We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only problem with my stay was that it had to end!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Reviewed September 20, 2009

When we first got there, they had our room reservation wrong (two queen sized beds instead of one king sized), but within a minute they had it sorted out and they got us the right room. All the staff were all very nice and helpful.

The room itself was beautiful and had everything we needed. The bed was quite comfortable - it was slightly firm for me but I think I like a softer bed than the average person so most people would probably really like the beds here. The only slight problem we had with the room was that my boyfriend is very tall (6'6") and found the shower to be too small. Normally he has to sort of crouch down to get his head wet under most normal showers, but since the space for the shower was quite small, this was a bit awkward for him. For me it was just fine.

We had dinner at the steakhouse restaurant that was in our building. I'd recommend that you make a reservation even though we made it in without one. It was fantastic food. There was a live piano player providing soft music. It was really a perfect part of our romantic evening.

The continental breakfast that was included with our stay was really good too. Nice moist banana bread. Sweet and delicious cinnamon buds. Good coffee. Fresh fruit. They had everything you could want.

The hot tub felt really nice. I think it's salt water instead of chlorine so it was really nice on the skin. It was nice that you could sit in the hot tub either inside or outside depending on how you felt. The regular pool looked very nice as well though I didn't actually go in it.

I didn't actually do any shopping while we were there but I was surprised at how many stores were in the main building of the lodge.

Next time we visit, we'll definitely be staying longer. One night was just not long enough at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calgarygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2009

We've been coming back here for the last 4 years to celebrate Canada Day with our family. There are several activities for the kids the resort provides in celebration of Canada's birthday to keep them busy for the full day.
This year we chose to stay in the "Signature Club." It was gorgeous and we'll always stay there from now on. The upgrated ametities, free o'dourves & continental breakfast made it well worth it.
The pool, hot tub, grounds, spa are all wonderful. The one and only complaint I would have is the games room, it's down by the indoor parking garage, very small & stuffy. The games, if they work at all, are in need of repair or complete replacement.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I were guests at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, located about 1-1/4 hours' drive west of Calgary, Canada. Our stay was from 7/05 - 7/12. We exchanged our timeshare thru RCI to do this first-time stay at this resort.

Upon check-in, we requested and received an upgrade to the "Signature Club" building (there are three lodging buildings in the resort)--which supposedly is for adults-only. About half-way thru our stay, we were surprised and disappointed to learn that one or two families were now also staying on our same floor (and they'd let their kids run screaming down the hall, talk very loudly near the elevator where our room unfortunately was located). On a positive note, we also requested and received a complimentary upgrade to a "Loft" suite from our regular "hotel" room type reservation. I called the property the week before our arrival to request this upgrade, and spoke with the front desk person, "James" and he said he'd charge us $75 for this upgrade. I said we'd think about it and discuss it at check-in. Key benefits of staying at the Signature Club include the nice complimentary Continental breakfast each morning, newspapers, and at night, a complimentary evening reception with hors' oeves and wine. Breakfast was a treat in the Club's general area complete with wood-burning fireplace in action each morning....

The "Loft" was pretty nice and spacious and reasonably well-maintained. The room contained a small dorm-size refrigerator but no microwave or kitchen-area, so that was disappointing but I was told that none of the rooms/lodging featured any kitchen facilities (something most timeshares feature as a key selling point!). Our Loft had a lower level that contained a nice full bathroom w/ jacuzzi tub, a wood-burning fireplace (the lodge even provided the first two "logs" for free!), a small living room and small desk area great for computer work, along with a TV. The air conditioner in our room did not work initially but the housekeeping staff came by to fix it the 3rd day of our stay. The upstairs of our Loft featured the one bedroom-area (not private off the lower floor) with a king-sized bed and small full bath that only contained a nice large, glass enclosed shower. The house-keeping staff replenished generously in both bathrooms each day the large variety of spa products (shampoo, sun screen, bath gel, etc.) which were great and wonderful to take home as a reminder of the trip.

The grounds of this resort were very well maintained and are located smack in the middle of wilderness (there is a golf course nearby and horseback riding and that's about it). The nearest town featuring any shopping, decent-sized grocery stores, and a good selection of restaurants is the charming town of Canmore--about a 40-minute drive from the resort. The resort itself houses some 5 or so restaurants on-site, but all restaurants are not open every night--they rotate--but guests are given a list upon check-in that tells you what night each restaurant was open. We dined at two of the restaurants--the bar/grill pub a close walk from our building (loud, okay food, fairly expensive ($14/burger + fries), expensive drinks ($7/margarita + $6/beers) and at the nice steakhouse located in our building (again, expensive (entrees between $38-45) but wonderful food/excellent service/nice ambiance (worth it for a one-night splurge in dining on property at the resort). The resort also features room service but we did not take advantage of this.

The grounds feature very nearby excellent hiking trails, a baseball field, a hockey rink, etc. We did not see any bears while out hiking near the resort but did find the bear claw marks on a large tree (marking its territory)--only about a 5-minute walk from our building! The resort also has a nice spa on property with widely available services, a nice eucalyptus steam room (free), dry hot sauna (free), small but interesting indoor pool that connected to a small outdoor pool, and a small hot tub.

The Signature Club's house-keeping staff was excellent and a really neat feature of this property (a first for me) was the card they left in the room each night that let guest pick a time-frame in which they'd like their room cleaned the next day (for example, between 8:00 - 11:00 AM, 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, etc.). This is a GREAT feature and I wish all resorts/hotels could follow suit.

For other neat activities reasonably nearby, includes the world-famous ski town of Banff (about an hour's drive from the resort) with nearby (another 15-minute drive) extraordinary Lake Louise. The Fairmont's Banff Spring's resort is also world-class and is worth a walk-thru just to experience the beautiful property. We had dinner there one night (again, top-notch though expensive--about $150/dinner for two with only one glass of wine for each of us). Banff also features quite a few nice restaurants at different price points, quaint shops, and is a nice walking town where you can park the car and walk the few blocks to people-watch, etc. A rental car is an absolute MUST when visiting the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis (if you do not drive in with your own vehicle). The Lodge features valet parking at a crazy $24/day or something but is totally unnecessary as the nearby self-parking lot was only a 2-minute walk from our building (free). There is also underground parking available (for a fee) which would probably be a must during winter but was nearly empty during our summer visit. There are nice underground walk-ways that connect all buildings to the main Lodge building where the pool + spa are located/which is nice if the weather is bad outside.

If you are a dog-lover, we highly recommend visiting the Canmore Snowy Owl Dog-Sledding Company which offers wonderful tours of their kennel containing some 80+ sledding dogs of 5 different sledding breeds. You can also do a "summer" dog-sled tour and in the winter, learn how to dog-sled, etc. The owners here and staff are marvelous (hi to Carlin + Ethan!) and couldn't have been more professional and nice. They also carefully allow a few dog adoptions out to good homes (for the retired older dogs, etc.) but must meet with you in person, etc. before they'll consider letting you adopt a dog. My husband and I are in the process now of adopting a sweet 4-year old female ("Cricket") into our home here in the U.S. (She'll fly one-way from Calgary to O'Hare at our expense). We cannot wait to have her join our family!

Another MUST thing to do in the area is to drive north of Banff (you have to drive thru the National Park @ $18/day visitor fee--pretty steep but you can also instead purchase a yearly-pass at about $100/car which would make sense if you'd planned to drive to Banff and north 4-5 times at least. Be sure to visit the unusual Jasper-area ICEFIELDS where you can pay about $48/person to be shuttled up a large glacier and walk around on the 1,000-foot thick glacier for a once-in-a lifetime experience.

Wildlife? We saw two bears while driving to the Icefields very close to the highway (tthere are frequent signs warning of drivers to watch out for wildlife!). Just outside of the Lodge resort one night coming back from dinner in Camore, we saw a large herd of elk (15-20) for another once-in-a lifetime experience. They are beautiful and I think more interesting than deer. Also in Banff--be sure to do the Banff Gondola ride! Very nice though pretty scary if you don't like heights/but is very safe. Once at the top of the summit, you can get out and walk up a easy-to-navigate boardwalk for about 1/2 mile up to another excellent & safe summit for marvelous views of the mountains and Bow Springs river area where much wildlife apparently like to stay during the winter months.

The Rocky Mountains that surround the area of Kananaskis are really the most beautiful I have seen anywhere (and I have traveled extensively throughout the U.S., the Caribbean, and parts of Mexico, and Japan). What really helps someone take in the breathtaking scenery is that there are wide expanses of meadow/valleys with large crystal-clear turquoise blue/green lakes and streams.

Our week in this lovely area ended all too soon. Upon check-out, we noticed the $75 charge on our bill for the Loft "upgrade". I politely asked them to remove this charge and they did so quite willingly without any fuss. We recommend you allow plenty of time when returning to the Calgary airport to allow about 20 minutes to get thru the Customs-clearing. They did not open our suitcases or anything and were very polite. Overall, the Canadian locals were VERY friendly, polite, and helpful (much more so than in quite a few other countries we've visited). We definitely plan on returning to this area and highly recommend the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis. Overall, this vacation was in the top 5% we have done in the past 20 years.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband's company hosts an annual conference for his board members and some of his staff. We have stayed at many of the resorts in Banff, Jasper and Kananaskis. The Delta Lodge has become a favorite not only for ourselves, but for all of the attendees and their families.

The staff are the most friendly, helpful, and always happy to help out. We always enjoy talking the the staff who come to work at the hotel and to enjoy the Alberta hospitality.

We cannot say enough to the staff. Of course, we always enjoy our room, the views, the amazing food, and the wonderful hikes we take.

My only complaint would be the very small portions of food that were served at the Italian restaurant. My boys thought the portions were a "joke". Make sure that you order appies and an extra bottle of wine, otherwise you will definitely be asking for more complimentary bread with your very tiny meal size.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawaiibaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our group of six ladies planned our annual getaway to Kananaskis this year. We had a simply wonderful weekend!

We had booked a loft room. There were two queen size beds in the loft, plus a queen size pull-out couch on the main floor. The room was clean and well-appointed. The staff were eager to please, quickly responding to our call for more glasses. The greeters out front were friendly and knowledgeable, as were the front desk staff.

Kananaskis is a wilderness location, full of kilometres of trails for all ability levels, with beautiful scenery, too. After a good supper in the Bighorn Lounge on Friday night (only ruined by the loud, drunk boor at the next table), we had a leisurely stroll along the village rim trail. Some of the ladies in our group used the well-appointed workout facilities, the wonderful pool and hot tub, and the tennis courts.

There are complimentary hotel-organized activities for which you can sign up. Our group signed up for the day hike to Siffleur Falls. When we showed up in the lobby to go on the hike, many others who hadn't signed up also appeared. There were twice as many wanting to go on the hike as the van could accommodate. The hotel added a second hike to accommodate all the people interested. The hike was on fairly easy terrain at a comfortable place with a very knowledgeable guide - the woman also owns the outfitters store in the Village of Kananaskis, and really knew her stuff!

Our Saturday night meal at Grappa was really outstanding. The wait staff were knowledgeable about the menu items and wine selections. The portions were reasonably sized, so that with an appetizer and dessert, we were not stuffed but rather pleasantly full.

The shopping in the hotel is great. There are clothing boutiques, an art store, and a couple of gift shops.

I hope to go back and spend some time at the spa (an Aveda spa). For golfers, the Kananaskis golf course is very highly rated. This would also be a great family getaway, as lots of the activities are geared at kids. In winter, there is a skating rink close by, and also world-class skiing. I highly recommend the Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Have stayed at the Delta Kananaskis a few times now (in winter and summer), and will continue to visit annually. Located in quaint village of Kananaskis, it's 1 of 2 hotels available. Dog-friendly hotel (a must for us) with decent indoor pool, fitness centre, indoor/outdoor hot tub, and many great restaurants and shops. Stayed in a suite most recently which had a giant bedroom with large jacuzzi and separate TV/living room, perfect for the kid(s) and dog. Speaking of kids, expect a lot of them to be staying in the hotel during most times of the year.

Not a lot 'to do' per se in the village, but if you're into hiking, biking, skiing, etc., it's a great spot to be at any time of year. Friendly and very helpful staff too.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbandbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Only the view from our balcony surpassed the friendly and efficient service we received during our stay. This was definitely one of the most pleasant vacations we've ever experienced!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kananaskis Country hotels
14.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
14.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
9.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
#20 of 32 in Kananaskis Country
392 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
15.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge

Address: 1 Centennial Drive, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#6 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#10 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range: $169 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of the Canadian Rockies by treating yourself to an unforgettable getaway at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge. Showcasing an incomparable location in gorgeous Kananaskis Village along with a wealth of first-class amenities, our resort hotel in Kananaskis, Alberta Canada delights business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Lodge At Kananaskis
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing