We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast if You Stay at the Fess Parker Inn”
Review of The Bear and Star

The Bear and Star
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bear and Star is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Los Olivos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Description: Sourcing from the Parker family ranch just seven miles away on Foxen Canyon Road in Santa Barbara wine country, The Bear and Star will raise Wagyu cattle, chickens, quail, bees, heirloom fruits,and organic vegetables. Chef Partner John Cox expertly crafts the storyline where he will create Texan-inspired refined ranch cuisine unique to Los Olivos.
Restaurant details
Description: Sourcing from the Parker family ranch just seven miles away on Foxen Canyon Road in Santa Barbara wine country, The Bear and Star will raise Wagyu cattle, chickens, quail, bees, heirloom fruits,and organic vegetables. Chef Partner John Cox expertly crafts the storyline where he will create Texan-inspired refined ranch cuisine unique to Los Olivos.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We almost missed this opportunity, but the breakfast is free if you are staying at the Fess Parker Inn. A very nice breakfast and very friendly staff.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2018

Went there today for lunch. Fantastic food, fantastic place, fantastic service. Couldn't have asked for more...

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank antonioVBoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Very pretty restaurant but down hill after that. Food and service just average. Oysters and Brussel sprouts pretty good. Pinquito beans were like baked beans and not our local pinquitos that we like. Steak and frites just OK with the steak being on the tough and gristley side. Service was nothing special. Cost was not out of line for a very nice lunch in the area but this wasn’t a very nice lunch. We are locals and probably won’t be back, too many other places that we can enjoy a lot more.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jbhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

For the most part I limit myself to positive reviews and this is no exception. Looking for a nice dinner on a busy night we were able to get a table at The Bear and Star. My wife has some nutrition issues. When we inquired our server, Michael spoke to Chef Trenton Shank and they graciously made some substitutions. We were also able to split the entree, a wonderful12oz Wagyu beef ribeye. They prepared the entire meal without salt. After dinner we got a look at the Chefs knife collection. While looking Chef Shank came out to show us the mushroom grower, his vinegar distiller and we had a nice talk. Before that Michael had shown us the shelves of fermenting and pickling fruits, seeds and vegetables. They all so grow most if not all their veggies spices and meat. Come on folks it “don’t get better then this. We’ll be back for the “back Yard bar b que” and the chefs table

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank mfp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018

5 Stars for Breakfast!
So we went back to the Fess Parker Country Inn and had a wonderful breakfast again. Besides the Salmon Toast, we tried the Pancakes (amazing Acorn Flour pancakes!).

1-2 Stars for Room Service...
We had a long day and opted to grab a DVD and get room service. We ordered the Wagyu burger - Medium. After 30 mins it arrived, it was way overcooked and hard as a hockey puck. We knew there was an issue trying to cut it in half.

We ordered a new one (which also took 30 mins) and was very good. They also added more fries.

Still hungry we

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ace90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bear and Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing