We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best independent hotels or inns!”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Very nice room, beautiful seaview. More than friendly staff and they think with you. Breakfast super nice and top quality. Very useful and good amenities. Location is central for Malibu and also Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten-Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 559 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here in October and loved the hotel, the location is fabulous. The room was great overlooking the sea and was nicely decorated, loved the fact that you had a fireplace, just added that something different to the experienced.

Every member of staff we came into contact with was fantastic, very helpful and were just really lovely people to deal with. Check in was quick and straight forward. We had to wait an hour or so for our room but that was only because we were early, which was fine, just went for a drink and a look around the area. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, and the food was great tasting and the setting idyllic. We stayed three nights and had breakfast at the hotel each morning and they were great.

Things do tend to wrap up early in Malibu around 22.00 but the staff on Reception phoned Nobu for us to establish what time their bar was open to and as they were open until around 23.30, so had a bottle of champagne overlooking the Pacific Ocean, sheer bliss.

So thank you to all the team at Malibu Beach, you were all so approachable and helpful and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're absolutely delighted that your stay was outstanding, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the food, the drinks, the waves and the view from your room, Carbon Beach Club and even Nobu! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As I was staying in Venice, I didn't stay in the Inn but had breakfast on the terrace. We weren't the only guests who had come simply for a meal and the unbeatable view of the Pacific. I recommend their Bloody Marys to go with anything on the breakfast menu . It was a memorable moment to sit outside, mild October weather, enjoying the dolphins and the fresh air, right there on the water. I did take a brochure for another visit. (Another plus was valet parking as we drove in.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your enthusiasm for Carbon Beach Club! We're delighted to receive such glowing feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have to the opportunity to welcome you back soon, perhaps even for an overnight stay! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and recently checked into the Malibu Beach Inn, anticipating a wonderful holiday. The property is right on the beach, and the ocean facing rooms, while small, do not have the traffic noise that other rooms have. Because of that, we upgraded to such a room by paying an additional charge. We were in the room for barely 2 hours, when we received an emergency call from our teen son, telling us that he was involved in a car accident and was on his way to an emergency room. Needless to say, we checked out immediately and rushed to the hospital. Thankfully, our son is OK. Because we were very disappointed that we were not able to enjoy our stay at the inn as we planned. we requested the management whether, given the circumstances, there was anything they could do by way of credit or comp to help us with our next visit. The management's response was negative, directing us to pursue our request for a "concession" with the vendor through whom we purchased our room.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank DanRomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, General Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Mr. Romano,

Thank you for your Review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your input. As we stated in our response letter to you, we are relieved to know your son is doing well and out of harm’s way.

As a third party partnership, we followed the standard protocol in regards to an incident like this and directed you back to Sniqueaway as they would be the venue to handle any type of offering. As far as we are aware, Sniqueaway did refund your money however, if this is not the case please do let us know and we’ll ensure to lodge a phone call to Sniqueaway. We appreciate your understanding in advance.

Most Sincerely,
Malibu Beach Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved our stay here...........Nice large room (101) with fireplace and balcony, large bathroom.
Fabulous seaview. We had breakfast and dinner twice, on the terrace of the restaurant, which also was of very high quality. The only negative point: the stains in the carpet and chair. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maartenmathijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Malibu Beach Inn! It was a pleasure to welcome you to the property, and we're delighted to hear that so many things met or exceeded your expectations. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed in the Malibu Beach Inn for 1 night on route from LA to Santa Barbara. Firstly (and not a fault of the hotel) Malibu beach itself is very narrow and at the time we were there the tide was very high so we couldn't go down to the beach as access was closed. We had a side sea room which was very nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and the balcony view out to the pier was also lovely. For us though there was just something lacking with the hotel. From the outside the entrance to your room is a bit motel like and we had to ask twice for a tray to be removed from outside our room full of food from the previous guests. All things considered for us we felt that the rate we had paid for our 1 night was extremely high considering we had just come from an incredible 5* hotel in West Hollywood where the rate was the same and yet there was no comparison. This is not to say that we would not recommend this hotel but would caution to stay only if you get a good rate. We also had to query our bill on check out as we had been charged for 2 nights rather than just 1. To note too is that there is very little to do in the direct vicinity of the hotel so you'll need a car or to take a taxi to restaurants/other beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We appreciate your constructive feedback and suggestions, as it allows us to learn from your first-hand experience and correct any issues going forward. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Really nice corner suite - was only expecting a room so it was quite a treat to have a lounge area complete with complimentary iPad. Whilst just a partial view of the ocean, view looked on to the pier which was a nice site toward up to.

Great service - attended to my requests in a timely manner and room services each day.

Only negative is I think the pricing is somewhat inflated. I've stayed at equally compelling hotels for a lot less.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony_Smith_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

We're delighted that you had an opportunity to stay with us during your time in the US! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your enthusiasm for our property... we're very happy that you had a lovely time. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,968 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: $416 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing