We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spectacular views!”

Montana de Oro State Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Los Osos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great network of biking trails make this state park a perfect destination for expert and beginner bikers alike.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“spectacular views!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been fortunate to live close to this great park for over thirty years. It has changed very little which is unusual. It is a magnificent place to walk, run, hike, ride a bike or find a quiet spot to meditate. The vistas are wonderful. Don't forget your camera!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank seaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    57
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's got it all”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ocean, beautiful shells, take the dog, take a stroll along the beach. Then take the time to stop by the estuary in Los Osos. If the tide is out there is a small beach to stroll. There are also some very good restaurants there tool

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cajansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peace, Tranquility, and Beauty”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I loved this park and the hiking trails. Be aware that you can bring your dog into the park and onto some beach areas, but not onto most of the trails. There was a wonderful docent named Barbara who lives in Pismo Beach and she took the time to explain to me why animals such as dogs and cats are not allowed. They leave a scent for a number of days that can be disconcerting for the wildlife and force them out of the park and into the local neighborhoods. To protect the bobcats and the foxes and coyotes and allow them to stay in the park, you do not want to scare them or make them feel their territory is in jeopardy. This is the FIRST time I have received a real explanation and I totally get it and am forever appreciative to Barbara for taking the time to offer this explanation, which makes total sense to me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MalibuHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place on the Central Coast!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the place to go for a stroll or a good long hike. The scenery is beautiful but watch out for snakes. Wear high top boots. I've seen many rattle snakes on the trails.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alltim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful coastline but no much else to see”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you're staying in San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay or Los Osos it's definitely worth a visit for it's long beach on the north end and beautiful rocky shore toward the south, And it's free! But there's relatively little interesting vegetation and we saw only one seal, one hawk, and a small flock of pelicans during a 4-hour hike out to see the controversial Diablo Canyon nuclear power plant. Only little kids and surfers in wetsuits will be able to put up with the chilly water, even in summer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bec333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana de Oro State Park also viewed

Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Montana de Oro State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing