast super nice and top quality. Very useful and good amenities. Location is central for Malibu and also Santa Monica.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten-Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here in October and loved the hotel, the location is fabulous. The room was great overlooking the sea and was nicely decorated, loved the fact that you had a fireplace, just added that something different to the experienced.

Every member of staff we came into contact with was fantastic, very helpful and were just really lovely people to deal with. Check in was quick and straight forward. We had to wait an hour or so for our room but that was only because we were early, which was fine, just went for a drink and a look around the area. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, and the food was great tasting and the setting idyllic. We stayed three nights and had breakfast at the hotel each morning and they were great.

Things do tend to wrap up early in Malibu around 22.00 but the staff on Reception phoned Nobu for us to establish what time their bar was open to and as they were open until around 23.30, so had a bottle of champagne overlooking the Pacific Ocean, sheer bliss.

So thank you to all the team at Malibu Beach, you were all so approachable and helpful and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We're absolutely delighted that your stay was outstanding, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the food, the drinks, the waves and the view from your room, Carbon Beach Club and even Nobu! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senlis, France
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As I was staying in Venice, I didn't stay in the Inn but had breakfast on the terrace. We weren't the only guests who had come simply for a meal and the unbeatable view of the Pacific. I recommend their Bloody Marys to go with anything on the breakfast menu . It was a memorable moment to sit outside, mild October weather, enjoying the dolphins and the fresh air, right there on the water. I did take a brochure for another visit. (Another plus was valet parking as we drove in.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your enthusiasm for Carbon Beach Club! We're delighted to receive such glowing feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have to the opportunity to welcome you back soon, perhaps even for an overnight stay! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,820 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing