We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Escape.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Escape.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night and were thrilled to learn we were upgraded to signature club. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We had a lovely view.

Took full advantage of the pool and hot tub. The changing facilities were a bit limited and after a day of heavy use were in need of cleaning.

Food was good but not exceptional. Found the food and wine prices to be a bit high. $17 for a glass of Sauvignon blanc is pricey.

Concierge and front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

It was a nice place for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your "mini-escape" from the city and would like to express our thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    385
    184
    91
    51
See reviews for
412
363
20
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were a couple with 3 kids and grandparents. Stayed in the basic room with adjoining door to the grandparents. The hotel went all out for the easter estravaganza. There were many activities for the kids. Our oldest took in the magic show both Friday and Saturday night. They had face painting and tatoos all three days we were there for the kids. Bouncy castle was a nice extra in the ballroom where we had the buffet both nights. During the day we took in some of the easter events like finger puppet making, basket making etc. They really do cater to kids and families. Children under 6 eat for free. The Easter brunch was fabulous as it always is, with lots of variety and something for everyone.
Had lunch at the fireweed grill one day and bit disappointed, food not great.

We used the pool one day which was nice and clean and kids had fun.
Rooms were clean, be aware this is a pet friendly hotel, if you have allergies be cautious. Not just small dogs but large ones also.
Bathroom was a bit small to move around in. Beds were comfy but the mattress pad(or shall we say tiny tiny pad that covered only a portion of the bed)was in need of replacing. The sheets were not fitted sheets and appeared to be too small as anytime you rolled over the sheets came with you. Frustrating that the mattress was always exposed which was a bit disgusting.

Outside pathways and environment was great as always. Lots of hiking and things to do around resort area.

Never used the spa.
Service from staff was great.
Coffee shop was good but busy and needing more tables and space for people to sit.

Overall a great easter weekend. The lodge deserves great applause for the kids activities (easter egg hunt, bunny bedtime stories etc) they went all out. Would stay here again. Excellent for families and people who love being in the outdoors.

Room Tip: stay in the lodge not the manor as most of the amenties are here, that way you do not need to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cold_Calgarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed the Easter weekend with us and the activities offered. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Though the room that we stayed at may have appeared to be outdated, the service and staff at the hotel were awesome. The location was great, close to ski hill and nature trails. The staff at the restaurants on site were exceptional. The front desk staff were helpful and set us up with our ski passes, and there was a shuttle to take you to and from the ski hill. I am looking forward to returning with the whole family next year for another ski trip.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi suite has a separate living area with pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis and appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your trip on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first time in the Kananaskis area. We traveled with our two teenaged kids and our friends with 3 teenaged kids. Everyone had a great time. We made use of the family ski package which is an awesome deal if you have a few skiers in your family.

Pros: With the snow-covered mountains all around you, the setting is gorgeous. There are trails to explore, either by foot or cross-country ski or snowshoe (equipment rental is available on site). All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful, from the doormen to the front desk, restaurant, spa, and shop workers. With one exception, we found the restaurant food to be excellent. We dined at the Bighorn Lounge, Obsessions Deli, Grappa and ordered from the in-room dining menu. Obsessions always served up great tasting food and Starbucks coffees. Grappa was excellent - maybe a bit pricey but we felt a decent value. Nice place for a parent's night out without the kids! My wife visited the spa for a massage and mani/pedi and really enjoyed it. The indoor/outdoor feature of the hot tub was very nice, although I would have liked the water to be hotter. Shuttle service to Nakiska was efficient and reliable. The trip takes only a few minutes and you can store your gear in a room by the front desk.
We found the bed to be very comfortable and got a great night's sleep every night.

Cons: There were a few cons, but all minor ones.
The first place we ate was at the Bighorn Lounge. The food here was disappointing, especially for the price. Three of us ordered the hamburger ($16) and it was dry and fairly tasteless. For that price, I expected a lot better. This experience put us off a bit, but every other dining experience was wonderful (although we did not return to Bighorn).
Overall, the decor is a bit dated but in good condition. This resort is about due for a renovation and we were informed that a reno is upcoming.
Lastly, not really a con, but if you want to have some of your own food/drink on-hand to take to the slopes or on a hike, buy it before you get there. The nearest place to shop at non-resort prices is in Canmore - about 40 minutes away.
Overall, a great experience - we would return for another ski vacation or perhaps a golf vacation in summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. We got one by chance and the view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and had the chance to take in some good skiing.

It was disappointing, however, to hear about your experience in the Big Horn Lounge and I have relayed your concerns to our Food & Beverage and Bars Teams for internal review. We want all of our guests to enjoy great food and service and your feedback is invaluable to us in determining where we need to make adjustments or changes. Please accept our apologies.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Pros- close to ski hill, nice spacious rooms, outdoor hot tub, jacuzzi suite was amazing, good service and lots of restaurants to choose from

Cons- grappa restaurant was bland and overpriced. Definitely would not recommend eating here. Rooms are also dated.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is def worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amscott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

While it was great to note the "pros" of your stay, it was disappointing to know that your meal in Grappa was lacking. We want all of our guests to enjoy exceptional culinary dining and your feedback is extremely valuable to us so that appropriate changes or adjustments can be made to our offerings. I have, therefore, forwarded your concerns to our Executive Chef for internal review; please accept our sincere apologies.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Amazing location. That's why you are staying here. The hotel itself is a 4 star but you aren't thinking about that because you are outside the entire time! The staff was helpful with planning our day trips and the food was great when we ate there. We were out and about the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us and had the chance to spend your time taking in our beautiful Kananaskis playground.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you plan a vacation across the border!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What can I say ... except wonderful! We've been coming to Kananaskis pretty much since it opened for the Olympics and I'm glad to say that it's still great! We spent a couple of days in complete relaxation ... resisted the slopes for a couple of marvelous days instead, of walking, reading, and relaxing in the spa + pool area. Very glad to say that Delta has done a good job of maintaining the property since its acquisition from Fairmont. Decor somewhat dated, but well maintained (I do hear that renovations are in the works?). We were upgraded to the hotel (Signature Club) which was really nice, and simply adored the bed ... certainly comparable to Westin's heavenly bed! The balcony was very much appreciated. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margoloves2travel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay with us at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are very happy to confirm your comment that renovation plans are well underway. We expect to begin the process in the Signature Club building in the next couple of months and look forward to our guests experiencing the final product.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for another mini-vacation in the near future!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kananaskis Country hotels
14.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
14.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
9.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
526 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
14.9 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Address: 1 Centennial Drive, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#7 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#10 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of the Canadian Rockies by treating yourself to an unforgettable getaway at the Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge. Showcasing an incomparable location in gorgeous Kananaskis Village and a wealth of first-class amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Lodge At Kananaskis
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing