We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pet friendly weekend getaway.. but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Pet friendly weekend getaway.. but...”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a great weekend away at the Delta. We booked the entire thing on airmiles, hotel room, and with gift cards for meals. If we would have had to had paid for the weekend I dont think it would have been worth it. The location is absolutely beautiful, and the fact that our dog was allowed was a huge plus. There are some positives, but there were also some negatives.

We loved Woody's pub, had some pub fare and a drink it was wonderful. We loved walking around the property and on the trails into the forest. The out door hot tub was pretty nice too.

We didn't really like the spa. They boast an outdoor hottub and a eucalyptus steam room. I assumed that it would be a private area for spa goers, but in fact this is open to the public. We did have great massages tho.

Also the rooms were HOT. It was warm during the day but it cooled off quite a big outside, but the rooms stayed hot and stuffy. Others were complaining about this too.

The hotel is a little out dated. To give them credit they do know this and have started a massive renovation project.. it is needed.

Fireweed grille, I would say is very overpriced for what you get. I don't mind paying for a good meal, but this just was not worth the money.

Some of the servers really put us off, we went to get a cocktail before dinner, and we had the RUDEST and SLOWEST waitress ever. Put us in a pretty bad mood for our fancy dinner that we had later.

However, the fancy restuarant Grappa is amazing and definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms are hot. SIgnature Club has air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgaryknowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and gives us the opportunity to make changes and/or adjustments to constantly improve our offerings and services.

We want all of our guests to have exceptional service experiences and are very sorry that this was not the case for you. I would like to apologize for the poor service you received in the lounge and have relayed your comments to the appropriate management for internal review.

We want to thank you for staying at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in future.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    373
    176
    85
    42
See reviews for
391
342
17
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband, two daughters and I recently stayed at the Delta Kananskis. Upon arrival we asked for a room upgrade and were granted one free of charge...nice start. the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff that we had interactions with were all fantastic and extremely friendly.

Somehow, I left my cell phone there. When we called, a wonderful woman named Shawny from housekeeping found it and offered to bring it to Calgary that night since she was going to be there meeting a friend. That is, by far, the most exceptional service I have ever received!

We would stay there again in a heartbeat...and were sorry to only have one night there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us and happy that one of our staff were able to get your phone back to you.

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The delta Hotel at Kananaskis website is misleading. The nearby golf course is closed due to flood damage. Most of the hiking trails, the bike path and scenic drives are not functional due to flooding and repairs are not likely to be complete this year. The hotel complex itself is fully functional and well appointed but not worth the price with limited activities available within 50 km or so. Pubs are open only in the late afternoon/evening and one restaurant during the day. The tennis court, a very short bike path, playground and pool are available. That's all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good...just too expensive for limited things to do.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We offer many activities at the resort with areas for tennis, volleyball, horseshoes, campfires, baseball or basketball and have family movie nights, games, a full range of spa services, several shops, an indoor pool and an indoor / outdoor hot tub. While it is true that the golf course is not open for the remainder of this year due to unfortunate circumstances, it is only one of many activities available in the Kananaskis area.

In addition, many of our partners in the valley are open for trail rides, whitewater rafting, heli-tours and bike rentals. Fishing and bird watching can be done at several locations in Kananaskis Country. While we recognize that not all trails are open, the list of trails is increasing rapidly and there are still several options for our guests. Like many places in Southern Alberta, our area was affected by the floods and we are working diligently to restore the valley to its original grandeur.

Hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you again over the summer months as we will have more and more options available to you and our other valued guests.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

For Christmas we gave our adult kids and our parents a stay at the Delta Kananaskis. We just got back from three glorious days there.The staff were wonderful and have been well trained in customer service. The views from the rooms and from our balcony were second to none. The rooms are dated but updates are on their way. The meals were iffy...some were great and some not so good but the service was very good. One suggestion I would make is to have more regular cleaning of the hot tub. We love the indoor outdoor hot tub but in the afternoon there were at least ten dead flies floating in the pool. All in all, it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller4lifeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. Our Executive Chef and Spa & Engineering / Maintenance Teams will be working to address your concerns and we thank you for giving us the heads up.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

"Come Hell or High Water" is an expression that you will hear throughout southern Alberta after the great floods. Albertans are very strong people and have great pride in their province, they will recover. Kananaskis Country was developed over 35 years ago with Heritage Trust money. If you have never been to Kananaskis, you have missed something. Kananaskis will never be the same and it will take many years to recover. Many of the trails are closed and the golf courses are destroyed.

Having said all that, we were just at the Kananaskis Lodge (July 9). The Lodge its self has not been touch and you are able to get back into the hotel area without any problems. The site is fine. When you arrive you will see next to no damage in the area from the floods. We were able to hike up to Troll Falls, which is very close to the hotel - yes there has been some damage but it does not effect the hike. If you travel south down the road from the Delta the road is closed due to the flood.

My husband and I stay at the Delta often; it is one of our favorite places to go and to get away from life. We find ourselves back in this area at least 3 times a year. The hotel is very relaxing and the country site is breath taking. There are areas of the hotel that they are updating and repairing. This was the site during the 1988 Winter Olympics where the athletes stayed. This is a great place for families. Bring your bikes - the trails close to the hotel are open and the pool area is a hit. I would suggest bringing along extra bottles water and a few snacks for the kids.... the hotel is very expensive. The evenings get cool because you are in the mountains so bring warm clothes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciated you taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were here for a wedding, first of all the hotel screwed up the seating list. Two guests came for the wedding and when they didn't see their names they turned around and left missing the wedding. Our room had no toilet paper and had someone else's long black hair all over the floor. To top it all off the morning after checking out we went to the fireweed grill for breakfast where the meals for half of our table were forgotten and the meals that did come out were cold.

For the price you pay between the rooms and the restaurant it is most certainly NOT worth the money. Save yourself the time and money, go to Banff or Jasper.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgill1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent visit.

I am very sorry to hear of your experiences and want you to know how important your feedback is to us. We want all of our guests to enjoy exceptional cleanliness and service and we have obviously dropped the ball. I have discussed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and Director of Food & Beverage for internal review so that we can eliminate these types of concerns in future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and frustration you experienced.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you another time to show you what you should have experience the first time.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We happened to be in Kananaskis during the flood in summer 2013-we stayed at Delta Lodge for 3 nights. They, in my daughters words, treated us like 'royalty.' They hotel and grounds are beautiful. But the service, communication on the situation, road conditions, flights, etc...that is what really stood out. I hadn't intended on spending our vacation like this but when the unexpected happens, it made it a lot easier to be in such a great place that put the guests comfort and safety as their top priority! I would recommend this place to anyone...planning on going back multiple times in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii-Chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

While the circumstances of your stay with us at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis were not ideal, we truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review to submit to TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to be welcoming our guests back and look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kananaskis Country hotels
14.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
9.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,010 reviews
15.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
13.9 mi away
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
#19 of 33 in Kananaskis Country
360 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Address: 1 Centennial Drive, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#7 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#10 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of the Canadian Rockies by treating yourself to an unforgettable getaway at the Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge. Showcasing an incomparable location in gorgeous Kananaskis Village and a wealth of first-class amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Lodge At Kananaskis
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing