We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:01 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
AWESOME Experience!

Been rafting with River Runners for a few summers and they never disappoint! All the guides are... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2018
Thorns R
,
California
Go For It!

Nothing short of awesome! Our guide was "Chris" and he is able to gauge your experience to fine... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2018
willys6
,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
31
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly team jump off skip rocks rock jumping bacon rafting trip white water rafting american river awesome experience sandwiches first timers sarah whirlpool blackberries stops geese campfire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Been rafting with River Runners for a few summers and they never disappoint! All the guides are safe, strong, good-natured, and very experienced. If you have never been rafting before, this is your best bet for a safe experience where you will actually learn how to get down the river safely.

Joe T. has been our guide for years and he is exceptional. Like I said all guides are outstanding, I've just always ended up in his group. You'll get to pull over in the raft and do a little diving off a cliff if you so choose. You'll experience the most beautiful scenery, with waterfalls, natural rock formations, and you'll even see some condors!

The camp itself is really great. Pitch a tent, play some cornhole, sit by the fire, skip rocks in the river, and eat yummy food prepared by your guides! Yes, they are good cooks.

Camp has showers, toilets, etc. Bring a headlamp or flashlight for walking through the campground at night.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Thorns R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Nothing short of awesome! Our guide was "Chris" and he is able to gauge your experience to fine tune your trip. If you listen to the safety briefing and follow any tips, you should have a good time. Even though we had two in our group that couldn't swim, this didn't present a problem.
We done the Chili Bar express.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank willys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

If you are going rafting the first time or have done it before...River Runners is the company to do it with!! Excellent, excellent team of husband & wife owners!! Managed very professionally as well as friendly, kind and always there to help with anything. The meals were better than a restaurant!! Breakfast, Lunch & Dinners were awesome and delicious!! As first-timers we were coached thoroughly before we got into the boats. Joe, our guide was amazing, he let us swim, jump off of rocks, relax, etc. Really enjoyed all the activities we did and information Joe gave us throughout the tour. I don't have enough room to write all the details but I was truly impressed with River Runners. Highly recommend them!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bunnymenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

We had a wonderful time with River Runners. The experience has all the joys of camping (tent, campfire, geese) with none of the hassle (or equipment). They provide everything and even get the campfire going at the end of the night.

And then, of course, the highlight was the rafting. Our guide was Chris, and he was so knowledgeable about the river, we could not have asked for anyone better. He guided us around the scary parts and right into the thrilling parts! We had my 7 year old and he found her rocks to jump off, whirlpools to float in, and rapids to swim. I had complete faith in him when he said that something was safe.

The American River is gorgeous, fun, and exciting. River Runners made it a truly fun and easy family friendly adventure. We have already recommended them to everyone we've talked to about this trip and are excited to go back.

Definite highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Tiffani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We were lucky enough to have John and Chris as our guides this weekend on the afternoon Gorge Trip. I grew up in Colorado, by far the best river rafting experience I've ever had. We were a party of 13, 6 of those kids 12 and under, all in John's boat! He was fantastic and we hit the rapids straight on, but the kids were totally safe and had the full experience. Chris had 4 of the adults in his boat and he was also extremely skilled but just a great cool guy you could spend 4 hours with. They had a few stops that were so fun, some rock jumping into the river the kids loved, the whirlpool, and riding the rapids. A full not top notch experience that is organic with safety #1 vs. the large commercial outfits that want to churn as many people thru in a day that they can. John and Sarah run a great business and charge a very reasonable price. Definitely check them out, highly recommend. Thank you John and Chris, we had a fabulous day from a tough crowd

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews