We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with average restaurant”
Review of Toll House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toll House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stonington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel with average restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff at the front desk were remarkable; they and all the other staff we dealt with on the hotel side of things were extraordinary. They were the most competent the most friendly that we hever dealt with.. Unfortunately they were in quite a contrast with the waitstaff the restaurant. Getting the attention of a waiter was almost an ordeal. They were either understaffed and overworked or simply indifferent to what they were supposed to be doing. The food was quite good; it did not live up to the level of the hotel staff; but it was certainly better than most hotels have to offer. So our recommendation is to go there to stay in the hotel and do your best to eat somewhere else.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hank7503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Hank7503
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit to the Toll House Hotel. While I am very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel service, I am disappointed that your restaurant experience was below your expectations. We have had some really positive reviews regarding the restaurant recently, but I will also share your specific feedback. It is important we look where our opportunities are and continuously improve. Your feedback is valuable.

Thank you again. I hope that you return to the Toll House soon and have a perfect experience throughout your stay.

Best Regards,
Jim Gerney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    328
    128
    43
    25
See reviews for
318
266
54
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I’ve stayed here three times now over the last few months, and I just made a reservation for later this month. As others have mentioned, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I was impressed that the front desk people even remembered my name and said hi when I was walking through the lobby, but I can never remember anyone’s name so that always impresses me. Ha! And you can’t beat the location a few steps off the main drag downtown.

The rooms are well kept, clean, the beds are comfortable enough, they have a video library where you can check out free movies and play then on the DVD player in your room, and I’ve never had any noise issues from other guests or in the halls. There are only a couple of things I might mention for improvement.

(1) I found the internet connection to be spotty, slow and unreliable, and it was a problem on my first stay because I usually have to do some work when I’m there (even on weekends), my work depends on a solid internet connection. Fortunately, I have a mobile hotspot that is not all that fast, but gets me by with a reliable connection. Otherwise, I might have had to cross this hotel off my list entirely, but I read a note from the manager on here that they are upgrading their internet and it should be completed by this month, so I’ll have to test that out on my stay at the end of the month.

(2) There is only one ice machine on each floor – which can be a long walk from your room, and I think they are on their last leg. Every time I’ve tried to use them (doesn’t matter which floor) I can barely get anything out of them. I keep having to push the button over and over to get a few half frozen cubes with each push. Time to replace, I think (hint, hint). :-)

Still gets 5 stars from me though. Overall, I really like this unique hotel and feel very comfortable and at home here.

Room Tip: I think the courtyard rooms are what they consider their preferred rooms, but I personally like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDT_UCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent staff. Stayed there 6 days. Wonderfully helpful desk clerk Amanda, and extremely helpful person on their engineering/maintenance staff named Tony, are just two of the many staff people who went out of their way to make it a comfortable experience.

Tony (who went out of his way, with skill and creativity, to devise a fix for a problem I was experiencing with my car) confided that he was leaving for a different position in another hotel in two days, but he added that he was leaving only because of a higher position opening up elsewhere, and that he would really miss his co-workers and management at the Toll House because "it has been a wonderful place to work at." That the staff apparently is treated well shows in how they in turn treat guests. Tony also shared that after he becomes experienced at the higher position at the other hotel, he hopes in a few years to be able to return to the Toll House to head their engineering/maintenance department. If he does, I know the Toll House will be getting a top rate manager.

I recommend this hotel most highly, because of its people.

Green Features: they are very into sustainability, low impact, recycling
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel V, Front Office Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Rob S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this invigorating feedback and recognizing some of our amazing staff that we are so lucky to have with us. Your absolute comfort is our main goal and I am pleased to hear that during your 6 days with us, we were successul. Thank you again for recommending our hotel and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Abel Veloz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while we attended a wedding. We loved it so much we changed our other hotel reservation and returned the night before we were flying out of the area. The service was wonderful, the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. Around the area there are several good restaurants and lots of little shops. On Sundays there is an amazing farmers market outside the hotel that has just about anything you could want. We went and ate there twice! Our stay was extremely memorable and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGators2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently for our one year anniversary, and we had an amazing time! I highly recommend staying here as everything was perfect. The staff is amazing and as attentive as any luxury hotel where you would pay three or four times the price. Special thanks goes out to Abel and Emily (and Pam in the hotel restaurant). They all helped to make our anniversary such a special time. The room was very comfortable, and the view of the mountains was amazing from our balcony. Excellent location: My wife and I took a day trip to Santa Cruz, and it only took us about 25 minutes to arrive at the beach. The shops around the hotel are upscale and nice, and we indulged in a massage at the spa affiliated with the hotel, pricey, but VERY NICE. We take trips to Santa Cruz often, and we are going to make this our regular hotel for our trips. We can't wait until our next luxurious stay at the beautiful Toll House!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel V, Front Office Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Rod W,

It was such a pleasure to meet you and your wife personally, and I am absolutley thrilled to know that everything was perfect during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor, it means a lot to us. We all anticipate your next visit to the area so that we can provide you and your wife another special stay. Have a wonderful summer!

Yours in hospitality,

Abel Veloz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Toll House for 5 nights in late March and we have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Upon arrival we were met by very warm and helpful staff, making check-in very easy and pleasant. All of the other staff we encountered during our five days were equally nice! What a pleasure!
The rooms were nice, and the bathrooms were beautifully updated and clean.
The location could not have been better - walking distance to the beautiful 'downtown' area.
When we come back to the Los Gatos area, we will definitely stay at the Toll House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mittig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay if you are a road warrior. The front desk is great. Carlos & Annleigh are was there to help you out. 3 degrees is a great place to eat. Pam is always there to great you with a smile. When you need a drink ask for Jen, mike or Austin. Caitlyn the manager will go out of her way to get you whatever you need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coltbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel V, Front Office Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Coltbarnett,

Thank you for such an encouraging review. It sounds like you have made many wonderful connections with our team. We want to say thank you for being our guest and the outstanding recognition that you have shared. You are like family when you stay with us, and we wish you nothing less than a memorable stay. We truley are energized by feedback like this. Have a great day!

Yours in hospitality,

Abel Veloz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
232 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
120 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Property: Toll House Hotel
Address: 140 S Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Toll House is a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. Just off the lobby is Verge Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing