We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Surprisingly impressed"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Madera

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SpringHill Suites Madera
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madera
Certificate of Excellence
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Surprisingly impressed"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was on my way home from Hwy 4 up north! Honestly the only reason I stopped here, besides being tired, was because one of my favorite restaurant " Black Bear Diner" was in same parking lot. I stay at a lot of hotels on travels. Some would call me a "Hotel snob" and this honestly was the best hotel I have stayed at. For the price this was a nice and happy surprise! The bed was very comfortable and there was lots of space. They even had paper plates and two sets of utensils! I loved the site of the living room and the way the room was set up and decorated. I did not hear noisy during my sleep because I am accustomed to sleeping with ear plugs at hotels to block out any noise and get a good nights sleep! (I recommend this for all who stay at a hotel) I read in another review about the highway noise on the other side of the hotel, this is one reason I recommend earplugs to every traveler.) If I am in the area again I would definitely stay here and recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Away from ice machine, snacks and elevator. I also stay at top level to avoid noise from people upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdygrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    61
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
44
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here from one night not impressed, for a couple of reason. I stayed a couple of months ago. If you are one side of the hotel, you will hear the highway noise (it is fairly load), it may not bother some, but bothers me. I was on that side, and asked to be switched. I had reserved a double bed, and having gold marriott status, ask if there was an upgrade to a king bed on the less noisy side of the hotel. She said yes, but the upgade would cost me $20 more. I said usually if the room is available, Gold status usually gets a complimentary upgrad. She said no, the only thing that gold status gets above silver status is more points. I got to get on the more quite side, but in a double bed.

Later that evening, I printed out the Gold Status benefits for the front desk clerk. She said okay, I will move you, by this time I was already settled. Just unbeliveable the front desk clerk did not know. I don't expect to be upgraded if there is not a room available, but obiviously there was one, because she was going to charge me.

The rooms was nice, as well as the modern look inside of the lobby. Just too close to the freeway for me, and uninformed front desk clerk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IWALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear IWALY,
I am sorry to hear of your frustration during your recent stay. Being that Springhill Suites is an all Suite property, we technically do not have "upgrades" and each of our bed types are priced separately. I appologize for any confusion this may have caused you.

You are right that highway noise can bother some travelers. We occasionally hear this, but more often hear how conveniently located our property is to the highway. Possibly the next time you stay with us, you should request a room nearest Black Bear Diner as those rooms are furthest from the road.

Thank you for your comments. We take every review seriously and use them all to improve our service.

Most Sincerely,

Deanne Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The website describes this hotel as being in a "convenient location near Yosemite National Park". By English standards this hotel is nowhere near, and it took approx 2 1/2 hours of driving along a lot of hairpin bends on mountainous roads to get there, after our visit to Yosemite that day. It was so exhausting that we didn't go back to Yosemite on the second day as planned, but recovered from the journey lounging by the pool all day, which we had exclusive use of.

The hotel itself is very nice, it's just the location. Theres nothing much I can say about Madera itself.

The hotel interior is very stylish, if you like that kind of contemporary minimal look (we do). The bedrooms were very spacious, with an extra sitting area with fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: request a ground floor poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westsussex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Westsussex10,
Thank you for your review! You are correct that our property is not "close" to Yosemite National Park. But as your traveled that georgeous road into the Yosemite valley, I am sure you noticed that there are very few hotels with a minimum of 3 stars along the route. There are several travel lodge style properties and we are one of the closest Marriott's to the park.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our pool area. I hope you will consider staying with again while traveling through California. We are a great mid way stop over!

Thanks again!

Deanne Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back from a weekend in Madera. We stayed at this hotel, and really liked it. Room was very modern and clean. Hallways were nice and bright. Perfect for our little family. Pool was nice, breakfast was plentiful. Recommend for staying at when in town. Close to the freeway too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Peteymom,
Thank you so much for your great review of our property here in Madera. Yes, the Springhill Suites brand by Marriott is a great product. We are truly unique and our staff enjoys hearing from our guests on how much you enjoy the hotel. Please remember us the next time you are traveling through the Central Valley. We are always here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed just 1 night on our way to Disney, and it was great. Nice rooms, clean pool and the boys love having pizza delivered to the room and the large continental breakfast in the morning..the smell of cow manuer from surrounding farms is this hotels only down fall :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillzy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Jillzy888,
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor! We are a great option for those traveling from the top of the state to the other. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and Disneyland!. As far as the scent in the air this time of year, I believe what you may have noticed is the "crush" of the grapes that are currently being harvested. There are no farms with cows near the hotel, but many vineyards. Next time through the Central Valley, you might want to experience some of our local wineries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I recently stayed here for 1 night due to a company event. This is a nice newer hotel in Madera. I think that this hotel serves as a good stop for people travelling to or from Yosemite area. Check in was a breeze. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Modern design. Morning breakfast was decent and sufficient. Also, free internet. There is a Black Bear's diner next door and Fresno is 20 minutes away. Very easy access to highway 99. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Now, Madera may not be one of the social hotspots of California, but this hotel goes a long way in making up for that. A wonderful, spacious room, very well designed with a separate seating ensemble, a desk you can work on while being cut of from distractions by a milkglass wall, a little kitchenette. Real -functioning- hi speed internet, a huge lcd TV which allows you to strea your laptop videos straight to the big screen. A balcony (alas without chairs) offers a place to finish up the evening. True, the view is not inspiring unless you're into trucks. But inside everything is aimed only at your comfort. Even a set of accessible rooms.And that rarity: virtually soundless AC! It was really hard to tear my wife away to our next stop, we even extended our one night stay for another one. If hard pressed for a disadvantage I would admit that Yosemite is a little further away than I would have liked, and the pool and spa are a bit small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lud2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madera Yosemite Pk Area
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
15.2 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#8 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Madera

Property: SpringHill Suites Madera
Address: 1219 East Almond Avenue, Madera, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Madera 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Madera Hotel Madera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing