We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Whitewater Rafting”

Tributary Whitewater Tours - South Fork American River Rafting
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Lotus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The South Fork American River is the most popular California whitewater rafting river in the West. It is exciting and lots of fun, with many memorable class 2-3+ rapids. The river flows for 21 miles through the green and gold foothills of California's Gold Rush Country and it has served as an introduction to California rafting for countless beginners. The South Fork American River is suitable for nearly everyone, including families (kids from 8 yrs), corporate and youth groups. We offer ½ day, 1 day, and 2 day trips, all meeting at our camp in the Coloma/Lotus area and will start with an orientation & safety talk. Life jackets will be fitted and paddling instruction is given. Each raft will be manned by a professional, skilled river guide. Located 1 hr east of Sacramento the South Fork American is ideal for a multi-day combo trip with the Middle Fork American, North Fork American, or North Fork Yuba Rivers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Templeton, California
1 review
“Awesome Family Whitewater Rafting”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I and 5 kids (ages 7, 10, 12, 14 ,16) had a blast on the 2 day family package of class 2 and 3 rapids. We have a tough time finding something the whole family enjoys and everyone loved this trip. We loved it 2 years ago and decided to go with the same trip again. The guides took care of everything, including great meals. Our guide, Margaret, was the best. She was great with the kids (as was Eric 2 years ago), very patient and added extra fun things along the way. The campground was comfortable and the scenery was beautiful. We will be back next summer!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
1 review
“Bucket List”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My friend and I at 65 years young had never done this before, we had a BLAST! We went on the level 2 & 3 , now ready for more. We had wonderful guide named Dave and the driver Evelyn can't say enough good things about them both, Great Job !... Thanks for a wonderful time, I'll be back. Linda Mineer, Florida

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lmineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time on the river!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We did the Middle Fork of the American river on a beautiful Saturday in September. The weather was still warm and lovely and the river isn't so crowded, because kids are back in school.

The pace of the 17 mile trip is great! You do Tunnel Chute about a half mile into the trip. It is exhilarating! There are several more rapids, then you go through a straight area for miles, then lunch, then more rapids.

Scott, our guide, was great fun and knowledgeable. The guides put together a yummy lunch spread with fresh fruit and avocado.

This is a good trip for adults looking for adventure. There are lots of class 3 and some class 4 rapids. You will feel a sense of accomplishment afterward. It was a fantastic day!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family fun!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found these guys by luck of an internet search and had the time of our life! Jessica was our guide and she was amazing. We did the South Fork full day. From the light hearted intro to the great sandwiches for lunch and to the safe and fun experience of the river, these gays are top notch. We got wet, we got crazy and we will go back. I give this experience a triple thumbs up and would highly recommend this company.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, near the beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Run, We will be back”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Four of us did the half day morning run at the South Fork of the American River. What a great experience for all of us, our ages are 66, 55, 33 & 29. There was another family of 4 on the raft their ages were between mid 40's to 14. The Class III rapids were awesome. Andrew was our guide from Tributary Whitewater Tours; he was very professional and knowledgeable. He pointed out Sutter's Mill where the Gold Rush first started in 1849. The trip from Sacramento to base camp was about 45 minutes. We will try the class 4 rapids on out next visit to Sacramento; Andrew said we would love it. My son & I went whitewater rafting about 18 years ago in Maine, at 66 I wasn't sure I could do it again but no problem and we will be back out whitewater rafting on our next trip to visit him. Enjoy your trip, Chuck

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tributary Whitewater Tours - South Fork American River Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Tributary Whitewater Tours - South Fork American River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing