We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Time at the Green Cottage”
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond
Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Seating area is great for conversation, snuggling, reading and watching movies.
Well-appointed sitting area with antiques, art, an original George Lepp photo create an artful space
Breakfast bar & well-equipped kitchen with formal, casual and handmade dishes & glassware.
Newly remodeled kitchen, well-equipped for gourmet meals or just a cup of tea. Great water views!
The 'Quiet Room', perfect for a nap or curling up with a good book.
The 'Quiet Room' desk, closet, dressers, extra blankets & pillows, suitcase storage, & a bay view.
Soft pillows, a cozy corner and a good book, make the 'Quiet Room' a haven within the Cottage
Antiques, art and great views are part of the peaceful ambience of the Green Cottage.
Curl up and read a good book, in this antique Victorian chair, a family heirloom.
Newly remodeled bathroom includes walk-in shower, lots of plush towels & a bay view from the window.
Dramatic, unobstructed views from the Cottage
Quiet beauty is yours from the deck of the Green Cottage.
The Green Cottage has one of the only remaining 5 private docks on the bay. Come enjoy!
The Cottage is ideally situated on the water. Nearby trails offer spectacular views!
Sunsets can be colorful and dramatic from the Cottage
Spectacular sunrise from right in front of the Cottage.
A view across the water to the Green Cottage on Morro Bay.
The Green Cottage provides a great location for exploring Morro Bay. Bring your kayak, SUP or canoe.
Picturesque Cuesta Inlet is a 2 minute walk from the Cottage
Magic light often accents the views from the Green Cottage.
A pano from the deck, showing our fabulous views, shot by a recent guest. Thank you John.
There are not many places, outside of an aquarium where you can see wildlife up close and personal!
Birds, large and small are on Morro Bay, right in front of the cottage!
Enormous pelicans are often seen perched right in front of the Cottage on our private dock. Come see
A mysterious morning, mist rising at Sweet Springs Nature Preserve, a 5-minute walk from the Cottage
El Moro Elfin Forest, in Los Osos, is a 90-acre natural area with trails and fabulous views.
The Elfin Forest has 200 species of plants and 145 kinds of birds, mammals, reptiles & amphibians.
Nearby Montaña de Oro State Park is one of the largest in California; has fabulous trails & beaches!
7,828 acres for you to explore: secluded sandy beaches, coastal plains & streams in wooded canyons.
“Mountain of Gold” hillsides with native plants and animals. Rich cultural & historical resources.
Fabulous trails for easy or strenuous hikes along the beach, bluffs, or inland in the mountains.
Windy Cove and the Morro Bay Golf Course, 7 minutes from the Cottage.
Nearby Hearst Castle is a fascinating National Historic Landmark, well worth a visit!
Hearst Castle was designed by architect Julia Morgan from 1919 - 1947 for William Randolph Hearst.
San Luis Obispo County has over 300 wineries. Come experience our award-winning local wines.
The Morros, 9 volcanic peaks between Morro Bay & SLO, are wonderful for photography and hiking.
Ancient oak trees nestle in valleys and cattle dot the beautiful ranchlands.
The wine regions of San Luis Obispo County are in the beautiful, rolling rural areas of the county.
San Luis Obispo County has over 80 miles of coastline and beaches for you to explore.
San Luis Obispo County -- California's Natural Escape. Come enjoy!
A quiet sunset along a nearby beach. Come experience it for yourself.
A bird's eye view of the Morro Bay boat mooring field.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jay F
Lancaster, California, United States
2 reviews
“First Time at the Green Cottage”
Reviewed December 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Had been told by friends about the Green Cottage and decided to spend a long weekend there. Booking was a breeze thanks to Pandora. When we arrived there was a bottle of local wine, a full fruit basket, and plenty of local coffee. We were not disappointed in the Cottage at all. The Cottage is clean and has everything there that you could need for a weekend getaway. It is located in a great area, with lots of things to do. A beautiful private deck that overlooks Morro Bay and a private pier for our use. We will look into visiting the Cottage again soon. Thanks so much for a great weekend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2014
It's fun when guests tell friends and they become guests too. And then, when we find out it is a special occasion like a birthday or anniversary, we always surprise our guests with a bottle of wine. The Cottage is a wonderfully romantic get-away for special occasions! Come see for yourself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne C
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
“I will be back!”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I have now stayed at The Green Cottage at least six times....that must say something about how special it is and all it has to offer. My go to destination for rest and relaxation. I now feel as if I'm a local. I spent the Thanksgiving holiday in the area and The Green Cottage was my home base. Enjoyed exploring some new places..Tiber Canyon Ranch Art festival in a beautiful Olive Orchard, Force of Nature winery in Paso Rolbes..excellent wines, Robins restaurant in Cambria... Salmon chowder a must, Sidecar for drinks in SLO, La Ciesta Mexican food in Los Osos....best salsa on the planet! Bayside Cafe in Morro Bay..great mud pie. Farmers Market in Baywood on Mondays lots of fun. Hikes in the Montana de Oro State Park..beautiful views.
The beauty and charm of the Green Cottage never disappoints and I don't think you will find a more spectacular view from the deck of the cottage anywhere.
Pandora and Gary go above and beyond to make sure their guests have exactly what they need. There is every amenity you could ever want... binoculars for bird watching, popcorn maker for popcorn while enjoying one of the many dvd's, high quality sheets,towels and pillows...the list is endless.
One thing is for sure....I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
This guest visits several times a year. We love her because she is so gracious and talented. We work very hard to assure our guests have a great and memorable experience. We know that the cleanliness and amenities make all the difference between a one-time guest and one that returns again and again. We strive to provide that kind of experience! That's why we have so many 5-Star reviews on this site and over 170 on another site. Visit and see why.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBTravele...
California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wanted to Stay Longer!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Of the many places we’ve had the good fortune to stay, this was one of our favorites. The cottage is in a wonderful location, on the water, at the south end of Morro Bay.

The cottage immediately felt like home to us. It is well decorated with an eclectic mix of styles, items and books. The bed is very comfortable, there is a living room area with a large collection of DVDs and there is a kitchen and dining area that opens to the deck.

It was hard to leave the deck with the beautiful sunrises, variety of birds and beautiful sunsets, all with Morro Rock the distance. We had excellent weather, so we spent a lot of time here eating or taking in the view. The location right on the water is very peaceful and the cottage is positioned to give you lots of privacy.

While hard to leave, the cottage is an excellent base for the great things to do on the Central Coast. We enjoyed hiking in nearby Montana de Oro, but in addition to the nearby town of Morro Bay, you are within striking distance of the wine country and even Hearst Castle.

Our hosts, Pandora and Gary, were friendly and helpful, while respecting our privacy and not being intrusive. Pandora is an artist and former graphic designer, and her good taste and sharp eye show in the way the cottage is decorated.

We’ll definitely be back and will definitely stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness, the view and the comfort.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Like many of our guests, this couple has returned to visit and enjoy our area's offerings and to photograph its beauty. Check out San Luis Obispo county on the official websites and see why people believe our area should remain a highly guarded secret. We truly are the "Middle Kingdom" as National Geographic once titled us. Get away from the fast pace of your life, and come unwind, relax and recharge, here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, secluded setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
We know how important it is to make our guests feel both welcomed and at home. That's why there are special touches throughout the Cottage, including fresh flowers from our rose garden, freshly ground coffees from our local roastery; soaps, shampoos, conditioners; an array of spices, herbs, teas, and almost every thing a foodie would want in their personal kitchen, much less a rental. We are in a very quiet residential area, right on the water. It's private, peaceful and has fabulous views. The Cottage is also central to everywhere in San Luis Obispo county. Visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and being so close to the water you could almost touch it!
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer!!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
This young woman needed a rest. She'd run a 100-miler in Oregon on the way down to the Cottage. Then after just a few days, began her trip back to Vancouver Island, and stopped in Oregon and ran another one. 100 miles! That's a bunch. We're delighted the Cottage provided her a respite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burbank, CA
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of home and the view
Liked least: That we only had a week there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
This couple has stayed with us often. They return because the like the quiet restful setting, and the abundance of things to see and do nearby. They like the fast and convenient WiFi and the over 400 DVDs in our movie library. They like purchasing from our Farmers Market on Mondays and from Tognazzini's fish market in Morro Bay. They have already booked their next stay. Come see why. Book now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything..though the view of Morro Bay is always on the top of the list.
Liked least: Having to leave...
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Jayne is one of our all-time-champion guests! In May 2014 she had already stayed 6 times, and she's been back several times a year since. We have plenty of repeat guests and this is due to a number of factors, but the key is how the property is presented with personal touches that make them feel that we've truly thought about them. We want our guests to have a fabulous experience. And they do. That's why they return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing