We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best of the best”
Review of The Getty Villa

The Getty Villa
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Holiday Hours: Sunday, December 25, 2016 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, December 27, 2016 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Sunday, January 1, 2017 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, January 3, 2017 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM This museum is dedicated to the art of the ancient Greeks, Romans and other classic civilizations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best of the best”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Getty Villa is spectacular. It has it all: great art, great architecture, beautiful gardens, and a great place to soak in some culture in the LA area. Make advance preparations if you are going as a group which we did.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinklady007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,409
    367
    67
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So much Greece&Rome in US”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Getty Villa is a very well organized, perfectly set up center dedicated to Greek and Roman antiquities and replicas surrounded by wonderful trees and plants. It was a very good experience of a museum. Set up, light and information about every little section of the museum was very professionally arranged considering the basic necessities of visitors of all ages and physical conditions. Gardens were beautiful and peacefully takes you away from the visitors crowd when you need a time out. Enough, accessible and very clean restrooms. Very satisfying gift shop especially considering the books available. Recommended to all age groups having an interest in antiquities.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BasakSteryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I learned of this museum through Tripadvisor and the reviews were not wrong. Recreating ancient Roman villas sounds like something that might be done in Las Vegas but this was extremely tasteful. The ancient Roman and Greek art was beautiful but the real attractions are the stunning gardens and buildings. We arrived on an overcast and cloudy day and were still impressed with the villa. When the sun finally came out it, we just sat and admired our surroundings.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We drove to the Villa only to find that we were meant to pre-book online for a particular timeslot. However, we were still let in by the friendly guard (I suspect it must have been a quiet day). Parking at $15 is not cheap but it is probably an admission fee in disguise. I was later told by an LA tour guide that the parking fee even has to be paid if someone drops you off at the villa without parking and the only way around is either to walk or to take a bus.

The 12 minute film detailing the history of the villa is also worth watching. While waiting in the queue, we spoke to one of the staff who was very friendly and gave us tips for things to do all over LA as well.

If I were to come back to LA, I would definitely revisit the Getty Villa and perhaps give it 3 hours rather than the rushed 90 minutes we had this time around.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An Excellent Afternoon”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Getty Villa is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon. The museum offers some amazing Greek and Roman artifacts in a very attractive setting. The grounds of the Villa are magnificent and it is really pleasant to spend time in the gardens as well-which happen to face the Pacific Ocean. The museum offers a free self guided tour on an I-Touch (which they provide) and it allows you to either choose a tour or move at your own pace wherever you wish. There are also free guided tours at set times

It is easy and free to get tickets online at their website and there is ample parking in the garage ($15 and can also be used at the nearby Getty Center). There's also a cafe if you are hungry-although we eat at a local Malibu beach restaurant after visiting the villa.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
220 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delightful Reminder of Classical Rome and Greece”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

For us the highlights of the Getty Villa are the building and grounds. We enjoy the exhibits, but the architecture and gardens are pure delight. Our favorite exhibit is the remarkable glass. Look for it because it's a small exhibit and easy to walk by.
Be sure to make a reservation. And plan time to linger in the gardens. They're actually rather contained, but they are well kept and lovely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Getty Villa also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing