We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Pines Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Osos
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

Just returned from a quick stay in Los Osos visiting family. The Sea Pines Golf Resort is an amazing an intimate resort. It is a simple as far as amenities go, but the views and location is awesome. Just minutes from Montana de Oro State Park, Downtown San Luis Obispo and area beaches and vineyards.

The resort is very clean and well manicured. Our yound children alwasy get a kick out of all the carvings of bears located throughout the grounds. The restaurant/sports bar was in the midst of renovation when we were there, but the staff was extremely friendly and food was good. Each room has a patio/balcony which is the perfect place to start each morning as you admire the views of Central California.

While we do not typically golf, Sea Pines has a very nice course, putting green and driving range. They also have a nice size hot tub, which was right outside our room for easy access.

We have stayed here multiple times and we are never disappointed.

  • Liked — the location and amazing views!
  • Disliked — lack of luxury amenities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    41
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

I booked into this hotel because I was attending a class in Los Osos and it was very convenient for the week. Overall the room was quite pleasant, with a tiny patio situated on greens for a peaceful view.
The room was a nice size and the bed - a queen - very comfortable. I was surprised to see there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room - I have come to expect these as basics.
The food was good and service excellent; unfortunately the restaurant is a Sports Bar, which means lots of noise and shouting. Great for the family with children; perhaps not so good for the single traveler who likes a bit of peace and quiet. I ate there twice and found the noise level high both times.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and overall this deserves a solid 4 stars.

  • Liked — Large room, nice view, pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Lack of refrigerator and microwave; very noisy sportsbar rather than regular restaurant
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poodlelvrCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Yes it gets coveted Hidden Gem status. Sea Pines is not a Best Western (not sure why it says that) and this isn't the famous sea pines in North Carolina, but for comparison sake the rooms are about the same as a nice Best Western and the executive 9 hole golf course is perfectly adequate - featuring beautiful views of the Dunes and Morro Bay. The place features golf packages to play at Sea Pines or also on some of the more challenging 18 hole layouts in the area. I would say our "golf package" rate for a Labor Day stay (including a round and a free hearty breakfast per night's stay) was an excellent value given what everyone else in the area charges. Los Osos is a sleepy little town right next to Montana De Oro state park and 5 miles from Morro Bay, and an easy drive from Cambria or San Luis. It's a great out of the way spot with maybe its best feature on Labor Day being it never gets hot. It was 66 degrees there on a day when it was over 100 a few miles inland. One tip on the hotel - It is a 2-story motor lodge type layout in 4 buildings totaling maybe 40 rooms. The upper floor rooms have nice to very nice views and fireplaces. The lower floor rooms aren't as nice (although adequate). So if you have a choice stay upstairs and ask for a view. This is a great place for kids too - even if you don't play golf - however there is no pool, only a nice spa. They have a website. Google sea pines los osos

  • Liked — Off the beaten path, Clean and simple, great summer weather, great golf package
  • Disliked — Nothing. Restaurant is a golf/sports bar type place. Good for lunchbreakfast not great dinner
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

I live in the area and had friends from Phoenix visit. We told them to book at Sea Pines although we had not seen a room yet. We told them, based on Trip Advisor, to ask for a "view room."

Sea Pines is located on the outskirts of Los Osos very close to the Montana de Oro State Park entrance. It is situated in the middle of a golf course making it feel partially secluded. A view room has a fantastic view of Morro Bay, Morro Rock and the estuary. And the view rooms all have one long balcony they share with seating outside to enjoy the view. When my friends stayed, they had their coffee there both mornings and no one else came out, so they experienced the balcony all to themselves.

On the premises the hotel has a gorgeous jacuzzi that everyone was enjoying when we walked by. The golf course also has a country style/sports bar restaurant and full bar. They serve 3 meals a day which is very convenient. And the food is fine.

The room had a king bed and was very clean. The bathroom and dressing area was nice sized. The rooms are not new but they are clean and very large. There was a coffee set-up in the room.

The price was extremely inexpensive for our central coast area which is why I will have all my guests stay there from now on. Just a great little "secret" find.

  • Liked — cleanliness and view and price
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Sea Pines. The room was good sized, with a fireplace and king size bed. We overlooked Moro Bay.

There is an executive golf course on site but we had a golf package to play at two local other courses. We did use the practice greens for putting and chipping however. That was a nice convenience.

The room was very clean and looked almost new. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BandBSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2006

LOVED the SeaPines! Desk clerk was unbelievably helpful, provided detailed directions and maps for everything we could possibly want to do. Ground floor room was excellent, double queen and had a small patio with chairs & a table right on the golf course. SUPER deal for $96.00! Nice sports bar onsite with sports bar food, lots of it and great servers! Pro shop across the street and looked like a cute little 9 hole course. We were rained out unfortunately but I intend to go back when the weather's better! Nicely kept grounds, clean, spacious room. I particularly liked the config of the bath. Two sink long vanity was separated from the WC and shower, very convenient for getting dressed. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
17 Thank Sausalito2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Osos
2.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pines Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Golf Resort

Property: Sea Pines Golf Resort
Address: 1945 Solano St, Los Osos, CA 93402-2341
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Los Osos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Osos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Pines Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Pines Golf Resort is nestled among grand old pine, cypress and eucalyptus trees at the southern tip of Morro Bay, and is bordered by ocean dunes, bay views, picturesque Montana de Oro State Park, and the charming villages of Los Osos and Baywood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sea Pines Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Golf Hotel Los Osos
Sea Pines Hotel
Sea Pines Los Osos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing