We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a bed and that's about it...”
Review of Los Gatos Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Gatos Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I booked a room here for my daughters and mother for one night until our moving truck arrived with the beds.

The first room we were given was towards the back, the room had a horrible musty/moldy smell and one of the beds had a lean to it. The head of the bed was much lower than the foot. In general the room was shabby and rundown. Went back to the front desk to request another room, the man at the desk seemed surprised but gave us a new room. The new room was much cleaner and looked like it had been refurbished in recent history. Breakfast was provided, but everyone came back hungry. It was cheap for the one night but I wouldn't recommend staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkygeekydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel was great- stayed for 4 days on a business trip. Theres nothing in walking distance in the immediate area, will have to drive everywhere. The room met all my basic needs: clean, nice and safe location. If you want extra amenities, you can pay the $150+ at other local hotels, but this place met my needs comfortably. Yes, it's a little dated, but it truly did give me that 'lodge' feeling. My only problem was that their free wifi wouldn't connect/kept disconnecting me.

Pros: price, safe, comfortable bed, clean, continental breakfast with quality items, driving distance to most locations, Enrique @ front desk was nice and welcoming, close to HWY.

Cons: Internet problems

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppleRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

stayed here my room was very clean and comfortable!!! The staff were very friendly and nice the pool looked great although it wasn't the weather to enjoy it. Plenty of parking it is a great place to stay. food is good and tasty... also offers a complimentary fitness facility

Room Tip: Executive Suite - in-room jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mukesh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Clean basic rooms at a great value. Some people may complain about this place being outdated, but I think that the beautiful garden more than makes up for it. The staff was very responsive and friendly. The property is close to the freeway, but it was nice and quiet in our room. Overall our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. I would recommend my friends and family to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Los Gatos Lodge for four nights in July 2011. Clean, basic room at a modest price. Ample free parking. Hearty breakfast buffet with hot and cold items included in cost of room. Beautiful lush gardens, very well maintained. Helpful, pleasant staff. Based on our experience, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I write this after my first night here. I had no bed pillows and none were provided. I had only the usual decorator pillows (with the covering matching the bedspread) and they could not provide me with real pillows when I asked -- but they did bring pillow cases so I wouldn't have to put my face on what wasn't washed regularly. But the place was quiet last night so I slept well on the old fashioned mattress. The pool closed early. There's nothing to eat late at night within walking distance. Mostly just disappointing. But I'm getting it cheap. I've got one more night here. I hope I get pillows. AND I asked for a 7 am wake up call and it's now 7:08 and I didn't get it. TERRIBLE service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicureSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

If your travels take you near the Los Gatos area, then certainly reading the local maps will lead you to this place. Although this is certainly not the worst hotel I've ever been in, it's not the best either, not by a long shot.

First of all, the rooms: I'm sure they were very fashionable and "hip" in about 1970. The walls are inconsistent between somewhat ugly wallpaper and an odd, almost corrugated, style. Lighting is basic, heavy on harsh fluorescent fixtures, not even the newer kinds that somewhat look like regular light bulbs. In-room amenities are basic, but include a coffee maker...it's like no other coffee maker I've ever seen, but it makes coffee.

Second, the music. At about 11:30pm, a time when in a residential area I could have complained, there was very audible live music at what sounded like a very short distance away from my room, and not even very good live music at that. I don't know how regular this is, however this place does have an attached bar and club, so it might be pretty commonplace.

Service quality is pretty good, though I ran into a bit of a trouble with the internet not working, and no one was around to fix it for a few hours. I didn't try to order breakfast or any other meal, but I can't think that I missed much. On a last note, the curtains and carpets in my room were pretty...bad, in my opinion, but I guess I can't knock them for that as long as they're clean.

Bottom line, while you're going to find worse hotels in the area than this one, it's just not worth the $100 dollars for the motel-like quality that you get. If you're going to be spending in the $100 range, you'd be much better off at one of the higher-end hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kosokuadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.7 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
166 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
152 reviews
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Gatos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Gatos Lodge

Address: 50 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd, Los Gatos, CA 95032-5496
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Gatos Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Los Gatos Lodge is your personal escape. We are a Silicon Valley Hotel located in the beautiful foothills of the Santa Cruz mountains, just a ten minute drive from San Jose International Airport and Downtown San Jose and within walking distance of the shops and attractions of Los Gatos. Join us for a relaxing getaway. Whether you are on a family vacation, corporate travel, or just looking for the perfect romantic weekend away, we are the perfect destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Gatos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Hotel Los Gatos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing