We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, solid property.”
Review of Toll House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toll House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, solid property.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just concluded a very nice stay at the Toll House in the center of Los Gatos. First, the downside, the few negatives that made this rating Very Good but not Excellent:

1. Spa and health club was under renovation and unavailable. The hotel substituted a pass to work out a a local club down the street, but it's not quite the same.
2. The lobbyis small, and really doesn't offer any seating that allows collegues to meet and work. Compounded by the restuarant NOT being open for lunch.
3. Room service was fine...except they were out of menu items rye bread and tomato juice. One? Ok, but both?

Now the good news. Extremely attentive staff, from front desk through to maintenance. Every interaction was positive, professional and reassuring - this is a great team. My room (two doubles) was spacious and extremely quiet, the bath was well laid out and very functional. I had a small balcony, and while the window was small, the glass door made up for it and did not make me feel claustrophobic.

The work area was functional - would have preferred a better desk chair, but the balance of the layout was fine. WiFi throughout the property. Large flat screen as you would expect, plus a DVD player and a nice loaner library int he lobby.

Bed and bedding was excellent - left me totally comfortable and totally rested.

If you are doing business in silicon valley, this is a great place to base. Highly recommended, and I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 226 overlooks the side of the property, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Pedalboy
Thank you for both the accolades as well as the constructive review. We have a great location for both business and pleasure in Silicon Valley, and our team is really excited to see more happy guests. We look forward to your return soon.
Many Thanks
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    328
    128
    43
    25
See reviews for
318
266
54
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Toll House has nice people working there, quite a businessy vibe, and innocuous rooms that are fine if you're not paying too much. (We paid about $100.) Our Queen room was easily big enough for the two of us, with a large bathroom. The location is handy for eating at Manresa, and we appreciated the spa water in the lobby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear BPCH;
Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our seasonal special. I also am happy that you had a great experience with our team. That’s what we are here for. I hope that you can return soon. In the meantime, all the best.

Regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I was here at this hotel for family members wedding. The hotel is very beautiful and all the rooms are very nice. The staff is very friendly. And was willing to help us with anything we needed. It's also in a perfect location in Los Gatos words right onto Main Street. It's in downtown and walking distance to most things. They also have free parking which is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RahulMD,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you found the staff to be so accommodating. We strongly believe that our friendly and helpful staff are the best asset in the hotel. When your future travels bring you to Los Gatos, we look forward to welcoming you back to Toll House!

Best regards,

Will Farrow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The location of the Toll House Hotel couldn't be better. It has ample free parking underneath and in back, and a good restaurant inside. It's close to numerous other restaurants and shops downtown. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. My only regret was that there was no refrigerator. The hotel was replacing carpets in the hallways, and the rooms looked to be newly-decorated also. The rate we payed (reservation made on an iPad as we neared town) made it a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro bay, ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Customer service is wonderful. They offered us floor options for our room, gave a free Toll House cookie when we checked in, upgraded our room for free, all of the room service staff had nothing but smiles and were very polite.
The room was very comfortable and relaxing. We reserved a room with 2 double beds and was upgraded to one with a balcony(balcony was very spacious!). The beds and linen were so comfortable. I slept very well. I loved the bathroom, lots of room. There was no refrigerator in the room though, which I didn't check for before I made the reservation, but that would have been nice. Seemed like there would have been room for one.
Room service from the hotel restaurant was very yummy. I ordered the Rotissere chicken that came with garlic mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts with bacon! There was also this amazing sauce on the plate, which I dipped all of my food in! Breakfast I ordered the smoked salmon plate that came with a bagel, that was also very yummy.
We were only here for one night because my boyfriend had to dj down the street at Los Gatos Bar and Grill so we usually just stay in place with not so many amenities, but this was a nice treat for us. We will definitely be coming back to this place when we have to be in the area and will recommend it to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laceymatzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear laceymatzie;
Thanks for the great review! It is our pleasure to deliver excellent service, and I am pleased that you enjoyed so many of our amenities. Our staff is really committed to every guest and their experience. We thrive on seeing our guests have fun, and hear that they will be back. We look forward to your return soon.

Regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a great room it's close to downtown Los gatos. Right where all the great places to explore are. You can be in Santa Cruz within a half hour. The restraint could have used a little less a Danish or something small for a good light start but there are great breakfast places around downtown.

Room Tip: Eat out there are lots of good restraunts to enjoy in the neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbocchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend and it seems to have gone down hill since last year. A lot of the carpeting is stained, no one ever offered us the cookies, it would be nice if they had complimentary coffee downstairs in the morning instead of charging $3 a cup.
The only reason we stay here is the location of being able to walk to a cute town. Our room this year was also much smaller than last. Not sure why.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Lori256;
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your visit to the Toll House Hotel. I am sorry that we did not deliver to your expectation. As a repeat guest, I hope that you would have experienced an even better visit that your previous. Your comments regarding the carpet are aligned with our replacement of all of the hallway carpet. The carpet replacement was completed last week. I also would like to apologize that we missed the mark on your room assignment, as well as the cookie presentation. These are our strengths, and I am disappointed we did not deliver. I hope that you would give us a third try. I am happy to welcome you back, and look forward to your return. Please contact me directly for any assistance I may provide.

Regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
232 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
120 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Property: Toll House Hotel
Address: 140 S Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Toll House is a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. Just off the lobby is Verge Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing