We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big city, posh/ritzy restaurant prices and portions”

The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 120 Restaurants in Madera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Italian and American lunches and dinners, USDA Choice Steaks and Seafood. Full bar featuring local wines and beer.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It's the ONLY place in this small town you'll find any type of fine dining so I guess they put on the high prices, and small portions to imitate some big city fancy, upscale restaurant-you know the kind of place-not here, but for example- a 4 oz. steak with a tablespoon of rice and 1 small piece of a vegetable and a sprig of parsley for $22. The Vineyard is the same type of restaurant. Been there once with a friend who is very rich and picked up the tab, thank you. The Vineyard is a gathering place for the well to do+ in this town where they can all get their big fish in a little pond high for the day. The steak I had was tough not med rare as I ordered and the salad was one of the smallest I've ever seen especially for the price of the meal. I mean, if you're going to charge a lot for a meal at least make a decent size salad, what can an extra handful of lettuce cost you?
I imagine all the other glowing reviews here are by the owner, employees or friends of the owner. If you have the $$$ to spend by all means go for it. Btw, you'll pay a pretty penny for drinks or a bottle of wine there as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Sterling4923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berendaranch, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We here at The Vineyard Restaurant sincerely apologize that you did not find your meal acceptable. I would encourage you, should you wish to return to dine with us, if you ever have a problem with your meal or service in the future that you please bring it up with your server or a manager. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and would be more than happy to rectify any issues that you may encounter. It is our goal to serve and use our environment to entertain and create happy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went here with a small group after a meeting. The service was attentive and friendly. Nice wine selection and good bar service. I thoroughly enjoyed my steak with roasted figs and a basalmic reduction--the flavors were perfectly balanced fruity, meaty, salty, and a hint of acid. The risotto was also creamy, flavorful, and satisfying. I highly recommend The Vineyard.

Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berendaranch, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to write us a review and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere as well as your entrée. If your time permits we hope that you'll come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upscale and sumptuous dining. Pleasantly surprised. Wedge salad was so fresh and delicious, pistachio encrusted halibut was yummy, Sirloin was tough, but no one's fault. Great desserts, wine and atmosphere. We'll be back!!

Thank ValMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berendaranch, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at The Vineyard Restaurant and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I eat at The Vineyard often as this is our preferred destination for any work related gathering or entertaining business clients etc. I have never been disappointed by the food here. Nice, spacious restaurant with a bar area and a smaller outdoor seating option. Service is prompt and friendly. Food is delicious and portion sizes are quite generous. Highway 99 runs next to it, so easy access. I would highly recommend this place if you are in the Madera area or just driving up or down 99.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berendaranch, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we're delighted to hear such positive comments about the quality of food and service. Thank you for choosing to visit us here at The Vineyard Restaurant and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

You would never expect "The Vineyard Restaurantt" to be located in Madera, CA it's the gem of
the Central Valley. The classy bar area has a nice elegant and relaxed atmosphere. Not your typical bar with the sports station always blasting. They do have a very nice quiet outdoor patio which we have had the pleasure of sitting at. We usually get the seafood sampler platter which is enough for two people it has calamari, potatoes, arthichokes,etc. very good. I had the braised lamb shank on our first visit and it was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MercedDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berendaranch, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

From all of us here at The Vineyard Restaurant, we thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased that you've enjoyed your experiences with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Vineyard Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing