We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundance Lodges
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$77
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$140
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$122
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Canmore(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE(Dead Man's Flats)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Canmore(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$99
Blackstone Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Georgetown Inn(Canmore)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
27
11
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
11
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrading postkerosene heaterprivate campgroundfree showerscamping experiencecovered decktrapper's cabinclean bathroomless than an hourbeautiful scenerya great staytrapperstentlanternspicnicfirewoodcampsite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 48 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Camped here with a large group of teenage kids. The adults stayed in a trappers hut and the kids pitched a tent next to the hut. We have been camping in K-country for 20 years and keep coming back. This place has a full communal bathroom with hot showers and flush toilets and a store that has everything you need like fresh brewed coffee and ice cream for the kids. The kids especially enjoyed the sand volleyball court. Great place for family or group as there is lots of wide open spaces.

Room Tip: Check the map online to choose your site.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I came here on Labor day and I guess all the other campers had gone home already so we had most of it to ourselves. Perfect timing. I was really surprised at how nice the trapper tents were, how clean everything was, how private the sites felt and how great the service was. The little store there rented us a stove and lantern for very little $ - fuel included. Every day they came to make sure we had fuel for our tent heater.. didn't need it. The immediate surrounding areas as well as upper and lower Kananaskis lakes.. Amazing. You could spend a month here and be really comfortable and still only scratch the surface of what there is to see in this area. Wow! Hope to return every year. Oh and the staff at Sundance were really really nice and helpful. I've stayed at some swank and highly regarded lodges and think a few of them should come here and take notes. This is what people want. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Loved the trapper tents. There didn't appear to be any "bad" sites.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank figgymoonpowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We are originally from Calgary but have been living in Indonesia for the last year and we have really missed camping in the Kananaskis mountains. We were back in Calgary for a quick trip in early September and my boyfriend surprised me with a night in one of the tipis. All of our camping gear is in storage in Calgary but Sundance Lodges offers all the supplies you need to have a great trip. They have bedding, cooking utencils (everything you will need, such as plates, pots, etc), and a cooler for you to store your food. The only thing they didn't have was chairs but a picnic table is provided at each site.

I was worried that I would get cold at night, but we rented an extra duvet to put under us and that in addition to the heater in the tipi kept me very warm throughout the night and it dipped down to 2 degrees the night we were there. The tipis have decent beds in them and can accommodate up to 4 people - at least in the tipi we were in.

Sundance Lodges also offers trappers tents and regular camping sites where you can put up your own tent. All the campsites are well situated with enough space in between for privacy. There is also a river that flows behind the campground and you are surrounded by beautiful mountains.

The bathrooms were very clean and the offer hot water showers at no charge. The tipis were a little pricey but not too bad if only staying a night or two. The wood was also very pricey, but we've been to many campgrounds in the area and they all charge a ton!

We really enjoyed our stay at Sundance Lodges and will definitely come back to stay in one of the tenting sites when we move back to Calgary in a year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank weluv2travelabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked a big tipi and brought a small tent, which we pitched next to the tipi. The sites are great and private! Campfire and picnictable complete the perfect picture. The mothers Grizzly with 2 cubs (2km away) and Black bear with 1 cub (1 km away) provided the 'extra' touch to camping in Bear Country. Campsite is clean and quite (most of the time), the washrooms are very well maintained.
It's a shame that some 'guests' behave like pigs... but I guess that's 'human'?

Great hikes and scenic drives in the immediate surroundings. Canmore is great for shopping and only 35 minutes away.

If I have to complain, I can only think of one thing and that's the price of the firewood... but that's really all there's to complain about!

Thank you very much for a great stay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivanveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed in a tipi with my 6 year old son. He loved it! What a great experience! The staff was fantastic, the facilities were clean and well maintained, the river was beautiful. We were far enough from the highway to not notice any noise. The tipi was an experience, but for the cost I wouldn't have stayed in it more than one night. Great Job!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMRamadaSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews