We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than a room-by-the-hour joint...”
Review of Toll House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toll House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not that I really know what a room by the hour joint is like, but I can only imagine it is better than this place. I have been here for only two hours, and if the other hotels near here weren't booked, I'd already be gone. I might still move to another hotel that is less conveniently located. After waiting at check-in for someone to "inspect" my room after housekeeping was finished with it, I got my keys and went to the room, only to find hair in the tub and half used amenity bath products. I called the front desk, and they could not have been nicer. They immediately offered to change my room. The second room was much more run down, but at least safer since it was Oman upper floor. Still, the bathroom was not clean, and the amenities were used. This time, I took the used products to the front desk. The attendant apologized, then offered me new bottles, but one had clearly been previously opened since it was indented and resealed. By this time, I had already been awake going on 22 hours due to travel, so I just took it and walked away, frustrated. I'm normally easy going, and thought maybe this is just a bad day for the hotel. When I got back to my room, I called room service so I could eat and then get some sleep. Even though the in -room dining menu said I could order dinner after 3, and when I checked I was told the restaurant opened at 3, the person on the phone said I could not order til after five. I challenged this, and was told the kitchen would call me back, which they did. I ordered a sandwich and a glass of wine. The sandwich was hideous... Flavorless, and not hot, although it was supposed to be a grilled sandwich. The wine came in glass that was filfthy... It had dried. It of paper and who knows what stuck outside and inside the glass. The motel where I usually stay, just down the street, is spotless and half the price. I guess I know why they were sold out. I come to Los gatos twice a year for a conference. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear A D M,

We always appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experiences with us and with other travellers on tripadvisor.com. As part of a new senior management team, I want you to know that we take your feedback very seriously and we will use your experience to improve and prevent such experiences from happening to future guests. We also particularly appreciate guests who speak to our managers on-site and provide us with the opportunity to recover from an unfortunate experience before writing a review. As much as we work to eliminate them, mistakes will occur, but we believe it is how we respond that will define us and distinguish us from our competitors. I strongly encourage you to call or write to me to discuss your experience further. I fervently hope for the opportunity to serve you again and to earn back your trust and your business.

Best regards,

Will Farrow
Director of Rooms
Toll House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a friend's wedding. Overall, the property was excellent. The location was great, the rooms were clean, modern, and had nice balconies/views. The parking was free, and underground/shaded. They give you a day pass to the rec center which has a decent pool, and workout facilities. The bar/patio area are cozy and the food is fairly priced and tasty. My only real complaint was that checkin took a very long time as they described everything and made you sign waivers for partying and the like. Not a huge deal, and otherwise a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UAAJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It took us close to 30 minutes to check in with only one person ahead if us in line. I experienced the same upon check out. The Front Desk Clerks were pleasant but very slow. I wasn't sure if this was as a result of the guest room management system.

The rooms are comfortable however are not soundproof. Amenities are small but Are the l'occatine line so quite good.

The restaurant with very friendly staff served me my best cup of tea in California.

You get what you pay for and at $165 per night it was overall fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewingsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First of all, Los Gatos is one of the most charming towns in the Silicon Valley. It has many chic eateries and boutiques, surrounded by beautifully maintained Victorian homes. Toll House is conveniently located within walking distance to the many restaurants & shops, and close to the major cities (12 miles from San Jose, 21 miles from Santa Cruz, and 54 miles from San Francisco). Our room had a nice balcony that overlooked the courtyard which was perfect for sitting, relaxing, sipping coffee and reading a book on an early summer morning. Our cushioned beds were oh-so-comfy!! The hotel does not have a pool, unfortunately, but from what I've heard, it does have a whirlpool and a small fitness center.
There are 2 reasons for the average rating: 1) My friend had left me a very important envelope at the front desk. However, when the work shift changed, the new clerk had no idea where the envelope was placed. The subpar communication between staff members needs to improve. 2) On the last morning of our stay, there was construction on the floor above us with very loud drilling. For the price of these rooms, really, I expected more...

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while we were attending a friends wedding. A large group from the wedding stayed here. The room was very nice, the air conditioner was a little loud, but the bed was clean and comfy. The bar area is great for a group to hang out and grab a drink or 3 at. They give you really good cookies when you check in, which is always a bonus :) and free, easy parking was a plus.

Perfect for our purposes!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at the Toll House after being horribly disappointed with my original hotel choice in Saratoga. The people at the Toll House were gracious on all accounts, got us the last room in the hotel! (It was a busy wedding weekend!)

Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Every single encounter with a Hotel employee was terrific, I felt completely at home, and after the bad encounter at the previous hotel, the Toll House was perfect.

We dined in the restaurant frequently during our four-day stay, and enjoyed every minute. The staff in the hotel were warm, friendly, and fun to chat with. The menu was terrific!

We enjoyed sitting around on the patio and reading books, or just relaxing, and the fire-pit was a great touch for a warm summer night. I wish I was there right now!

I don't know what kind of people wrote the other reviews, but I was greatly impressed with the Hotel entirely, and I don't expect to bother staying at any other hotel any time I'm in the area. Every time I passed through the lobby, people at the front desk greeted me, as did anyone else I saw.

The Toll House has lots of surprising and charming touches, from the s'mores boxes for kids at the front desk to the infused water in the lobby, a different one each day.

There's a nice business center right off the lobby, and they have a big selection of movies to borrow. There is a small exercise room, with nice equipment to use (a treadmill, elliptical and hand-weights, etc.)

I had a great time staying at the Toll House, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good hotel experience. It's ideally situated in Los Gatos, easy to find, and within easy walking distance of tons of shops, restaurants, the entrance to Highway 17 is right up the street.

It was really quiet there at night, our second night there, someone was drunkenly playing their cello, but it was quickly stopped (within minutes) and never occurred again. I slept soundly with the sliding door open each night. As for the balcony furniture - it's outdoor furniture, it's supposed to be weathered!

I'm traveling through Los Gatos twice this coming September - each time I'll be staying at the Toll House! Wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor if you want it more quiet, most first floor rooms lead directly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoltarpanaflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in Los Gatos while attending our sons wedding in the area. We started our trip in San Francisco after arriving from the east coast. While in San Francisco, we stayed at a a motel in the marina area (which we rated 5 stars at half the price). And I wish we had stayed there for our entire trip. We wanted to be closer to the wedding site on the day of the wedding, so decided to stay in Los Gatos at the Toll House Hotel. Very bad decision. The only good thing about the Toll House Hotel was the bathroom. Staff extremely rude, rooms outdated, private patio extremely dirty with tables and chairs that should have been replaced years ago. Didn't find the town very interesting either. We would never stay at the Toll House again or recommend it to anyone. It would have been worth it to make the 1 1/2 hour drive back to San Francisco after the wedding to stay at that wonderful 5 star motel. I guess you don't always get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Rosemary,
I am so disappointed to hear your stay during your son's wedding was not typical of the level of service we are known for. I appreciate hearing from our guests as your insight will ensure that future guests do not experience product and service deficiencies. We are currently in the process of a renovation and I hope you will afford us another opportunity to share the product upgrades currently taking place. We are delighted your son chose our Town for his wedding and send our sincere congratulations to you and your family. Please don't hesitate to call on me if I can be of further assistance.
Patricia Morreale, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
0.7 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
152 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,505 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Address: 140 S Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range: $143 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Toll House is a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. Just off the lobby is Verge Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing