We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of The Getty Villa

The Getty Villa
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour and 48-hour Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Holiday Hours: Sunday, December 25, 2016 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, December 27, 2016 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Sunday, January 1, 2017 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, January 3, 2017 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM This museum is dedicated to the art of the ancient Greeks, Romans and other classic civilizations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had previously been to the Getty Museum so decided to check The Villa out. You need a few visits to really see it all, but we spent a couple of happy hours there and will return again when we can. Although there is no entrance fee, there is a parking fee of $15, a small price to pay for so many treasures. You also need to pre book your attendance by web as I think they must be controlling visitor numbers, but that prevents over crowding. Mostly the treasures are artefacts rather than paintings etc, but also the building itself and the gardens are beautiful and should not be missed.

Thank TJDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
There are newer reviews for The Getty Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,128 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

If staying in SM tour this wonderful museum. There are no painting [at least when we toured] but the grounds, gardens, collection, docents, locations, price [free] is worth a couple hours. Catch the 10 minute movie during your walk, its worth it.

Thank sunless_n_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a wonderful afternoon we had. 5:00 came too soon! We enjoyed the gardens so much and got so absorbed in the whole experience, we didn't have enough time to see all the exhibits upstairs. Luckily my brother-in-law is a frequent visitor and showed us some of the high points and filled us in on the back-stories. We should have arrived earlier, enjoyed a bite at the cafe which he says is always great, and leisurely explored everything. We had 3 (mature... 50+) adults, 4 20-somethings, and a teen -- and we all enjoyed the Villa and each other. It might be a more difficult visit with young children. There are things of interest to well-rounded children, but for the average (video game/you tube/etc.) generation... they may not be as interested.

When back in the L.A. area I'll definitely go back and finish the visit and try the cafe. I love that you need a parking ($15) reservation because the crowds are held to a reasonable level that way!

Enjoyed a stroll on the beach after the visit too.

Thank 1DerryTreeHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Get tickets on line for a wonderful experience. The grounds are worth the visit alone and the museum makes it even better. No admission charge, but a $15 parking fee per car (not bad). Don't miss the entry gate, just before the intersection or you will have to wrap around and come back up PCH north. The signal lights on PCH are like waiting forever for a green light. The Villa is quiet and just a great place to visit for an educational and quiet experience.

Thank rsth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The buildings and grounds of the Getty Villa are fabulous. You need to make a free reservation and parking is $15. The café was good, but the artifacts were not our favorite (compared to Getty Center). If you enjoy sculpture and vases & urns rather than paintings this is the place for you.

If you have several days in LA to play tourist I highly recommend but if you have to xhoose only one museum choose the Getty Center.

Thank zztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Getty Villa also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing