We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverwild”

Beyond Limits Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Half-Day Whitewater Rafting on the South Fork American River
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Lotus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The beautiful American River is the site of California's 1849 Gold rush and now is the most popular whitewater rafting river in the Western US... let us show you why! One of the few rivers in California to have adequate water flows year round for rafting, The South Fork of the American River is a wonderfully fun guided rafting adventure for first timers, families and groups. The class 3 rapids are perfect for all types of participants, lots of action but not too intense for novices. Half, one and two day trips are available.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Concord
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Riverwild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is my second ride with Beyond Limits and both trips were fantastic. The first trip last year was a wild ride bachelorette party with a bunch of crazy girls, the guide Kevin took us on the trip of a life time, spent a lot of time in the water but it was because the girls asked for it.
The second trip was a whole different adventure, we were with a different mellow crowd so the guide took us through the rapids and didn't dump us but gave us some very cool surfing rides with a lot if thrills and excitement. Both trips were made to order. The camp site was perfect and the best part is the great staff, Mike, Bonnie, Lee, Christine, they let you get as loose as you want and hang out with the party till we were dead tired. Feels like you made a few friends along the way and would defiantly return based on the high level of fun and professionalism of the crew.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank whosgoingtobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Trip, Awesome Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have taken two trips with Beyond Limits. Both of them were on the South Fork of the American River. The river itself makes for a really good trip, but the guides make the river shine. I have seen guides tailor trips down the same river to people looking for a little thrill and a bachelor party looking for something terrifying and difficult.

Our guide, Kevin, was masterful. He was able to toss 5 out of 6 people out of the boat (we asked for it). The only person left in the boat? The only person that didn't want to be thrown out. We surfed on 3 separate rapids, hit 3 rock splats, and had an overall great time. We always felt completely safe too.

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way "Beyond" the Duties of a Rafting Company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I have gone on many guided rafting trips with Beyond Limits Adventures. We also camp overnight on their terrific river front property right on the American River in Lotus CA. I discovered them years ago on the internet and have stuck with them ever since because their rafting guides are fun, down to earth, experienced and interesting. Last time our guide was Kevin and he blew the doors off all of us. He made our trip so much more fun and fortunately he had extra clothing to distribute among those of us that were just a little unprepared :) My wife, daughter and nieces loved being around him and felt a sense of security on the class 4 rafting adventure he took us out on this past weekend. Kevin is a great person and we are so grateful to have met him. He went way "beyond" the duties of a guide and went out of his way to recommend great nearby restaurants among other things. Mike the owner, who is also terrific, runs the entire operation with the help of his great staff/guides. While camping back at the property, for a very reasonable fee, we stay in cabin tents which have bunks if you don't want to sleep in a tent on the ground. We also bought a meal plan and let me tell you, these guys & girls can cook! We had a fantastic BBQ dinner and Kevin surprised us with awesome chewy brownies and ice cream that he baked and scooped! The following morning we had a delicious and filling breakfast prior to setting out on our adventure. We look forward to going back soon!

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Splash down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great excitement. The south fork of the American is COLD, even for a devout swimmer took some gumption to paddle around. good safety talk and experienced guides.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoolCathy95614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun activity for 50 and younger. Not for little kids, under ten!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

It's not for the faint of heart and little kids, but teenagers/young peoples should try it. It's fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatherineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beyond Limits Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing