We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Billy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Curtis Winery - CLOSED

Curtis Winery
Attraction details
Covina, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Billy”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited four amazing wineries on a quick trip to the Santa Ynez Valley last month, and Curtis was the stand-out favorite mainly because of our guide and pourer Billy. He obviously knows a lot about winemaking and loves his job, and his enthusiasm is infectious. Try out the chocolate pairing. There's even a truffle they pair with a white wine and it works surprisingly well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QuiltingSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I visited Curtis a number of years ago, but never made it back due to disappointing visit to Firestone and thought the Foley group also owned Curtis. Was delighted to find out the Firestone family still owns Curtis. The wine tasting was a great experience and the chocolate pairing was out of this world! Julie was engaging, not at all "business-like" in her approach and made me feel welcome. I will definitely return again and again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ocguy919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago< Illionois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did not plan on stopping by Curtis-but we were SO GLAD WE DID! It was a very nice, small boutique winery which prided itself on their craftmanship. I believe we had Billy who helped us with our tasting--and learned that all the employees participate in all parts of the production. This includes harvesting, bottling, and even "Stomping of the Grapes". Their wines are very REASONABLEY priced and this is not necessarily reflective of their HIGHER QUALITY-b/c they try to sell their wines at lower prices. They then sell about 80% of their GRAPES to other "commercial wineries" you may know..........so you are not paying for Marketing.

All in all-it was a hidden gem-with a fun story, philanthropic(Jar Head wine they donate 100% of profits to surviving families of fallen soldiers for children's school funds-and it is SIGNIFICANT $)

Cheers!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank juneravellobride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun tour!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Billy was a great host. We had a nice tasting and an informative little tour. The winery is of course beautiful and they had a lot of great products in their store. I didn't LOVE their wines but they were definitely good. Everyone was nice and we enjoyed the small-community feel of this place. Warning: It is cold in the tasting room so bring a sweater! Overall though, good experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When rating a winery, I want to be careful in making sure I don't rate the wine its self. Your palate may adore something I find gross. Curtis was the second stop on a long day of tasting. First off it is was a lovely location and the tasting room is nice, not quaint nor fancy, just nice. Lots of stuff for sale. The service was good even on a busy day. The lady who poured for us was friendly and knowledgeable without being snooty. She even pulled out a few extras for us to taste that were not on the list that day. No pressure to buy was felt, however we did get a few bottles that we enjoyed. The only thing I will say about the wines is, one of them smelled and tasted like a barnyard. I really wonder if anyone else noticed or thought this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shellywinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curtis Winery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing