We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, both times!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed at stone nakota two times now. The service is excellent. Lenie and kiana at the front desk were especially helpful and courteous. The casino was lots of fun and the packages are a great deal. Highly recommend this resort. Best service in Alberta.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 384 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino Oct 4-6 2013 for the second time. The first time we stayed was October 2010.
The resort itself was very clean, the rooms are quite spacious with a bathroom that has a large tub and a free standing shower. The first time we stayed we had a room with a fireplace - it was so nice and relaxing to just chill out in front of the fireplace on a beautiful fall day; that room category was not available so we stayed in a standard room which was very nice as well.
The beds are VERY comfortable - the mattress is amazing, the duvet is awesome and the pillows were the best that we have ever stayed on in a hotel/motel/resort. This resort is very accessible to Kannanaskis Village, Canmore and Banff - great for hiking, walking, shopping and taking in the fresh mountain air. We spent some time in the lounge and casino area. The first time we stayed they had a live band in there - that was a lot of fun ... the second time there was no entertainment - but we still enjoyed ourselves. We ate at the buffet restaurant for their seafood buffet .... it was amazing with many options to choose from

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunworshipperAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from Calgary just for fun. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were elegant and spacious. As a really nice bonus, a staff member stopped us to let us know we qualified for a discount on our room since we were using the casino. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to use the pool as it closed before we decided to leave the casino. The pub atmosphere inside the casino was really nice as well. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyLauM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The area was beautiful around the hotel. It was close to banff and that was why we stayed there. Wish I could say better things about the lazy staff. I informed them I saw a dirty item in the hallway and they never took care of it. It was there for 2 whole days and even the room service staff bypassed it.
The person checking us in was nice and helpful and I am sure if I had told him about the item he would have taken care of it. Still grossed me out. The room was nice and so was the bed. Next time I'd prefer a holiday inn.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JetsetSkyDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stopped at the casino a few times and decided to stay 1 night on our way to BC. We booked a play and stay package from their website. At $158 it was not a bad deal for 1 night, $40 in chips, and 2 breakfast coupons for $6. Free internet. Pool with water slide and hot tub.
We stayed on the 1st floor in a king room with mountain view. The ceilings were very tall (about 12 feet) and the room was spacious and clean. Very quiet. Comfortable bed and pillows. Large bathroom with soaker tub and separate shower. Safe. Bar fridge and coffee maker.
Friendly front desk staff.
We definitely will stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz730053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

stayed here for the horseback riding package available. Place is fairly new but not kept all that clean and needs some repairs already. the room was decent but hallways and foyer seem dingy. The casino floor was a ghost town which you don't see very often at a casino. Good sleep because it is a quiet place. the free breakfast was pretty good, cost extra for eggs/bacon ect. Not a bad experience but will stay elsewhere next time out that way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just booked one night for the end of a weekend away.
This was my choice as the pool looked nice!
The checkin was swift and they had our booking in the system from bookme.
Our room was lovely and had a nice view of the mountains from the 3rd floor.
We went to the indoor pool which was completely to ourselves :-)
It was warm enough and the spa pool was nice and hot.
The water slide was great and we had heaps of fun.
We got hungry so went all out and for just $24.99 each we had the steak and lobster buffet.
Awesome food!! The salmon, prawn skewers and lobster tails were my favourite. The roast beef was cooked beautifully and they had yorkshire puddings too. Heaps of variety and kids food too.
Desserts were nice - I had sticky date and lemon merangue pie.
We did think some cream or pouring custard would have gone well with dessert though.
We would definately return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kananaskis Country hotels
13.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananas...
#12 of 32 in Kananaskis Country
1,183 reviews
11.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,144 reviews
14.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
15.0 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino

Address: 888 Nakoda Way | Morley, Alberta T0L 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Price Range: $84 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to Kananaskis Country and 40 minutes east of Banff. Stoney Nakoda Resort is a full service hotel,complimentary buffet breakfast,full service restaurant, sports lounge and casino. Guest rooms offer complimentary High speed internet access (Telus Optik) and 42 inch TVs. Free surface parking and space for over sized vehicles. Ask about our seasonal adventure packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Nakoda Hotel Kananaskis Village
Stoney Nakoda Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing