We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”
Review of Gateway Inn

Gateway Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Madera
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Checked in at 1pm & checked out at 8pm same day because I feared for my safety staying overnight there. Was a large group of men hanging out all afternoon in the parking lot and in front of their rooms, drinking and carrying on and it only got worse as evening came. I decided to get the heck out of there when a few "ladies of the night" showed up and the the group of men followed them to various rooms. This place was loud, scary, and had quite a bit of questionable activity going on. My advice if you have to stay in Madera -- stay across the street at the Holiday Inn Express. I've stayed there twice - nice room, great beds and no scary creatures hanging around day and night. The only reason I booked a room at Days Inn was because I had my dogs with me, but this place was too scary, even for my dogs!!! Called the manager the next day to ask for a refund and after quite a few heated words between us, he agreed to refund me half of my room charge. Another classic case of you get what you pay for....the room is cheap - $55 - but I'd rather pay twice that amount to feel safe and secure. I was scared leaving my vehicle in the parking lot for any length of time not to mention myself.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snapper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2007

Upon arrival we were met by a very unfriendly counterperson, in a not very pleasing lobby. Our room was located upstairs convently located by the stairs (no elevator). Luckily we didn't have much luggage. I knew we were in trouble a soon as we open the door...a musty smell greeted us and a very dirty carpet. The first thing we always check is the bathroom and this one was barely passable (mildew was minimal), but the toilet was clean. The sink was also passible but not the Ritz. Looking up over the clothes rack was a spider web that looked like it had been there since the last century. Most webs are almost clear and hard to see, but this one was black and hanging from the ceiling and wall. The bed also was as old as the building. After a restless night we went down to the lobby for our "complementary breakfast" and found stale donuts and instant coffee. Needless to say, we won't be staying at a Days Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheRoadrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

found this place to be very much a mixed bag...on the plus side location near freeway , nice clean pool and very nice and accomodating staff,,rooms were clean with micro and fridge, but water pressure in shower was laughable , toilet seemed to be threatening to overflow at each use, lawn chairs at the pool looked and felt ancient- the whole place was still generally okay, but needs some tlc to head off further decline.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank houweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2005

I stayed at Days Inn hotel in Madera, CA., just north of Fresno, CA. because I didn't want to stay in Fresno itself. This is an older hotel and the bed was probably the original from 20 years ago. I actually chose to put my air mattress on the floor and sleep on it instead of waking up with a sore back. For $60.00, I wish I would have spent another $30.00 and stayed at the new Holiday Inn Express next door. I'm suprised Days Inn puts its name on this facility. It's in need of a renovation. Starbucks coffee is right next door.

4  Thank huntfish1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank DirkH967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank SebWernli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Clément B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madera hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Madera
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Madera
Knights Inn Madera
#5 of 7 in Madera
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Madera
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madera Yosemite Pk Area
2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Madera
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 2095 West Kennedy Street, Madera, CA 93637-9644 (Formerly Days Inn Madera)
Location: United States > California > Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Madera
Price Range: $68 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Madera
Madera Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing