We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Los Olivos”

Sides Hardware and Shoes - a Brothers Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sides Hardware and Shoes - a Brothers Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Los Olivos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Grand Avenue
Transit: Routes A and B stop across the street from Sides Hardware and Shoes. Please check www.syvt.com for route information.
Description: Brothers Matt and Jeff Nichols named Sides Hardware and Shoes in tribute to Milburn Sides who opened his store in Los Olivos in 1901. Serving lunch and dinner daily, enjoy The Brothers “bacon steak” – a thick cut of house-made applewood smoked maple bacon, the Hammered Pig Sandwich of Fried Pork Tenderloin with Apple and Mustard Seed Slaw, a classic Brothers Burger and Albacore Fish Tacos for lunch; as well as Fried Chicken, Lamb Sirloin and Salmon prepared with seasonal ingredients. Featuring eight local wines, stored in kegs and served on tap as well as a full list of Central Coast wines.
Montreal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Los Olivos”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant and this is the way food should be made and served.
These guys really know how to cook. My husband and I both had the special of the evening, grouper with chorizo which was excellent. Have to recreate this recipe at home. The flavours were just wonderful. We also had a salad for starters which were so nice and fresh tasting with just a light yogurt vinaigrette.
We were so impressed with this restaurant that we booked again the next night and were not disappointed again. This time again we had the same starter salads and for mains we had the thick cut pork chop and the bolognaise with pasta which were both excellent. Service was excellent throughout. All I can say is that the food was fantastic and we will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    95
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Los Olivos”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We heard, and read, that Sides is the best place to have lunch in Los Olivos and this little restaurant lived up to it's reputation. Great bloody Mary's. The grilled cheese sandwich with sweet potato sides was amazing. The fish tacos were fresh and good. We didn't try the burgers but they were huge and looked delicious. The place was very busy; they do not take reservations for breakfast (on the weekends) or lunch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

small little town small little restaurant. fried calamari was perfectly done. flat bread on table was spiced and really good. had radish salad with 3 different types of radishes, it was wonderful. the grilled salmon hada nice crust but very flaky and tender. MAKE A RESERVATION. it fills up fast. stop there you will be amazed at the great food in this really small town

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level Contributor
302 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Who knew breakfast could be this good.....”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Another day off to the beautiful wine region of Santa Ynez for wine tasting. We stopped for breakfast first and the others in my group had the opportunity to come here once before. The chefs here used to run the restaurant up the street at the old stagecoach stop Mattei's Tavern until about a year or so ago. The building is as old as the town and was once long ago.........you guessed it a Hardware and Shoe store. Now lets set the clock to modern day. When you walk in you can tell by the cut of the building that it has some history and there are great pictures on the walls of what it looked like years ago. For breakfast everything was not only great but original tasting. I had the Eggs benedict which came with what was called "brothers bacon steak" and a hollandaise sauce that was so unusual but classic in taste all in one. This was quite the treat. Someone at our table ordered an extra side of sausage to try and I was glad that they did. This sausage that was second to none. At our table the breakfast sandwich and french toast plates were both also ordered and were marveled about. Heres one other, the coffee was really good. It defintely was not a short order restaurant brand but something hand picked by the owners to compliment the great breakfast faire that they were serving. All in all you should think about coming here before a long grueling day of wine tasting. It will defintely get your day off and running in the perfect direction.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedimasterkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice Place Among the Tasting Rooms”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Several tasting rooms recommended Sides. After 10 tastings we needed no wine but wanted good food. Our kids had the cheeseburgers, I had the pork chop and my wife and daughter had the Kobe Bolognese. We started with two arugula based salads with great dressing. The burgers and fries were excellent, the chop well seasoned and juicy, and the pasta was a little benefit of sauce and just ok. Dessert of the pineapple upside down cake and peanut butter panna cotta. All was good though fairly pricey. The server was helpful and ice and the atmosphere lively but comfortable.$150 plus tip for the six of us.

Helpful?
Thank entrejoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sides Hardware and Shoes - a Brothers Restaurant also viewed

 
Los Olivos, CA
 

Been to Sides Hardware and Shoes - a Brothers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing