We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be the best bargain in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights last summer when attending an event in Santa Cruz. Actually it's called the Los Gatos Motor Inn. All the good motels in Santa Cruz seen to double their price by August, so I looked for something nearby and found this hidden gem. Prices were great and the room was fine. While not big and lacking some amenities, it was not the smallest room I have stayed in, and it did have a small fridge. The area was quiet even though the motel was next to a road near exits to both north and south of town. This was very convenient for me since it got me on the hwy to Santa Cruz quick that evening (after a nightmarish afternoon driving through East Bay traffic), and to San Jose the next morning where I did some shopping. Los Gatos is laid out rather oddly, so I did not realize at first that the Motor Inn is actually near their historic and touristy part of town, which I visited that second afternoon. The morning that I was about to leave the motel, an older man fell in the parking lot as he was re-entering his room. I went to the check-in counter to find help, but no one was there at the moment. Upon returning, I found several of the staff were attending to the man. It was nice to see cleaning ladies and groundskeepers so concerned with a guest's well-being. Speaking of groundskeepers, the grounds around the motel are beautiful, as a previous poster said. Overall, staying at this motel was a positive experience.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
Thank Humboldtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 353 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

I stayed here for a week and found the Los Gatos Motor Inn to be not only the best value in town, but the best motel in town period! The rooms are spacious and always kept clean and neat. They have all the amenities, including a refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The folks at the front desk are very nice and accomodating, and will go out of their way to make your stay a great one! This is a people oriented motel and I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a no-hassles, relaxing stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozinia_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Our company provides termite eradication services and our guys travel and stay in a wide variety of hotels. While the facilities in this hotel are adequate (quite a distance to find any other low cost hotels in the area), the management and staff at this place are the worst our guys have ever experienced. They seem to have no concept of what the term ‘guest services’ or for that matter the term “guest” itself even means! They are rude, condescending, argumentative and generally incompetent. They seem to have a high degree of turnover, as there was someone ‘new’ constantly, and they seem to be poorly trained at best. When bringing items to their attention such as lack of towels in the room, remote controls do not work, light bulbs burned out, etc is met with a verbal tongue lashing form the discourteous front desk people who refuse to call the manager. The manager seems to spend all his time herding his kids who are crawling all over the floors in the reception area like a pack of wild animals! Stay away at all cost!!!!!!!! – better to travel the 10 -15 minutes and go to Campbell or San Jose.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Orange_bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

A few things to clarify here: Guests and customers will always have problems, it is true, but it isnt true that we arent caring about our guests. In fact, customer service is one of the things we have going for us in this expensive arena called Los Gatos that we are in. This doesnt always mean that everyone gets their way, but please read some of these frustrations with a grain of salt.

As for the kids, when this was written, they were ages 2 and 4. They live in a small apartment with no yard, and try as we like, they consider this part of their home. We apologize for disturbances, but a "Pack of Wild Animals" they are not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Los Gatos Motor Inn is a good, reasonably priced option that is convenient to downtown Los Gatos. Although the building is a standard older-styled motel with basic rooms, the staff have gone out of their way to spiff up some extras. A free continental breakfast includes Starbuck's coffee, cereal, yoghurt, and pastries. Free wireless internet connections are available in the rooms, as is a refrigerator. A computer/printer is available for use in the lobby to print boarding passes, etc. An outdoor pool is open in the summer and the free use of a nearby fitness club is offered. This motel doesn't have the romance that other Los Gatos accomodations undoubtedly have, but it's reasonably priced, in a convenient location, clean, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RainedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Hard bed, noisy air con, loud party below, no one to complain to as office closes at 11 p.m. next morning was told I should have called police. I will never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mowitdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

We apologize for the noise and frustrations you suffered during your stay. People with little respect for others, which includes those that party late into the night, are frustrating to deal with.

As soon as we can get the town to release us to stay open 24 hours, we will (we are in a residential area with required limited hours of operation). We do, however, have posted emergency numbers up, and we respond to calls immediately. The police are an option for late night disturbances, but as mentioned, we are taking steps to be able to correct these issues ourselves. Our renovation is finally underway - look for solid solutions in the Spring of 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This family owned hotel fragulantly charged mine and two other friends $300+ for bogus cleaning fees. After dealing with our banks and threatening to file a claim, our accounts were refunded for the full amount.

Do NOT stay here regardless of the price!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jensens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

This was a tricky situation. Because we are in the business of selling sleep, we come down on partiers very hard. We documented this case with dozens of photos and many witnesses from our staff, and yes, in the end the guest was refunded. We do take pride in our property, and loud parties and excessive filth from such events are not tolerated. In rebuttal, PLEASE stay with us if you agree that these types of incidents do not belong. Otherwise, we agree with poster and encourage you to seek accomodations elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Booked the "suite" -- really an oversize room, well worth it for the extra $10. Room was clean, comfortable, working AC, reasonable breakfast. Pool was clean and landscaped with flowers. Staff was friendly and helpful, and location just off the 101 and close to the charming main street of Los Gatos was great. We'd just spent twice the money for half the value in San Francisco, so it was especially pleasant, though nothing fancy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.8 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
0.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
166 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos

Address: 55 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd, Los Gatos, CA 95032-5461 (Formerly Inn of Los Gatos)
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range: $134 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can have your cake and eat it too at BEST WESTERN The Inn of Los Gatos where luxury lodging meets affordable pricing. Our newly-renovated hotel delivers amenity-rich guestrooms, personable service, and such nifty niceties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Motor Hotel Los Gatos
Los Gatos Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing