We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unexpectedly Lovely”
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond
Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Seating area is great for conversation, snuggling, reading and watching movies.
Well-appointed sitting area with antiques, art, an original George Lepp photo create an artful space
Breakfast bar & well-equipped kitchen with formal, casual and handmade dishes & glassware.
Newly remodeled kitchen, well-equipped for gourmet meals or just a cup of tea. Great water views!
The 'Quiet Room', perfect for a nap or curling up with a good book.
The 'Quiet Room' desk, closet, dressers, extra blankets & pillows, suitcase storage, & a bay view.
Soft pillows, a cozy corner and a good book, make the 'Quiet Room' a haven within the Cottage
Antiques, art and great views are part of the peaceful ambience of the Green Cottage.
Curl up and read a good book, in this antique Victorian chair, a family heirloom.
Newly remodeled bathroom includes walk-in shower, lots of plush towels & a bay view from the window.
Dramatic, unobstructed views from the Cottage
Quiet beauty is yours from the deck of the Green Cottage.
The Green Cottage has one of the only remaining 5 private docks on the bay. Come enjoy!
The Cottage is ideally situated on the water. Nearby trails offer spectacular views!
Sunsets can be colorful and dramatic from the Cottage
Spectacular sunrise from right in front of the Cottage.
A view across the water to the Green Cottage on Morro Bay.
The Green Cottage provides a great location for exploring Morro Bay. Bring your kayak, SUP or canoe.
Picturesque Cuesta Inlet is a 2 minute walk from the Cottage
Magic light often accents the views from the Green Cottage.
A pano from the deck, showing our fabulous views, shot by a recent guest. Thank you John.
There are not many places, outside of an aquarium where you can see wildlife up close and personal!
Birds, large and small are on Morro Bay, right in front of the cottage!
Enormous pelicans are often seen perched right in front of the Cottage on our private dock. Come see
A mysterious morning, mist rising at Sweet Springs Nature Preserve, a 5-minute walk from the Cottage
El Moro Elfin Forest, in Los Osos, is a 90-acre natural area with trails and fabulous views.
The Elfin Forest has 200 species of plants and 145 kinds of birds, mammals, reptiles & amphibians.
Nearby Montaña de Oro State Park is one of the largest in California; has fabulous trails & beaches!
7,828 acres for you to explore: secluded sandy beaches, coastal plains & streams in wooded canyons.
“Mountain of Gold” hillsides with native plants and animals. Rich cultural & historical resources.
Fabulous trails for easy or strenuous hikes along the beach, bluffs, or inland in the mountains.
Windy Cove and the Morro Bay Golf Course, 7 minutes from the Cottage.
Nearby Hearst Castle is a fascinating National Historic Landmark, well worth a visit!
Hearst Castle was designed by architect Julia Morgan from 1919 - 1947 for William Randolph Hearst.
San Luis Obispo County has over 300 wineries. Come experience our award-winning local wines.
The Morros, 9 volcanic peaks between Morro Bay & SLO, are wonderful for photography and hiking.
Ancient oak trees nestle in valleys and cattle dot the beautiful ranchlands.
The wine regions of San Luis Obispo County are in the beautiful, rolling rural areas of the county.
San Luis Obispo County has over 80 miles of coastline and beaches for you to explore.
San Luis Obispo County -- California's Natural Escape. Come enjoy!
A quiet sunset along a nearby beach. Come experience it for yourself.
A bird's eye view of the Morro Bay boat mooring field.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gretchen...
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Unexpectedly Lovely”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Absolutely wonderful peaceful place. Like living inside a piece of art, Green Cottage is lovely in every dimension. Perfectly clean with a thoughtful assortment of dishes, cookware, books, puzzles and games. Beautiful view of Morro Bay with a resident Blue Heron. Surrounded by parks with interesting hiking trails and beaches. We will definitely return to Green Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and beauty all around
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thank you Gretchen! We work hard to make our Cottage the kind of place our guests want to return to several times each year. We welcome you to the growing list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLLtravel
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I were lucky enough to experience the Green Cottage for a "way too short" visit of three nights. The cottage was everything as advertised - spotlessly clean, and completely furnished with lots of nice homey touches. Fresh fruit, freshly ground local coffee, yogurt and fresh flowers were waiting for our arrival. We also loved the nice thick towels that were much better quality than those we've experienced in many fine hotels. The fact that the cottage is located in a residential area, away from the touristy area, but close enough for easy access, was a definite bonus. The view from the deck and kitchen windows was perfect - a great view of Morro Rock, lots of birds, and beautiful sunsets. The notebooks provided with information on restaurants, local attractions and local history were another welcome touch. We look forward to returning to the Green Cottage as often as possible, because it feels like home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thank you! You just pointed out something obvious but I missed it until now. The Green Cottage IS in a very quiet residential area, at the end of a peninsula (and at the end of a dead end street). The neighbors have lived here for years and everyone is very friendly. When I travel I try to stay out of the touristy areas. I guess I hadn't put that together. Of course, our guests are looking for the same thing — an authentic experience. And we're within walking distance to several restaurants and just minutes away, by car, from our retail areas. Now that you know the Green Cottage on Morro Bay provides the perfect home base for countywide explorations: Hearst Castle, both wine areas (SLO County has over 27,000 acres of wine grapes), the Performing Arts Center, great biking, hiking and kayaking (and SUPing), plus art galleries, cute little towns like Cambria and Cayucos and one of the largest Open Studio Tours in California (in October) -- you'll have to come back often to stay, explore and play like a local!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBTravele...
California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always Exceeds Our Expectations”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Green Cottage is probably our favorite place to stay. For us, it feels like a second home. It is very comfortable and is very well and interestingly decorated. It’s possible to spend hours wandering around looking at this and that, whether it is a small statue or sign or one of the many interesting books. It is spotlessly clean and has a very well-stocked kitchen with just about everything that you could want in the way of plates, glasses, silverware and utensils. There is freshly ground coffee, some fresh fruit and yogurt for your stay.

The owners, Pandora and Gary, who live a few houses away, are available if you need them or want information, but otherwise leave you completely alone.

The cottage sits on the edge of Morro Bay, and the unobstructed view from the deck or, if it is a bit cool, the kitchen table is spectacular, looking north across the bay toward Morro Rock. Watching the sunrise or sunset from the deck is very special, and the bay is home to many different types of interesting birds.

The Los Osos/Morro Bay area is a great place to visit. (There are three large notebooks full of things-to-do, restaurants and the like, and there are hiking and wildlife books, as well as binoculars in the cottage.) There are many short and longer walks/hikes. Montana de Oro State Park, with a hike along the rocky bluffs overlooking the ocean, is great, and on our last trip we spent time at Los Osos Oaks State Natural Reserve, which was fascinating for its hundreds of tangled oak trees covered with mosses and lichens.

Morro Bay (the town) has the usual array of gift shops, galleries and bay-front or view restaurants, but the bigger attraction for us is the bay itself with sea lions, otters and birds. (Next trip we are renting kayaks.) That said, two of our favorite places to eat are The Galley for a formal, sit-down restaurant and Giovanni’s Fish Market and Galley for an informal, pick-up-you-own-order, eat-outside-on-picnic-tables place.

San Luis Obispo is an interesting university town close-by, and you are within a day-trip of Hearst Castle and a number of wineries if those interest you. For us, though, the best thing about visiting the Green Cottage is spending time at the cottage — relaxing with a cup of coffee and binoculars in the morning and returning for a glass of wine and the sunset in the evening.

Try the Green Cottage. We think that you will like it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of Morro Bay from the deck.
Liked least: Tall people should know that some of the ceilings are relatively low in the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
This traveler said it all. There are an abundant reasons to visit our area if you love nature, food, hiking, water activities, great wines and mostly an escape from busy city lives. The Cottage is in a quiet residential area on the end of a dead end road. You will fee like you are far far from the maddening crowds while being close to everything. Come explore. Come relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne C
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed December 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I spent 10 beautiful days at The Green Cottage. It truly became my home away from home.
The cottage has everything and more to make it a comfortable home. The views and scenery are fabulous from the waterfront patio. Its fun to do a puzzle and watch all the birds and wildlife from the kitchen table. A must stay if you are visiting Los Osos or any of the surrounding areas. I will be back for sure very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The waterfront location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
I think Jayne is our "champion guest", staying with us now about 10 times. We love that she loves the Green Cottage on Morro Bay so much that she now calls it her home away from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalid A
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pandora & Gary make you feel the cottage is your own”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pandora & Gary make you feel the cottage is your own
★ ★ ★ ★ ★


We visited Morro Bay as part of our California vacation. It was our first long vacation in the USA as we live in United Kingdom. My husband and I travelled down from Sonoma and even though California has wonderful and stunning places to visit and stay we chose Morro Bay because of the 'Green Cottage'. Green Cottage once discovered never to be forgotten.

Before we got to this small but very impressive paradise Pandora & Gary communicated extremely well with us. Pandora had put provisions of freshly ground coffee, tea bags, cream, fruit, and various flavours of yogurt in the cottage as it was a bliss to make fresh cup of tea after settling in. We spent 5 nights at the cottage where we enjoyed the bay and some local vineyards that Pandora had organised for us. The cottage has everything that we needed. The Kitchen is fully equipped to cook any type of meal; the bedding is soft and very comfy. We very much like the decor and style of the cottage

The views throughout the day changed and were mesmerising but the sunsets were incredible! Green Cottage is not only clean, restful and comfy, romantic, but a very special and select escape. I highly recommend the cottage as it is jewel on the Californian coastal route. We will certainly return. Pandora, thank you for making our stay so wonderful. You and Gary are a perfect host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Charm of the Green Cottage
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
We love to hear about how cozy and comfortable the Green Cottage is from the point of view of our guests. We never know what people expect, but we try to do everything we can to make their experience far beyond their expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovebird6...
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Writer's Haven”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I recently spent a week curled up at the Green Cottage writing my first book. This space is perfection in every way; a quiet haven for refection where creativity can bloom. I spent my mornings on the deck overlooking Morro Bay with flocks of pelicans and the occasional kayaker as my only companions. There is attention to detail in the artful cottage decor, and beauty in every direction. The cottage is a short stroll to a nearby estuary, and 10 minutes driving distance to Montano de Oro state park with ocean views and lots of hiking trails. But in the end I found little reason to leave the comfort of my little home-away-from-home by the bay. A great place to recharge and fill your soul!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful, quiet retreat atmosphere
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
The Cottage seems to have a way of attracting very creative, artful people who are seeking something other than a getaway that includes loud TV football games with a cast of rowdy friends. It is the opposite! It is a peaceful and romantic guest hideaway for lovers ... lover of nature, art, thought, photography, writing, reading, wine, adventure, discovery, solitude and soul, but especially for those who love and nurture themselves and want the space that will allow that to easily happen. This writer spent the week immersed in nature and creative thought as she began her book. We have had famous photographers, writers and singer/songwriters all stay at the Cottage. They all claim it provides them the energy and peace to be creative. It must, because they keep coming back. Come see why.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“The Green Cottage On Morro Bay is Relaxing Perfection!”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It is so rare to find that combination of lovely and comfortable, impressive and cozy, a place that feels like yours yet you have had to do none of the prep - you just walk in and look out the window and you are relaxing on *vacation* -- such is the Green Cottage on Morro Bay. The view is truly unrivaled... whether sunny and glorious, misty-hued and soft, on a night with a million stars and the lights of Morro Bay across the water. You can dine out on the patio and drink it all in, or from the dining table. Everything is cozy and comfortable, while being beautifully appointed... the kitchen has every tool you could want to cook a great meal, the linens are lovely, the decor is art-and-beach-and-cottage, and it all comes together to say relax. The hosts provide wonderful information about the area, things to do and see, and we did take the kayaks out on the bay for a fun trip over for espresso in a little bayside cafe, super fun- but really, with this view, why would you go anywhere? This is a wonderful treasure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, and the cozy comfort here
Liked least: There truly are no negatives
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
The Green Cottage has been in the family for over 60 years. When we renovated the kitchen and bathroom recently, we looked around the Cottage and asked ourselves, what can we do to make this the cutest, most comfortable, best appointed, art-filled cottage on the Central Coast? So, we gathered together family heirlooms and antiques, paintings by renown artist Elizabeth Tolley and photographs by nationally known outdoor/nature photographer George Lepp, plus handmade pottery, Romanian crystal goblets, pine needle baskets, a quilt made specifically for the Cottage, and much more. Our goal is for our guests to feel like they are staying at a favorite aunt's beach cottage while she is away, not just visiting a sterile rental devoid of personality and charm. Come see for yourself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing