We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Los Olivos Wine Tasting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fess Parker Wine Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Olivos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here last Saturday as a last minute decision. We were only planning on staying around the town of Los Olivos to avoid having to do any driving. This hotel was perfect. I have been through Los Olivos about a dozen times and never knew this hotel was right on the main street. We walked to a bunch of tasting rooms and other places around town, the location is very conveneient. The hotel decor was very nice and the room was clean and spacious. We stayed in a regular "Luxury Guest Room." The room had a Fireplace, refrigerator, desk, 2 chairs placed by the window, closet, large bathroom, huge TV and a King bed. Definatley enough space for 2 people. The restaurant at the hotel has a limited menu so you may have to venture out for food depending on what you are in the mood for. However, the hotel gives you complimentary breakfast everyday for the restaurant and they have many breakfast menu options. I will definatley stay here on my next trip up there, and would recommend visitors to consider this location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyn2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Fess Parker Wine Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 364 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked the Winter Wonderland package, and without a lot of pre-planning, still felt we got a lot of bang for the buck. Luxury Spa room was very spacious -- although room only has a shower, no tub! Complimentary bottled water in room fridge, Keurig coffees and tea by the pool, which is heated. Package included full breakfast each day, 3-course dinner at Petro's with wine tasting/pairing per course (nice surprise), 4 wine tastings plus a 55-minute massage for 2 that we upgraded to hot-stone for additional $10 each. We even had a celebrity sighting... let's just say he was a little outside his "Northern Exposure." A secret find in a sleepy town. Perfect weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms 20/21 are in back of hotel, off main street. Very quiet, private.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lola86B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everything about the Inn is First Class! Although a bit pricey, it is worth the stay. a great location for touring around the neighboring vineyards. Excellent breakfast included. Petro's in the Inn, has a somewhat limited Greek menu, but all delicious. The wine (and beer) tasting down the hall in Bin 2860 is terrific. They offer an unusual variety to choose from. We found this exceptionally attractive as an alternative to the vineyards who offer their specialized fare. The tasting menu was very diversified and International as well. Big surprise were the beer flavors.

Room Tip: Large suites available in a separate building across the street from the main Inn building.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenKinSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Fess Parkers in Los Olivos. We have stayed at quite a few places in Santa Ynez, and this was by far the best. Excellent staff, service, rooms etc. It's nice being able to walk out the door to local restaurants and wine tasting rooms. Also, Petros for breakfast at Fess Parkers was delicious. We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room #2 at the main building and loved it. Very nice room, fireplace, compfy king bed...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

But you need to preplan to squeeze the value out of this as it is pricey.
We stayed on a Tuesday evening. The room was a bit under $400 - but there are things included: breakfast and tastings at 3 tasting rooms.
Plus (here's where preplanning comes in) - if you are a member of the Fess Parker wine club you get a 15 or 20% discount on your room. That's quite a discount!
Plus the facility and the adjoining Petros restaurant are both excellent. The little village of Los Olivos is charming during the week (not as crowded as the on the weekeknds).
And the best towels and bed ever!

Room Tip: We were across the street from the main building. Our room was street level and on the street, and...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

All too often expensive inns and hotels offer attractive common areas with mediocre rooms and furnishings. This inn has the attractive common areas but also offers rooms and suites with high quality furnishings, including the first gas fireplaces that you turn on and off with a light switch (yes, they are real burning gas fireplaces, not the schlocky ones with rotaing light bulbs. Although the original building was old, it has been upgraded so well that you would never know it; the rooms are quiet, the furnishings tasteful and comfortable. The bathrooms are exceptionally well designed, with the first showers we have seen with multiple showerheads mounted vertically that was your entire body.

Breakfast at the inn's Greek restaurant is included in the price. Don't let the "Greek" part put you off, this is an excellent restaurant, with warm, friendly service.

It really seems that everything Fess Parker touched was first-rate. We have stayed at his hotel in Santa Barbara, which we liked, although we like this one better, perhaps because (it is said) his wife designed this one. He also ownd a vineyard near Los Olivos (fre passes for wine tasting are provided for inn guests) that is known for producing excellent wines.

Across Grand Street from the inn is a small handicapped access facility offering equally nice rooms. To the right of it, behind a gate that your inn room key will open, is zero edge swimming pool. A great place on a warm day.

SUGGESTION #1: Take a left on Grand Street that fronts the inn, and go about a mile out of town until you come to a wonderful lavender farm. Smells to die for.

SUGGESTION #2: If you're driving north on U.S. Route 101, stop off at the Laetitian Winery tasting room just before you get to Santa Maria. We really liked every wine we sampled, and ended up buying six different ones.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite (about $100 more per night than a room), but the rooms seemed to be equally nic...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caliber01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We typically don't like to spend more than $200 a night on a hotel because either we are out most of the time, or find it just isn't worth it. Fess Parker's is certainly an exception. The pace in Los Olivos is pleasantly slow and relaxing and one can spend only so much of the day out wine tasting. There is time to just hang out, and the Inn is the perfect place to do it. The entire place (except the lobby restrooms) has been recently renovated and they really did it right. The rooms are beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could want and lots of attention to detail. All the modern conveniences, yet still very warm and inviting. The cost of the room includes tastings at the Fess Parker Winery just north of town, two wineries in town owned by the Parker Family (Epiphany and E&T) and the shop located in the hotel. It also includes breakfast at their Petros Restaurant, one of the best breakfasts we've had. When one considers that the tastings and the breakfast for two are at least a $100 value, the cost of the room isn't as much as it seems.

Here's a good itinerary for an overnight stay. Arrive early, and even if your room isn't ready, get your voucher for the complimentary tastings. Go a block up to the Los Olivos General Store and get a picnic lunch to go at Panino (great sandwiches). Drive out to the Fess Parker Winery and have your lunch on the grounds while doing your tasting. Head back into town and do more tasting at Epiphany or E&T. Then, enjoy the late afternoon at the Inn's new pool area before dinner at Petros (or one of the very good restaurants in town like the Los Olivos Cafe or Brothers). Sleep in, have a leisurely breakfast (served til 11:00 am) and do some more tasting before heading out.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and the staff were all terrific. The quality is high-end, but the atmosphere is very comfortable....will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mchagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Olivos
4.1 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
411 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
805 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
5.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
918 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fess Parker Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fess Parker Wine Country Inn

Address: 2860 Grand Avenue, Los Olivos, CA 93441
Location: United States > California > Los Olivos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Olivos
Price Range: $387 - $804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fess Parker Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular property highlights: - Breakfast included - Free self parking - Free WiFi - The Bear and Star Restaurant - Outdoor pool Wine country charm Just off the Santa Ynez Valley vineyard-loop highway, the hotel is on Los Olivos' tranquil main street: six picturesque blocks of antique shops, art galleries, and tasting rooms. Spa treatments with vineyard themes are offered at the Hotel's Spa and Boutique: a tranquil retreat for unique and relaxing experience. Other amenities at Fess Parker Wine Country Inn include a pool, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary wine tastings. Each of the 19 individually furnished guestrooms has its own fireplace and bathrobes. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available as well as turndown services with distinct and personalized amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fess Parker Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Wine Country Hotel Los Olivos
Fess Parkers Wine Country Hotel
Country Inn Los Olivos
Fess Parkers Wine Country Resort
Los Olivos Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing