We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond
Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Seating area is great for conversation, snuggling, reading and watching movies.
Well-appointed sitting area with antiques, art, an original George Lepp photo create an artful space
Breakfast bar & well-equipped kitchen with formal, casual and handmade dishes & glassware.
Newly remodeled kitchen, well-equipped for gourmet meals or just a cup of tea. Great water views!
The 'Quiet Room', perfect for a nap or curling up with a good book.
The 'Quiet Room' desk, closet, dressers, extra blankets & pillows, suitcase storage, & a bay view.
Soft pillows, a cozy corner and a good book, make the 'Quiet Room' a haven within the Cottage
Antiques, art and great views are part of the peaceful ambience of the Green Cottage.
Curl up and read a good book, in this antique Victorian chair, a family heirloom.
Newly remodeled bathroom includes walk-in shower, lots of plush towels & a bay view from the window.
Dramatic, unobstructed views from the Cottage
Quiet beauty is yours from the deck of the Green Cottage.
The Green Cottage has one of the only remaining 5 private docks on the bay. Come enjoy!
The Cottage is ideally situated on the water. Nearby trails offer spectacular views!
Sunsets can be colorful and dramatic from the Cottage
Spectacular sunrise from right in front of the Cottage.
A view across the water to the Green Cottage on Morro Bay.
The Green Cottage provides a great location for exploring Morro Bay. Bring your kayak, SUP or canoe.
Picturesque Cuesta Inlet is a 2 minute walk from the Cottage
Magic light often accents the views from the Green Cottage.
A pano from the deck, showing our fabulous views, shot by a recent guest. Thank you John.
There are not many places, outside of an aquarium where you can see wildlife up close and personal!
Birds, large and small are on Morro Bay, right in front of the cottage!
Enormous pelicans are often seen perched right in front of the Cottage on our private dock. Come see
A mysterious morning, mist rising at Sweet Springs Nature Preserve, a 5-minute walk from the Cottage
El Moro Elfin Forest, in Los Osos, is a 90-acre natural area with trails and fabulous views.
The Elfin Forest has 200 species of plants and 145 kinds of birds, mammals, reptiles & amphibians.
Nearby Montaña de Oro State Park is one of the largest in California; has fabulous trails & beaches!
7,828 acres for you to explore: secluded sandy beaches, coastal plains & streams in wooded canyons.
“Mountain of Gold” hillsides with native plants and animals. Rich cultural & historical resources.
Fabulous trails for easy or strenuous hikes along the beach, bluffs, or inland in the mountains.
Windy Cove and the Morro Bay Golf Course, 7 minutes from the Cottage.
Nearby Hearst Castle is a fascinating National Historic Landmark, well worth a visit!
Hearst Castle was designed by architect Julia Morgan from 1919 - 1947 for William Randolph Hearst.
San Luis Obispo County has over 300 wineries. Come experience our award-winning local wines.
The Morros, 9 volcanic peaks between Morro Bay & SLO, are wonderful for photography and hiking.
Ancient oak trees nestle in valleys and cattle dot the beautiful ranchlands.
The wine regions of San Luis Obispo County are in the beautiful, rolling rural areas of the county.
San Luis Obispo County has over 80 miles of coastline and beaches for you to explore.
San Luis Obispo County -- California's Natural Escape. Come enjoy!
A quiet sunset along a nearby beach. Come experience it for yourself.
A bird's eye view of the Morro Bay boat mooring field.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2010Skyle...
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our third stay at the Green Cottage and certainly won't be our last. In a word the cottage is perfect . . . the location, size, ambience and the way it makes you feel. If we could talk to the cottage, we would borrow the lyrics from a Bruno Mars song: "If perfect is what you're searching for, then just stay the same."
P.S.:The owners are awsome!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Wow! Thank you! Love the Bruno Mars quote!!!

We love our return guests. They do fall in love with the quiet and relationship to the bay, shore birds and views. We get to know what our guests like and can make suggestions of unique places to visit and good restaurants to try. It's fun to catch up with what's happening in their lives. This couple tried a number of times to book with us, but we were too full. Now, they book months in advance. Come see why.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dth0ms0n
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful and serene”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a fantastic getaway place! Our first stay but certainly wont be the last. Beautiful fresh flowers were provided by the owner as well as a special gift because she knew we were celebrating my wife's birthday. We were content to sit on the porch and watch the bay, read and nap. No sightseeing necessary for us as we went to college in SLO but for those new to the area there are many things to see and do. The cottage is beautifully decorated everything is provided. Is it clear by now that we are hooked on going to the Green Cottage? Do it, you wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thank you! We hope you come back soon!

We keep asking ourselves the question: "What can we do to make our guests' stays more memorable, more comfortable, more unique." Then we do whatever that is. The Green Cottage is art and antique filled, but not cluttered. It's presented like you are staying at your favorite aunt's beach cottage while she's away sailing the south seas, and she's given you the keys. We want our guests to feel like they've "come home."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBTravele...
California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our third stay at the Green Cottage, and it was every bit as good as the previous two. One of the owners greeted us when we arrived with “Welcome home”, and that’s always the way we feel when we visit. The cottage is well-appointed with everything to make for a comfortable stay, and we love the deck overlooking the south part of Morro Bay with Morro Rock in the distance. It’s often hard to leave it for the many fun things to do in this part of California – beautiful walks, hiking, kayaking, wine tasting, …. We’ll be back, and you should try it, too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Like many of our guests, this couple not only relaxes while visiting, but they take advantage of all our county has to offer. Plus they seem to capture the best photos of our area, with an eye for design and form. While visiting they posted a number of beautiful images on the Green Cottage on Morro Bay Facebook page. It's always a pleasure to see our area through the eyes of our visitors. We love our return guests. We love that they love the Cottage, and make it their central coast home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Jod...
Burbank, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A delicious respite”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been wanting to go back to the Green Cottage since we first visited in 2014, and this year we were finally able to return. What a delicious blend of peace, rest, activity, and hospitality! I didn't want to leave.
Here are some of my favorite things:

1. Sipping my coffee in the morning while I sit on the deck and watch the shore birds hunt for breakfast.
2. Having my camera(s) ready before sunrise and near sunset to catch the inimitable light and action.
3. Watching the changing light on the back bay and dunes.
4. Listening to the quiet except for mornings when the Pacific breakers on the other side of the dunes are very loud.
5. Shopping local, especially at the Abundance Thrift Shop and Carlock's Bakery in Los Osos, the new gourmet bread bakery on 3rd street and the farmer's market in around the corner Baywood Park, and the local artist-operated Marina Gallery in nearby Morro Bay.
The hosts are very friendly but never intrusive. Be sure to visit Pandora's pottery studio. She creates unusual pieces that are sculptural but practical, and her enthusiasm is contagious.

The Cottage is private, comfortably and beautifully decorated, and lots of information about the area is provided so that you can choose what you want to do the most while you are there: wine tasting, hiking, kayaking, and so on. The area is very walkable, and bicycles like it here as well.

Sometimes when you return to a place you really enjoyed the first time, it isn't the same. But this time only deepened the experience of the last visit, and we can't wait to come back next September and explore even further the area and this wonderful Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet, and lots of opportunities to do whatever I please
Liked least: That I only got to stay 9 days!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Sally and Jody are here again, right now (August 2017). We love that they love the Green Cottage On Morro Bay, and have made it their home away from home. Like many of our guests, they return several times each year. Not only because the Cottage provides them with the peace and quiet they seek, but a home base close to everything in San Luis Obispo County that they love to visit. Visit soon. See why most of our guests return again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovebird6...
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite creative retreat”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I am a writer and photographer by trade, and have stayed at The Green Cottage on several occasions while working on projects. It is the perfect creative retreat! I love gazing out over the bay, and passing the hours nestled in its familiar embrace. I highly recommend it for those seeking solitude and nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
The Green Cottage provides the peace, privacy and quiet that creative folks love. This food writer and photographer even provides our guests with great food ideas. She has written a number of articles while gazing out onto the shoreline, and has taken her camera to Baywood on her morning walks and has captured beautiful images of our area. We've had famous photographers, authors, song writers, musicians, and actors. Visit, and see why the Cottage provides the serenity to create great works.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen...
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Unexpectedly Lovely”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Absolutely wonderful peaceful place. Like living inside a piece of art, Green Cottage is lovely in every dimension. Perfectly clean with a thoughtful assortment of dishes, cookware, books, puzzles and games. Beautiful view of Morro Bay with a resident Blue Heron. Surrounded by parks with interesting hiking trails and beaches. We will definitely return to Green Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and beauty all around
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thank you Gretchen! We work hard to make our Cottage the kind of place our guests want to return to several times each year. We welcome you to the growing list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLLtravel
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I were lucky enough to experience the Green Cottage for a "way too short" visit of three nights. The cottage was everything as advertised - spotlessly clean, and completely furnished with lots of nice homey touches. Fresh fruit, freshly ground local coffee, yogurt and fresh flowers were waiting for our arrival. We also loved the nice thick towels that were much better quality than those we've experienced in many fine hotels. The fact that the cottage is located in a residential area, away from the touristy area, but close enough for easy access, was a definite bonus. The view from the deck and kitchen windows was perfect - a great view of Morro Rock, lots of birds, and beautiful sunsets. The notebooks provided with information on restaurants, local attractions and local history were another welcome touch. We look forward to returning to the Green Cottage as often as possible, because it feels like home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thank you! You just pointed out something obvious but I missed it until now. The Green Cottage IS in a very quiet residential area, at the end of a peninsula (and at the end of a dead end street). The neighbors have lived here for years and everyone is very friendly. When I travel I try to stay out of the touristy areas. I guess I hadn't put that together. Of course, our guests are looking for the same thing — an authentic experience. And we're within walking distance to several restaurants and just minutes away, by car, from our retail areas. Now that you know the Green Cottage on Morro Bay provides the perfect home base for countywide explorations: Hearst Castle, both wine areas (SLO County has over 27,000 acres of wine grapes), the Performing Arts Center, great biking, hiking and kayaking (and SUPing), plus art galleries, cute little towns like Cambria and Cayucos and one of the largest Open Studio Tours in California (in October) -- you'll have to come back often to stay, explore and play like a local!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing