We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterside Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Dornock B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
1 review
“The Perfect B & B”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful view, right on the water overlooking the Solway. Delicious food, very comfortable accommodations with heated floors and every convenience. Our 2 night stay at The Waterside Rooms provided a needed rest after Hogmanay in Edinburgh.

Our hosts were wonderful and anticipated all of our needs before we even knew them. Great Italian restaurant recommendation in nearby Annan. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you, talking with you and learning more about the real Scotland.

Thank you so much for a delightful stay, Julie and Nic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ephelps127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Oh goodness, thank you both for your very kind words. It was a joy to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We do try to make your stay a special time and it is always lovely when we achieve it. Come back and see us again and stay longer. Julie and Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

After a hectic few days enjoying Hogmanay in Edinburgh, we were due for a few days of relaxation, quiet and recovery. The Waterside Rooms did not disappoint.

Our hosts, Julie and Nic, made us feel so very welcome. Being our first experience at a B&B, we were not quite sure what to expect but I have to say, they really know what they are doing! Everything, from the warm reception upon arrival to the comfort of the beds, the spectacular view of the Solway from the rooms to watching the tide coming and going, Julie's fantastic display of her photography to the fabulous breakfast selection.....we are now converts!

Nic & Jule - thank you so much for letting 'tourists' (a bunch of Canadians and Americans) come into your home and experience the true warmth of Scotland. Our side trip to The Waterside Rooms was absolutely nothing we expected - it was far more, thanks to your hospitality.

Warmest regards,
The North Americans.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
So glad you had a good time with us. It was lovely meeting you all and sharing all our experiences. Julie and I hope you will return for more sometime soon. Thanks for the kind words.
Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

If you prefer the road less travelled and embrace new experience, try the fantastic hospitality of Julie and Nick at the Waterside Rooms, these guys have got it right! a beautiful home, superb accommodation, fixtures and stylish decor (very very clean) with Julie and Nicks own art work gracing the walls, from the moment you arrive you are made to feel totally at ease, with the lovely hosts on hand if you need them and invisible if you don't.
lots of nice little touches to make your stay special (we won't spoil it for you) and a hearty breakfast championing local produce cooked to perfection by your hosts (try Julie's marmalade yummy!)

The house is metres from the waters edge with the most amazing views you really get the Wow Factor in spades! Ruby our 2 year old was totally spoiled by Julie and Nick not forgetting Ming the cat! Wise enough to avoid Ruby's attention. We will be returning very soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank phil63stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
So nice to hear from you again and please accept our thanks for your wonderful comments. We have been so privileged to meet some lovely people through this business and your family was no exception. Some people, you just "click" with! - and you were in this category!!!! Glad you like our place and hope that you will come back soon so we can do it again. We trust you, the family and your mum had a good Xmas and that the New Year will bring you greater success in your business. We await your next visit - don't leave it long! Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Burton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I don't think we've ever enjoyed as warm a welcome as we got at the Waterside Rooms. Nic and Julie welcomed us like friends not just guests and went to great lengths to ensure everything was as we could want. The quality of the rooms is superb and the location is absolutely outstanding - what a view! Add in a lovely breakfast and great coffee and there is really nothing else you could ask for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Manager at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi and than you for your kind words about our small business. We aim to respond to all of our reviews swiftly and somehow I missed yours for reasons which are not now obvious! In any case please accept our apologies for responding well after your comments. We are always very pleased when people enjoy their stay with us - over a year into this venture and Julie still gets emotional about some of the things written about us. So it is always good to hear that we met your needs. Please come see us again sometime. All the best. Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife Erica went to a wedding in Moffat and needed a place to stay. After some internet search we decided to try The Waterside Rooms. What a lovely place! Nic and Julie made us feel at home. Their politeness and attention is rare...i never saw such a great service in my life. Upon arrival we were offered tea from their beatiful garden with an astonishing view. They gave all information we needed about the region and the best tips on how to explore it. Breakfast was great and another highlight was the decoration of the rooms. Lovely details all over the place! In a nutshell: for every single holiday now i ll search for a similar place to stay! Thanks Nic and Julie!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bela-Minas-Gerais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kindness. We also enjoyed your company and hope that you really had a good day at the wedding. You are not far away, so let' hope we have the opportunity to catch up with you both again. All our best and good luck. Nic and julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Me, my husband and 2 kids (3yrs& 10mnths) stayed with Nic and Julie for a weekend (we were over from NI) as our friends were getting married. We had the most wonderful stay, Nic and Julie are fantastic hosts they were great company and fab with the kids making sure that the travel cot was out and sofa bed was out and made up for our eldest boy as they knew we would be home late from the wedding and then they made sure they had something in for the kids for breakfast.
The accommodation was very clean and modern. And we definitely found it very private having our own door to get in and out. Was like a home from home. The homemade shortbread was fantastic treat.
We will definitely be back again.
Ashley and William

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyPoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It was great to meet your family and to hear all about the wedding! You all looked so smart on the day. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback is very touching. Thank You!!!! Come again - would love to see you all back here. Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Waterside Rooms. The location is amazing right by the estuary and the accommodation beautiful. It is so well thought out and was perfect for our stay.

We were treat so well by Nic and Julie and they really made us feel at home! The breakfast was delicious and they really catered well for our little boy who is nearly 2. He loved running around the garden and they had some toys which he enjoyed playing with.

There are lots of places to explore and we went to Annan, a dinosaur park and lots of beach and play ground visits. We had a really lovely time.

We would highly recommend the Waterside Rooms for anyone visiting this area. It's amazing and we hope to return there in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasure27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Julie and I are lucky enough to have this small business where we can concentrate on trying to get most things right for guests - so it is lovely when we hear that you have enjoyed your stay (and taken the trouble to tell the world about it!)
We hope you will all come see us again, as we also enjoyed your company! Thanks!

Nic and Julie at the Waterside Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornock
2.8 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
5.6 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Rooms

Property: The Waterside Rooms
Address: Dornock Brow | Near Annan, Dornock, Annan DG12 6SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan > Dornock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dornock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside Rooms are located by the edge of the Solway Estuary near Annan. We are very near the border and A74/M6 motorway being a useful stop over point. Our one Suite is luxurious and will sleep two in comfort or four for friends or family sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waterside Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing