We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so fast, fast food”

Andale Mexican Family Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 164 Restaurants in Los Gatos
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so fast, fast food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to Andale Taqueria on a very hot day and I don't think there is air conditioning in the restaurant making the wait for food seem a little long.
You order your food at the counter and the freshly made, good Mexican food and drink orders are brought to your table. There is a variety of salsas and peppers to go along with your Mexican food and chips, there is a small charge for chips .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food, location but restaurant environment needs improvement”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I visited Andale upon recommendation of a local retail shop owner when I was out shopping w/ a friend from out of town. I mostly recommend the restaurant and below are my observations of pro's and cons:
1) Location - perfect as is right on main strip of Los Gatos downtown near shopping and not too far from the parking lots or street parking.
2) Menu - unique and traditional mexican food - nice combination menu.
3) Service - Mixed feelings; everyone was nice certainly but the process of ordering food is similar to fast food restaurant where you order and pay and then they come bring you food to your table. Then when the server brings your food and drink that is the last time you see them. Therefore obtaining refills or other is difficult and you have to interrupt your meal to go back to the counter. Kinda puts a damper on the meal if you are having a great visit w/ friends.
4) Environment - We at outside in the back patio which although is LOVELY garden - it has flies that kept bothering us! They really need to do something about that and the birds kept flying down and landing on the tables and people were feeding them so the fear of bird poo was real. Inside was very dark and small so the table choices were not great. They need to do something about customer choices to sit and eat and fix the garden area for less flies / birds. (It was lovely garden).
5) Food - Fantastic. I had the mini soft tacos - fish tacos w/ spicy cabbage. My friend had chicken and both were great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmacbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I would eat here every day”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am a bit of a Mexican food junkie, and this place ranks high on my list as the freshest and most flavorful with a fantastic location on a great street in a great little town. I love the chipotle burrito, the tostada salad, the shrimp burrito in a spinach tortilla, the roasted chicken, the guacamole, etc. I have never had anything I don't like, and it's served up in just minutes for you to enjoy in their cozy outdoor patio with a margarita or an ice cold cerveza, yum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatfoodandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
468 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Decent "taqueria" food but not outstanding”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Pretty much a souped-up taqueria with prices to match. However there aren't a lot of choices in the immediate area if you want great authentic taqueria food. La Taqueria (SF) it is not ;(

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

40 minutes to get food to table. Arrogant server. Food finally arrived. Cold. Salad came out with no dressing. We often get it to go, 50% chance order will be right.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andale Mexican Family Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Andale Mexican Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing